We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a Cotswold break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stow Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Stow Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Stow Lodge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Square, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1AB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel for a Cotswold break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Just back from a 2 night break at the Stow Lodge, and had a wonderful time. We stayed in the Chalet Suite, a little bungalow in the gorgeous hotel gardens. Very comfortable beds, 2 leather recliners, a large flat screen TV, separate dressing room, large bathroom and an outside area with our own garden table and chairs. The staff were friendly and helpful, and breakfast was very good. Very sad to leave!

Room Tip: Room 30 (the Chalet Suite) was lovely. Separate from the rest of the hotel, overlooking the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mair T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We have been using this hotel for 28 years and have always been completely satisfied with our stays. If u want modern and boutique hotels stay away! It is olde worlde cosy and comfortable. Spotlessly clean. Ee stayed in a room in the coach house it was lovely. The bathrooms were clean and have been updated since our last visit . The food was lovely freshly cooked nicely presented english food. Theres only one place for us to stay when visiting Stow and thats Stow Lodge!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We always prefer to stay in privately owned hotels as you nearly always get better personal service. This was definitely the case here. We booked for B/B and Evening Dinner and it certainly surpassed our expectations. We could not fault the food. It was so nice to be served individually even for breakfast rather than buffet style which many of the chains of hotels provide. The hotel has great character and warmth. It was just the place to go with its welcoming log fires. A sign of a good hotel is retaining its staff. Many of the staff here had worked for the owner's for many years and spoke highly of them. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. We stayed in a four poster bedded room. It was extremely comfortable. We shall definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotelfiends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington State
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I had booked this hotel with such high expectations...maybe that was my fault. I liked the idea of it being a former rectory, a historical building and gardens. It seemed so charming on paper, and from the outside it was. But it is a bit-run down and shows it age and not in a good historical sense either. It might seem trivial,but our bed was too soft...I mean like marshmallow soft. But they did have large fluffy towels. I think they cater to an older clientele (and we are in our 50's and were the youngest ones there by decades). When we asked for restaurant recommendations (after being told that their restaurant was full that evening) we were told that they couldn't recommend any place else in Stow on the Wold. They could tell us other restaurant names, but they all had mixed reviews from other guests. We did eat in their restaurant another night of our 3 night stay. And the food was good. I had the chicken curry and my husband had the haddock. I think our interaction with the staff just seemed so impersonal, that it affected our stay. I think we will look for another village in the Cotswold to stay in next time.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 23louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed at Stow Lodge for 4 days from 1st of March. The weather was chilly but the welcome from the staff, the log fires in the lounge and the bar and the general ambiance and charm of the hotel certainly warmed us up.
We were in room 5 and our friends were in room 2. Both rooms, although slightly different in design were clean comfortable and the radiators were very effective. The bed was traditionally made with sheets and blankets but a duvet is available on request if that is your preference. We both can attest to the comfort of the bed and I personally slept all night, a luxury I rarely enjoy in my own bed. The bathroom and toilet were clean and the shower was good and maintained a constant temperature.
We ate in both the restaurant and bar and easily found dishes to our liking. Breakfast was good.
All of the staff we came into contact with polite and keen to help. We only found out two of their names, Jonathan and Debbie but all were excellent.
Overall we had very enjoyable time. The location and hotel have an "olde worlde" charm that provided for a relaxing break and I have no hesitation in recommending them.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pejay7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Lovely Hotel with character located right in centre of town with ample car parking. Our room in the stable block had all the necessaries, including a hair dryer and tea and coffed making facilites, it was compact but comfortable and very clean. Longer stays (we booked for 2 nights) are allocated rooms in the main house. Staff very friendly, breakfast plenty of choice and happy to take bespoke orders. Dinner excellent and good value considering the quality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Had a meal here and was pleasantly surprised at the quality and cost. Robert, the bar man on duty at the time of our visit was very pleasant and courteous when serving our drinks and food, would definitley recommend anyone to come here for a home cooked dinner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazduck_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 7 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Number Four at Stow
Number Four at Stow
#2 of 7 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 stars 839 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grapevine Hotel
Grapevine Hotel
#6 of 7 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#5 of 7 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 stars 1,130 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 stars 671 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upper Slaughter
4.5 of 5 stars 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stow Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stow Lodge Hotel

Address: The Square, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Stow Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stow Lodge Hotel is situated in its own picturesque grounds overlooking the market square of the historic town of Stow-on-the-Wold. The hotel has been family owned and run for over fifty years and has built up a fine reputation for its friendly hospitality and excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Stow Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Stow Hotel On The Wold
Stow Lodge Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing