We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cotswold Charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Unicorn Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stow-on-the-Wold
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Unicorn Hotel
Save
You added The Unicorn Hotel to your Saves list
Sheep Street, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Northwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cotswold Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

A traditional old Cotswold Inn full of old quaint charm. Small but very comfortable room, clean. Good bar and restaurant. Good local beers. Excellent quality breakfast and good service. Great location handy for centre of village.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    88
    27
    15
    13
See reviews for
20
147
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here as the hotel was advertised as dog friendly (didn't see any other dogs though) and as we are regular visitors to Stow we will definitely be using it again. The hotel is currently undergoing refurbishment but is clean and comfortable and the breakfast room was very nice and the breakfast was fantastic. The bar area is great and the staff were very friendly. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed here for 2 days in a superior room. The stay started with a friendly welcome and good hosting. The room was large, very comfortable four poster bed and warm and quiet despite the room facing the road. Toiletries and tea/ coffee were filled up the next day, room very clean.
Downstairs was a cosy open fire in the bar, again very clean.
The full English breakfast service, for us, was in the bar area, with our dogs. The bar was spotless by the morning, with everything polished and clean. Full breakfast was very good, over the two days we tried the three hot breakfasts on offer- very good. Staff are really polite, it is almost daunting! Would recommend the hotel or location and comfort.
If staying, there are dinner options and we had a dinner, again it was good, lamb was reportedly excellent! Overall really pleasant stay, in the village, with lots of little cares and bars in walking distance.

Room Tip: The superior size was large, plenty of room, including for dog bed we brought.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Lovely environment in pub bar with open fire and comfy seating. Hook Norton beer was good. Service was excellent and the sandwiches were delicious.
Superb pub lunch and very reasonable price for Stow.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We can't give anything but a top review for this hotel which we booked last minute and got at a very good rate. Whilst the some of the furnishings might be a little tired, the room was very comfortable with everything you need and no scrimping on the quality of drinks and bathroom products. The bar area was lovely and the scrambled egg at breakfast the best i have ever had! Parking was available right outside the entrance.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

My sister and I stayed at the Unicorn hotel for 4 nights at the beginning of April this year. The checkin process was quick and easy and the lady on reception was welcoming and helpful. All the staff we came in contact with were delightful but I would like to make a special mention about Chelsea, who seemed to be able to turn her hand to anything, and was always delightful to us and the other hotel guests. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for any of the staff, including the manager, when it came to helping or finding out informaiton when we asked.

While it is not a standard tourist chain hotel it is a lovely hotel complete with beams, fireplaces and creaking floorboards. It is on the Fosse Way which can be a bit busy but it is hardly a motorway so it is pretty quiet by late in the evening! The twin room we had was at the back so admittedly we had no noise problems. It was a really good size, spotlessly clean and wondrously...the windows could be opened. Tea and coffee making facilities were included and a lovely packet of biscuits were left each day. The bathroom was lovely and lovely soaps and bath gels were available to use. The breakfasts were good and the two occasions we ate in the restaurant the food was really good.

Both my sister and I would not hsitate to stay at the Unicorn again should either of us be fortunate enough to head back to the Cotswolds in the future. If you expect a standard, chain style hotel find a Holiday Inn. If you like something authentic and very comfortable staffed by very helpful people then give it a try.

Room Tip: If you can get a room at the back that may be preferrable as I expect there are occasions were some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights.It was a nice cosy little place and the staff were very friendly.Our room was very large and the bed was so comfy.Lots of space to hang clothes as well.The only downside to the room was that it was on a busy road,so we kept the window shut.The breakfasts were good too and i thought it was value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Unicorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Unicorn Hotel

Address: Sheep Street, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Unicorn is a beautiful Grade II listed building, standing alongside the Fosse Way in Stow- on-the-Wold. Situated in the heart of the Cotswolds, England's largest designated area of outstanding natural beauty, the Unicorn has 20 rooms, each with their own individual style and character. A fine choice of imaginative food is also available from our Á la carte menu in the elegant surroundings of our Georgian Restaurant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Unicorn Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Unicorn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.