We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Star Room 5 Star Restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A424 Burford Road, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“2 Star Room 5 Star Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed in a room in the Orangery, which is detached from the main building. The room disappointed us both. The pillow case had slipped off to reveal a grubby pillow. The carpet was mankey and the skirting boards were dusty. The bathroom was below average. The setting of the hotel is impressive on the drive in. We found the general experience disappointing at this hotel and expected more. I am surprised they can advertise their facilities to include a spa. The spa is a steam room and sauna. Both which are in need of refurbishishment. The bottom of the door was rotted next to the steam room. I had a manicure and pedicure in the spa. The whole spa experience was disappointing and distinctly below average. The air of the hotel was that there wasn't a manager in charge and some staff would have benefitted from training. The staff seemed to be going about their work but with no direction or leadership. The girl when we checked in was flustered and confused. Some advice for the hotel would be to inspect their facilities as a consumer. I got the impression this place has gone down hill and is in trouble. The cigar shack had dead flies on the window, a window clean would have sorted that. The hotel had an air that it was refurbished 5 years ago and had just got run down since without ongoing maintenance. It felt that management were detached and didn't care. In the ladies loo by the foyer, the floor tiles crunched underfoot as need relaying. The middle cubicle door didn't close because of it. The best bit was the restaurant. The food was great and their only saving grace. I would recommend the restaurant but not the hotel and 'spa'. There seems to be quite a number of other places to stay in the area that might have been better.

Room Tip: Eat there but don't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    335
    156
    74
    49
See reviews for
121
614
5
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wrentham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed here in mid August with husband and 2adult children. Setting and grounds were beautiful. Stayed in the new addition off the main building. Room and bath very clean, spacious and comfortable. Only problem was that we were on the first floor, with windows directly on parking lot. To get any air in the room anyone walking by could see into the room. At night we had to keep the curtains closed, causing the room to get very stuffy and warm.
My boys had a room on the third floor, smaller, yet clean and comfortable. Same problem though with air circulation, as the windows couldn't be opened more than a few inches. Frustrating because the night air was cool.
The included breakfast was very good and the staff was very good.

Room Tip: Pick a room on an upper floor so you can leave the windows open for air at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed in the main house in a feature room which was huge as was the extremely comfortable bed, lovely furniture fabulous views. There are no tea making facilities in the feature room but a call to reception brings a lovely tray of tea or coffee in minutes.

Evening meal from the Table d'hôte menu was excellent. The waiting staff could not be faulted.

Breakfast either continental or full English is served in either the dining room or conservatory and is again excellent.

Plenty of outside seating in the lovely garden.

Ample free parking.

Hotel is a perfect base for visiting the Cotswolds and is very close to Stow-on -the-Wold and Bourton on Water and not to far from Burford, Woodstock, Oxford or Cheltenham.

Loved this hotel, really relaxing.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a feature room. It is a lovely treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We booked in having stayed here before. We were slightly concerned that we were bringing a 5 year old to a hotel and spa, but needn't have. Not only was the hotel even better than we remembered, but child friendly too!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Hotel had character and is in a very nice setting. Didn't use spa but had a look and it looked inviting! The room itself was reasonably well appointed. My friend and I had a twin room on the second floor so there wasn't much of a view. That didn't matter too much as we only stayed one night. Only down side was it took too long to be served in the bar and the restaurant was a little pricey. We went into Stow for a meal instead. Hotel breakfast was excellent.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

First trip to Cotswolds and what a great first impression. Had a king room in the Orangery with a huge slate patio to enjoy the bottle of champagne! The room was huge, well appointed with a hint of yesteryear architecure moldings and bathroom fittings. We slept with one of the transom windows open to enjoy the cool night air. Enjoyed a fabulous dinner in the conservatory and breakfast the following morning (included in room rate)...only too sad it was a one night stay. Definitely a place to return to upon our next visit to the UK.

Room Tip: Orangery - ask for the king room (#6 or #7??) that is located off the main corrider. The room is hu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed in mid-August. Despite the outside temperature being only 17 degrees the "garden" room was ridiculously hot, even with the window wide open. Looked at four other rooms with a view to changing, but all were the same stifling temperature. Requested fans, which arrived fairly promptly, but these were a bit of a pain as they were rather noisy and kept cutting out and starting up again. The combination of the temperature and the noise of the fan meant that I only managed a couple of hours sleep on the first night. The room was spacious and far better than those we looked at in the main building, which were rather dated and cramped. The food was nice on the whole and service was okay, but certainly not four star. Our request for more toast at breakfast (they brought two rounds for three people!) was ignored as was our request to have a break between the main and pudding. They gave us ten minutes and then brought the next course without checking first that we were ready for it. There were mix ups with our table at dinner and we were kept waiting in the lobby for 45 minutes without so much as the offer of a drink. The reception was desperately understaffed, particularly at the busy check out times. Loved the Cotswolds, but would not stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are far more spacious than those in the main building, so definitely not worth payi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa

Address: A424 Burford Road, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyck Hill House Hotel And Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Wyck Hill Hotel
Hotel Wyck Hill
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.