We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, Great Staff, Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Number Four at Stow

Save Saved
You added Number Four at Stow to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Number Four at Stow
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fosseway, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Orinda, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Hotel, Great Staff, Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We just stayed 4 nights at Number Four and found it to be an excellent choice. They upgraded us to a suite, which was airy and so comfortable after a day of sightseeing. The food at Cutler's was excellent and the breakfast buffet was more than we needed. The staff, especially Karen (who always seemed to be there) were always friendly and helpful. The front desk reception always asked where we were off to, and gave suggestions too. Loved the tea and coffee (and cookies!) in the room - a small thing but much appreciated! Lots of space to unpack clothes too! Thanks so much for a great stay!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We do hope you arrived home safely after your trip and thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. Your compliments on Trip Advisor are very much appreciated and have been passed on to all the team, thank you.

Should you be visiting The Cotswolds again we look forward to welcoming you back.

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    544
    81
    26
    3
    3
See reviews for
76
437
10
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Very clean and very friendly. The breakfast is excellent, and the staff very helpful.

One note, it's on a busy corner and not right in town. For locals it's a close few mile walk but for tired travelers it might be longer than preferred. However, if you drive to Stow-On-The -Wold or Burton-On-The-Water it's only 5 -10 minutes.

If the weather is nice they have a patio to enjoy. Parking is easy and plenty of space available.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Number Four. Your positive comments are very much appreciated.

We do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again and, fingers crossed, the weather will have improved enough to enjoy some "Al fresco" dining!

With kind regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Looking for a Cotswold venue to lunch with friends from Cheltenham (we are from Bucks) we happened on No 4 thanks to Trip Adviser. Their Cutlers Restaurant is truly outstanding - the menu du jour was so interesting that we opted for it rather than the - I'm sure equally good but more expensive - a la carte selection.
Never have we made a better decision - a creamy asparagus soup for our friends, an amazingly tasty chicken liver and black pudding salad for us - with a dressing which I would love to have the recipe for!
Mains of cod goujons with new potatoes, and for me gorgeous pink lamb with lamb sweetbreads were equally tasty. Puds of Floating Islands on the one hand and sticky toffee pudding on the other rounded off a fabulous meal. The bottle of Picpoul was pretty good too...
The lot - including coffee and service - cost us £33.75 a head. The surroundings are pretty nice and the owners are clearly deeply involved - good for them!
Like MacArthur, "we shall return"...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent dining experience in Cutler's Restaurant and it is very much appreciated that you have taken the time to share your experience with other Trip Advisor users.
We do hope that you will return soon and look forward to welcoming you all once again.

With kind regards
Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have just enjoyed a fabulous stay at Number 4 at Stow in the Cotswolds.
The Hotel was totally refurbished a couple of years ago and has been very tastefully decorated and is a beautiful place to stay and explore the Cotswolds.

We were met by Caroline , one of the owners, who made us very welcome.I would highly recommend the rooms with a separate lounge area.
The team at the hotel were all excellent , really nice and great attitude to customer service. The restaurant is not open on Sunday evenings but we were recommended a pub restaurant in stow which was excellent.
I am pleased to highly recommend the Number 4 at Stow - you won't be disappointed !!

Room Tip: Highly recommend the rooms with a separate lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, we are delighted that you had a memorable stay with us. Your compliments are very much appreciated.

We hope you will find an excuse to return soon to discover more of what The Cotswolds has to offer!

With kind regards
Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Connecticut
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It is a little distance away from the center of the town but that is not a challenge. Hotel is well appointed, nice breakfast (including choices for hot dishes). Room, although small was quite comfortable and well stocked. Hotel staff was quite attentive, helpful with a smile on their faces. We also enjoyed the complimentary bottle of wine that was placed in the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Number Four whilst visiting the Cotswolds. Thank you for your compliments which is very much appreciated.

We do hope to welcome you both back very soon.

Kind regards
Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Wanting to treat Hubby and myself to a well earned night off, I booked us into Number 4 at Stow following all the great Tripadvisor reviews. It certainly deserves all your praise. We had a wonderful restful time; we were treated like old friends even though this was our first visit. We booked a suite (room 203) which was fantastic with a big luxurious bath room, fantastic snugly robes and some nice toiletries. It goes without saying that the room and hotel was spotless, the sheets were the softest I had ever felt ...where do they get them from? The staff were kind and helpful and not at all over the top, we both felt they had the balance just right.
We booked into Cutlers for our evening meal and we loved it! Hubby had Scallops and gave them 10/10. I had the prawns and mushrooms and totally agreed with his score. Starters were followed by Sirloin (his) and Lamb (mine) both cooked to perfection. As has been noticed by other diners all staff knew the dishes and were able to give great advice. We didn't think the wine prices were particularly high, and the Pinot gigue was one of the nicest I have tasted.
Unbelievably we were able to force down a full English breakfast next day...delicious and I must say much nicer than at a 2* restaurant/hotel I have recently reviewed. Well done everyone we will look forward to visiting again

Room Tip: If yoou want lots of space book a suite its well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your trip to The Cotswolds. We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable stay and thank you for your compliments. These have been passed on to the staff which is always very much appreciated.

We hope you will have the opportunity to return soon. We look forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards
Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We spent 4 nights here, while we visited various tourist sites in the Cotswolds. The staff are all very friendly and welcoming, and are obviously genuinely interested in ensuring you have a great stay and get the most out of your visit. The restaurant is excellent, and we had some really great dishes at dinner. Breakfasts were fine too.

As others have commented, there are a couple of features of the hotel that mean it's not quite "excellent". Firstly, location. It's on the junction of two quite busy roads, and quite close to them. The traffic noise wasn't a "problem", but did mean I woke up earlier than I would have done otherwise. Sitting outside on the smart patio area in the sunshine is fine for a while, but you wouldn't want to spend hours there, just a few yards from the traffic.

Secondly the room size. In the standard double room, there is little "living space", just the bed and a chair in the corner. That's fine if you don't plan on spending much time in the room, but if you want more space, then you'd need to book one of the larger suites.

Overall, we really enjoyed our visit. The very friendly staff, and top quality food, outweighed the slight disappointment about the room size and location on a main road junction.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you very much for posting your comments on Trip Advisor and your compliments have been passed on to the staff, thank you. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time discovering The Cotswolds and all it has to offer. If you choose to visit again we do hope you will return to Number Four where a warm welcome awaits you.

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Number Four at Stow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four at Stow

Address: Fosseway, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four at Stow 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-owned and run boutique country house hotel in Stow on the Wold, in the heart of the Cotswolds. The hotel offers 13 stylish bedrooms and 5 elegant two-room suites/family rooms and a relaxing and cosy lounge and bar. In Cutler’s at Number Four, our intimate restaurant, chef Brian Cutler offers good simple and tasty food using the best of local and seasonal produce. A small but flexible function room can seat up to 40 for meetings or private dining. The entire hotel is fully air-conditioned and Wi-Fi is free and available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Number Four at Stow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number Four At Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Number 4 At Stow
Number Four At Stow Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Number Four at Stow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.