We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again, fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stow Lodge Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stow-on-the-Wold
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stow Lodge Hotel
Save
You added Stow Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Square, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1AB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Once again, fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Tried the rest, now I've found the best! Had a wonderful stay once again. The Chalet was fantastic, along with everything else. Beds were to die for! Thanks.

Room Tip: Chalet is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    47
    5
    6
    4
See reviews for
23
111
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

The Lodge was exactly as pictured on the internet the staff were extremely friendly and could not fault any thing. Only wish we had the opportunity to stay longer and enjoy the surroundings, sit in the beautiful gardens and relax in the guest lounge. Tasted our first kippers. The children were made welcome. Highly recommended. The Aussie Auntie travelling with family.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Visited Stow-on-the-Wold this weekend with friends and had lunch in the Bar of the Stow Lodge Hotel.

Reception was friendly with a good choice of bar meals.

The Hotel is located in a corner of the Market Square and looks a little unassuming from the entrance.

The Hotel itself is, however, far from boring and expresses a beautiful old world charm dating back to the 17th century.

Our bar meal was delicious and very reasonably priced especially as compared with other eateries in Stow.

Whilst we were not stopping at the Hotel itself, we would not hesitate to recommend the Stow Lodge Hotel for its menu

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton NZ
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

My husband & myself recently stayed at the Stow Lodge Hotel. The room in which we spent
3 nights was a converted barn, the room was large, the bathroom included a bath & too had
lots of room to move about. It was very clean & the bed comfortable. The b/fast first class, the staff very attentive & helpful with further enquiries as to where to go now. We would return at the flash of a winning lotto ticket. We also had our evening meal there- you must book the evening meal. We were very happy with our choice of accommodation.

Room Tip: We did not have a problem here with noise, the room was close to the main road. Yes we are sensitiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
270 helpful votes 270 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights just before Xmas. Stow is an ideal place for a Xmas break, shame it didn't snow to set of the overall festive feel. This hotel is right in the centre and you can pop in and out to wander around the wonderful shops in Stow or stay in and sit around the large open fire. We love Stow, it has great shops, cafes restuarants and pubs.

This is one of those genuine family run hotels with sincere friendly accomodating staff who really care about your stay and are happy to have a chat with you. Ok, its not a modern contemporary hotel that all look alike, this is a real VFM hotel. We couldn't get a room in the hotel and stayed in one of the coach houses. This was very comfortable and quiet.

The key question we always ask ourselves is 'would we stay again?'.....most definately yes. We will probably visit again in the run up to Xmas and probably in spring or autumn to catch the different seasons.

No problem in recommending this fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

Very clean and comfortable with helpful friendly yet professional staff. Add to this a great restaurant and you have excellent value for money.

Room Tip: I stayed a few nights in the main building and further nights in the coach house, due to my late boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Stow Lodge Hotel last week. The service was superb. We were greeeted by a very friendly receptionist , who kindly escorted us to our delightful room (room 21). The room was attractive, thoughtfully decorated and with everything we needed. The beds were excellent.
Our evening meal and breakfast the following morning, were delicious, and once again, the staff were really friendly, courteous and helpful.
We shall definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stow Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stow Lodge Hotel

Address: The Square, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stow Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stow Lodge Hotel is situated in its own picturesque grounds overlooking the market square of the historic town of Stow-on-the-Wold. The hotel has been family owned and run for over fifty years and has built up a fine reputation for its friendly hospitality and excellent service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Stow Hotel On The Wold
Stow Lodge Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stow Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.