We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do with some TLC” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grapevine Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Grapevine Hotel to your Saves list
Grapevine Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sheep Street, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1AU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Could do with some TLC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Quaint hotel located on a busy road on the edge of the town centre. The 'luxury' room presumably gained this status by dint of a four-poster bed and a free-standing bath. However, the bed was over-firm; there wasn't enough seating (too much free-standing furniture of questionable utility); the shower makes a lot of grinding and gurgling noises presumably dealing electrically with inadequate drainage; there's nowhere to plug the kettle in apart from the bedside table and the old-fashioned hotel radio on the wall, which I always like, was non-operational.
A bit dim due to north-facing room, low lighting and small windows (with no nets or blinds so often had to close the curtains). Old stone mullion windows are pretty but fitted with secondary glazing so you have a choice of traffic noise or fresh air. Fortunately the road isn't too busy at night.
Breakfast is fairly average - ingredients could be better quality.

Pre-dinner we went to the lounge but a group were anti-socially hogging the place so we had to settle for the bar which was a bit bright and draughty.
Dinner was odd. We struggled to get a table and overheard another couple being told they couldn't have a table until 9. However the restaurant was less than half full all the time we were in it. The food was very good, though in small portions and slightly over-presented, in an 80's kinda way. The room (and a lot of the public space) is looking a bit tired. They rely on the grapevine and glass roof to take your attention off this, but at night it's not well lit and the clientele all seemed a bit gloomy/quiet so there wasn't much of a buzz.
The ambience was lacking to say the least, so we cut short before dessert and digestifs and went back to the Queen's Head for a further bite to eat (!) and post-dinner drinks.
The staff were all very friendly and it was a useful base for what we were doing but at this price I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    107
    67
    40
    14
See reviews for
40
219
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I found The Grapevine on another website. The experience started off on the wrong foot when the staffer at the front desk didn't even offer to help us with our bags or show is to our room. We later learned from him that he was the only person on duty. The trek up the stairs to Room #2 was not easy. Older or infirmed guests would have found the steep staircase a real challenge. The room itself was large by British standards. We did ask and pay for a "superior" room to ensure getting a King bed. Alas, we now know that a UK king is the same size as a US Queen. The four-poster bed was comfortable, and the room offered a dresser, a small closet and a writing desk. Facing Sheep Street, we found the extra heavy picture window did a good job of keeping out the noise, but it also prevented getting any draft into the room. Fortunately an electric fan was available. The large bathroom offered both a step-in shower and a tub, but little space to put one's toiletries. A couple of other things: (1) the hotel gives you a second key because locks its doors at night. That's a first for us! (2) Skip the breakfast and head to the town square where there are much better choices. All told, the room was adequate, though overpriced at $487 GBP (@$770) for three nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We just returned today from a one night stay at the Grapevine. Staff were friendly and welcoming. The bedroom we stayed in was an adequate size however the bed was rather uncomfortable. The recently refurbished bathroom was nice. Breakfast portions are on the small side however the staff will give you extra if you ask.

Room Tip: car park available at back of hotel.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Held a surprise birthday party here and was thrilled with the whole experience. Karl & his team were so helpful in every aspect of the planning. 22 of us ate in the private dining room which was beautifully dressed for the occasion. Dinner was superb - of an extremely high standard and good value. All of our guests were very happy with their rooms and enjoyed their stay enormously. Breakfast was included and was excellent. Karl went out of his way to make our weekend one to remember. Would definately recommend it and will certainly be staying again. Thanks Grapevine!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here on a two day break to the cotswolds. Such a pretty hotel set right in the beautiful village of Stow on the Wold. It is a very old building (one of the reasons I wanted to stay) so you get a sense of the history of the type of buildings they had hundreds of years ago. So there are stairs and steps and corners and uneven stone floors that are part and parcel of this type of hotel.
if you want to stay in a corporate samey hotel, do not come here. If you want to stay in a unique, quaint and quirky village hotel, you will love it!
The restaurant was quite high end, no pub grub here, if you want pub grub there are plenty of places within a minute or twos walk away. The food in the restaurant was fabulous, my husband eats in fine dining establishments very regularly and he was blown away by the standard in the Grapevine restaurant.
I believe this Hotel has changed hands recently, so old reviews may not be fair on the new owners. A gradual refurbishment is ongoing, our en suite was brand new, everything spotlessly clean.
Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: There are ground floor rooms at the back of the hotel if you feel you cannot manage the stairs. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My girlfriend and I had decided to get away for the weekend and found a deal to stay at the Grapevine Hotel. Only after booking it did we decide to read the reviews on here and was slighty put off. However, after this weekend I can say the majority of complaints are untrue in my opinion. The hotel staff were friendly and the room was much bigger than I was expecting. The breakfast you receive is of incredible quality aswell and it is situated in a central location so exploring the town or the Cotswolds is easy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at this hotel, the staff are friendly and the food is good cant think of any negatives about it would stay there again without a doubt, I would recommend this hotel to any visitors to the area.

Room Tip: Hang your clothes up upon arrival, and enjoy this lovely town and its surroundings, and the relax in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grapevine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grapevine Hotel

Address: Sheep Street, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grapevine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Stow on the Wold amid honey coloured Cotswold Stone buildings and rolling countryside.This privately owned 17th Century hotel knows how to deliver genuine hospitality and delicious food in comfortably friendly surroundings.The eponymous 150 years old vine shades our restaurant for romantic dinners or a get together with friends.22 individually styled bedrooms, 1 bar, 1 restaurant, 1 ancient vine, 1 friendly welcome – they all add up to bags of character and a getaway full of happy memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Grapevine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grapevine Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grapevine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.