We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for weddings, dirty room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fosse Manor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fosse Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Fosse Manor Hotel
Fosseway, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great for weddings, dirty room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I attended a wedding in the Hyde Barn. Which was amazing... More than amazing, the staff were happy and helpful, always willing to serve, my glass was never empty.

However the room in the hotel was dirty and basic. It looked like the cleaner had forgotten to carry out the most basic tasks and it had some dirt which looked like years of neglect. The room needed a good scrub!!

The price shouldn't reflect something which is considered as fundamental in the hotel industry.

Apart from the cleanliness of the room, everything else was first class.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    76
    42
    12
    4
See reviews for
28
168
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
bath
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stopped here for morning coffee (wish we'd had lunch later in the day) What a fabulous welcome we had the young receptionist who was warm and welcoming and served us freshly brewed coffee - it was delightful . The gardens are truly lovely and a perfect setting to have coffee in - Definitely will lunch here next time - and it won't be too long before returning with visitors!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire,UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Paid extra for an upgraded room, which was good for the price. In was on the higher floor so a trek up with luggage. Also despite not being a particularly hot day the room was uncomfortably warm, but the traffic noise was too loud to keep the window open, which meant not much sleep!
We ate here which was a mistake, we were offered a table at 7/8/ or 9 o’clock what we failed to realise was that this meant the table was required for the next guests & so we were hurried throughout the meal & expected to eat three courses in less than an hour!
The food is very average & extremely expensive for what it is, my husband’s was raw.
Breakfast was good, but we can not recommend this place & would not stay again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Great place to stay visiting the Cotswolds Staff very friendly and helpful clean comfortable rooms.Great for anyone who does not want a really modern hotel.Reasonable rates and great breakfast.
Lovely grounds and nearby facilities for weddings etc.

Room Tip: Large four poster beds available and great family rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed here for two nights, booking through Saga, two nights B & B, with dinner on the first night, second day was entrance to all areas at Blenheim palace, with champagne afternoon tea in the India Room.
Hotel was great, the staff are superb, food excellent, nothing too much trouble, would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If possible room 305, beautiful room, great roll top bath, lovely outside space with lovely views M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights on a bed and breakfast package and chose to eat in the restaurant the first evening. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food on offer and ate again in restaurant on our second night it was that good. The staff were all very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Our room was in the Coach House separate to the main building and had it's own small fenced off patio area. The only thing that detracted from it was the floor area of the patio did have some cigarette butts lying and could do with some weeding around the edges. That apart the room was clean and comfortable. The hotel is just off the busy Fosse Way so there is traffic noise but we found that quietened down by 8.30 both evenings.. Wifi coverage in the Coach House was poor. If that is important then ask for a room in the main building

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The hotel is located next to hyde Barn which is a great wedding venue. The hotel itself is very clean, the staff are freindly and efficient and I really wish i knoew the name of the bar man serving the nioght of 27/7 as he was fab and funny, he also served breakfast the next day. The rooms could be a little bigger, we were on the top floor and found the bathroom large but this could have given more space to the room. Overall it is a lovely little find but a bit pricey for what it was.

Room Tip: 2nd floor but these are prob more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fosse Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosse Manor Hotel

Address: Fosseway, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fosse Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Fosse Manor
Fosse Manor Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fosse Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.