We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely country gem, fine dining, lovely rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fosse Manor Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fosse Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fosse Manor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fosseway, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A lovely country gem, fine dining, lovely rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Booked through classic british hotels site and was an amazing deal 2 nights dinner, B and B with cream tea on one day and half bottle of champagne £239 with uprgade option for additional £60 .

Limited menu with about 6 choices for starter and main but expertly executed, fabuously cooked and very well presented. Especially recommend the rack of lamb. The wine list is extensive if a bit pricey. service was excellent and the chef makes an amazing Stilton bread.

The breakfast was very nice, cereal, friuts, yoguht, pastries self service and hot choice of full english, kippers or smoked salmon and scrambed eggs. Don't be afraid to ask for something not on the menu - they are happy to accomodate. The hotel is situated 3/4 mile outside the town centre of picturesque stow on the wold. lovely country location.

The upgrade was well worth the money, we got a suite ( room 40) in the coach house ( recomended by the booking clerk ) we had a lovely bathroom with shower cubicle and free stand bath, a lounge area with tea / coffee / tvwith dvd. and the bedroom was large with very comfy bed second tv, dvd. well lit with dimmable celling lights and several lamps, there was also another room with 2 single beds had we needed them.

We had no problems with the walls as some people have mentioned and the radiators were thermastically controlled, it did go cold overnight when heating was off but not unbearably so, and reception had plug in electric radiators if you requested them.

The cream tea was warm scones with clotted cream and jam and coffee or tea very nice. The champage was well chilled in our room on arrival.
Staff friendly, helpful, efficent as were the local people we met in the shops and pubs. We definately return.

Room Tip: Room 40 - wonderful in the coach house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    69
    36
    10
    4
See reviews for
22
162
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here last weekend and ok hotel however our room was freezing! The bathroom was too cold to use. We told staff about issue but they just said heating goes on and off! Considering the snow and cold weather we were not impressed. It was warmer in the corridor! Had no sleep due to cold. Nice breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Spent a night in room 37 and we may as well have been in the coridor as the noise was a joke. You could hear the people in the next room, word for word and everyone in the coridor. It is also next to the hall bar so every now and again you would hear bottles being emptied or thrown in to the bin. The noise from the room above was also a nightmare. Every time they flushed the toilet or ran a tap it sounded like it was coming through the ceiling. Rooms are nice but unless your deaf you will never sleep there with the other rooms occupied

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radnage, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

So enjoyed our stay at this lovely hotel. We decided to upgrade our room as we were celebrating our 10th anniversary and were delighted! We had a fabulous large room, 4 poster bed and a bay window at the front of this beautiful old building. The breakfast was great - lots of choice and superbly cooked. Staff were very friendly and so helpful. The hotel is also in a great location for getting to places and even for walk from the door.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Spent the week end in the Cotswold at the Fosse Manor Hotel. Our room (we booked a superior double room) was not in the main building but in one of the adjacent buildings. Lovely views from the room with private terrace. The room was quite large with a large en-suite bathroom with both shower and free standing bath. Unfortunately the noise coming from the room above during the night was quite off-putting. For the price I was paying, I was expecting to have a quiet and peaceful night.Breakfast was excellent although if you choose to eat the continental breakfast the choice of pastries is very limited.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona City, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Came across this hotel by chance & were so glad we did, lovely & comfy feel, the afternoon tea looked delicious (unfortunately we had just eaten!) nice big window in bedroom & bathroom looking out over the garden & countryside. Dinner was amazing as was the service at dinner & breakfast. Would love to return !

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

we popped in on the way home from Torquay for lunch there was a nice warm atmosphere and the food was very good and very good value we will definatly be returning when in the area again the two course lunch was 14 95 which I thought well worth it for the quaulity and presentation and ambience

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fosse Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosse Manor Hotel

Address: Fosseway, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosse Manor Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Fosse Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Fosse Manor
Fosse Manor Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fosse Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.