We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and relaxing short break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stow Lodge Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stow-on-the-Wold
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stow Lodge Hotel
Save
You added Stow Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Square, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1AB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful and relaxing short break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stow Lodge Hotel has it all - comfortable, clean and well equipped en suite rooms, a bar and a restaurant serving tasty food and its right on the market square in beautiful Stow on the Wold. What really makes the hotel are the staff - so friendly and welcoming. they really can't do enough for you. we were mainly looked after by the Fab Four - Shirley, Debbie, Nicky and the truly wonderful Anthony. We can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    47
    5
    6
    4
See reviews for
23
111
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Stow Lodge is a wonderful hotel. Everything about it is just lovely. You get such a warm welcome, it's so comfortable and clean. The food is excellent. The staff are so professional, friendly and attentive. You are so well looked after. Anthony is our favourite and we will look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Despite the risk of a snowy journey we arrived to find the hotel warm and welcoming. Having just re-opened after a short break the hotel was spotless and ready for visitors. Our room, number 2, was a toasty haven after our slightly delayed journey. The service during our evening meal was excellent but we did not expect anything else and the food matched it! As others have said it is an excellent base to explore both the town and surrounding area. We hope to have more than 2 nights here very soon.

Room Tip: We have stayed in rooms 2, 4 and 5. We recommend all of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We travel to the Cotswolds quite often always stopping, during our visits to various places, at the Stow Lodge Hotel for Sunday lunch. Well seen this is a family run hotel. The staff remember us are always pleased to see us and make us feel most welcome. The food is beautifully presented, there is certainly plenty of it and delicious. Take coffee in the comfortable lounge after with its log fire and comfy sofas.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Cotswolds is such a pretty place and this hotel fits in beautifully. Situated in the town square you barely have to walk a few yards before coming across the delightful little shops and tea rooms. With a wonderful log fire and very friendly staff and great food we will be back for more next year.
Our room was generous and overlooked the church. The only downside were the church bells that ring every quarter of an hour. This was solved by closing the window and secondary glazing which cut the noise out completely. I now know why there was a fan in the wardrobe as in hot weather you would need it.
All in all a perfect place to relax and recharge your batteries.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We only booked for a meal at the restaurant after being briefed by a friend. The food was very traditional English. I could barely finish everything but it was absolutely delicious. The staff was very nice and very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is by far the best hotel I've stayed in! When I booked I wanted to stay in the main hotel, but was told it was fully booked, and was offered a room in the coach house, I wasn't keen but agreed. I expected it to be noisy from the road, what a surprise case we never heard a single vehicle. It was really quiet. The room was large, spotlessly clean and warm. The food at both evening and breakfast was delicious, and the Irish coffees are to die for. We will be back soon. Thank you x

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stow Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stow Lodge Hotel

Address: The Square, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stow Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stow Lodge Hotel is situated in its own picturesque grounds overlooking the market square of the historic town of Stow-on-the-Wold. The hotel has been family owned and run for over fifty years and has built up a fine reputation for its friendly hospitality and excellent service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Stow Hotel On The Wold
Stow Lodge Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stow Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.