We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Talbot

The Talbot
The Square, Stow-on-the-Wold, England
01451 870934
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
yorkshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Try it, good atmosphere, good spot. Give it a try because you won't be disappointed. We call in now and again and it is always good fun.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    61
    15
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

There was nothing to dislike about this establishment & it's food - superb. The bar area has a lovely cosy corner decorated in Moroccan style, great to sit & relax with a glass of wine a lovely meal. My partner had the steak which they cooked just to his liking whilst I had the crab fishcakes - lovely. The handcut chips are a must. Lovely place & friendly staff.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Excellent Boxing Day Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We ended up in the Talbot by accident to shelter from the rain but I'm very glad we did. They have an excellent menu and although we arrived just before lunch service finished, the food was spot on! Staff were all very friendly and I would definitely return when in the area again.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We headed here after a disastrous lunch and pint at the nearby Eagle & Child - what a difference we experienced at the Talbot! A good selection of ales, friendly staff, cosy surroundings and some lovely lanterns on the tables. Well worth a look in if you're in Stow.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Made to feel very welcome,wish had a pub like this on my doorstep,nice large glass of red.staff very good.will be back next year for the evening, hopefully spending my winnings from Cheltenham or drowning my sorrows either way can't wait

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Talbot also viewed

Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Talbot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Talbot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.