We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really well presented and maintained country house” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A424 Burford Road, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Really well presented and maintained country house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Really good staff, beautiful buildings, excellent food and a superb setting make this a really good place to stay.

We were not really sure what to expect of Wyck Hill, as some of the country houses we have been to in the past have been a little hit and miss. Not so Wyck Hill. The staff were professional and welcoming and the hall has maintained much of its former glory when it was a private residence.

The food was excellent, the breakfast was very special.

This location is great as it is very close to the lovely town of Stow on the Wold and a short drive from Oxford. There are many nice walks around this area and the whole area has a very old-world feel.

I would recommend Wyck for all the reasons above and would like to congratulate the staff on the effort that they clearly put in to making it all work.

We would love to come back here in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Orangery and the rooms were modern and well furnished. The very short walk to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    299
    147
    71
    49
See reviews for
117
568
4
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Having stayed here 3 times now, I can say that this is a wonderful hotel.
The hotel is beautiful and in a picturesque part of the Cotswolds. The hotel has a spa although I have not experienced this extra, but no pool.
The service has always been fantastic and the food of good quality, with a great selection at breakfast and room service available.
On 2 occasions we have stayed in a room in the newer part of the hotel which were very spacious and well lit. The time we stayed in the main house the room was smaller and quite dark at times which made make up application difficult, but it had character. All had lovely large beds and had well kept decor.
Additional perks include the complimentary wifi.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Having accepted an Amazon offer for a 2 night stay, we decided to take advantage of it during the weekend between Christmas and New Year. The offer was for a double room, but there was only a Coach House room available at a £20 supplement per night.

Our room was large and warm, with a very comfortable bed, tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary biscuits each day. The ensuite was warm and functional.

The "easy" chairs were not easy at all, and if we had decided to stay in and watch a bit of TV, then I don't think it would have been a very comfortable experience. The lighting was extremely poor which made reading difficult. The curtans were badly hung, and one was ripped all down the edge. The stable door from the courtyard kept sticking on use, which was probably as a result of the recent inclement weather. The tiles on the bathroom floor were cracked and it appeared that someone had done a "bodge-up" job on tiling round the outside of the bath.

It is evident, therefore, that some general maintenance, upgrading and TLC is required.

We decided to have a meal in the restaurant the first night. Whilst the food was delicious (and very expensive), the portions were very inadequate and we left the restaurant having had a 3 course meal, feeling far from replete. Not that we are big eaters by any means!

At breakfact on our first morning, we made our choices from the cooked menu. When it arrived, the grilled tomato was cold (not even a hint of warmth), the back bacon was cooked in such a fashion that the "tail" end was tucked under the meaty end, rendering that part of it uncooked and the poached egg had a slightly uncooked white in the middle. It was just about edible. The toast which had been brought out at the beginning of the breakfast, was piled up on a plate, so that it was damp and inedible by the time we were ready to eat it, so was sent back to be replaced with fresh. Toast should be served in a rack, standing upright to allow the steam to escape! Needless to say, we skipped the cooked breakfast the following morning.

This review may seem very critical, however, hopefully some notice will be taken of it by the management in order to improve matters. On a positive note, the staff were generally polite and helpful.

Therefore, it was disappointing - a beautiful Cotswold building with fabulous surroundings in one of the most sought after areas in the UK - let down by fundamental issues as mentioned above.

We certainly do not consider it worth the full price and will not be booking another stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the main house. You can imagine that it may not have changed too much in a 100 years, and I mean that in a positive way. Free wifi and modern TV included of course.Our rooms were large and beautifully appointed. A reception room, bedroom and bathroom. Antique WC, 2 basins, bidet, shower/ bath. Restaurant dinner was excellent with plenty, but not too much choice. Our friends had some treatments in the spa and had a very relaxing time.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurstpierpoint, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

My husband and I booked this as a pre Christmas get away with his parents. We arrived independently, which was just as well as there had been a little mix up with the rooms.... we'd booked and paid for (and telephoned to reconfirm) two feature rooms but were given the keys to a nice, albeit modern, attic room in the modern wing attached to the main house. The staff on reception were hugely apologetic and we spent the next 15 minutes or so looking for alternative suitable rooms and (lucky us) ended up in a beautiful master suite!
Both rooms were clean and well stocked, althought bizarelly no information was provided on the history of the room and the in-laws had no 'room guide' whatsoever.
On to the food, we ate in the hotel on both evernings and the food was very good, but a bit of a limited selection..... any more than 2 nights would have been a struggle!
Breakfast was spot on, excellent quality cooked food, with plenty of selection on the continental buffet as well.
All in all a great little hotel in a lovely location - highly recommend Burford as a wonderful little place with lots of great shops and a mile or two further out the biggest garden centre I have ever seen!
A great start to the Christmas season, albeit a little bit pricy

Room Tip: Splash out on a feature room or suite - I think we had room 24 or 25 which overlooked the conservato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Booked one night break at short notice on special offer. The girl at reception was cheerful and helpful and pointed out the restaurant, bar and cosy library, she showed us to our room in the coach house, a short walk from the main house. The room overlooked a small courtyard and had a lobby, large room with a separate dressing room and well appointed bathroom. The room was very quit and comfortable.We did not eat dinner but had a very good breakfast the next morning in the beautiful restaurant.Spent the evening around the log fire in the cosy bar.we would recommend this hotel for a special night away.

Room Tip: 55 great if you don't mind being outside the main house in the coach house
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary and we were impressed throughout our stay. The receptionist Emily was lovely and even upgraded our room which was fabulous. (Room 31) There was a huge bedroom with a separate lounge area and the bathroom had a jacuzzi bath.
The Spa treatments were very good although a pool would have enhanced the spa facilities. .
Dinner was excellent and the quality and service was faultless. At the end of the meal we were presented with chocolates as a congratulations on our anniversary, a very nice touch.
The night manager who was manning the bar was very friendly and provided an excellent service, giving us a history of the hotel and he also had a vast knowledge on cigars!
Our stay was perfect and we can't thank the staff enough, we will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Room 31 was in the main house was beautiful. We were upgraded to this room but if we stayed again we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa

Address: A424 Burford Road, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyck Hill House Hotel And Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Wyck Hill Hotel
Hotel Wyck Hill
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.