We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The White Hart Stow

The White Hart Stow
The Square, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1AF, England (Formerly White Hart)
44 1451 830674
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Our Dining Room features a log fire, well spaced tables and interesting artifacts. However if you wish to eat more informally then why not choose our relaxed bar, not to mention the delicious food prepared by. All food is sourced locally, and prepared on the premises to ensure that your satisfaction is met. We offer hearty food during the day, and exquisite dining in the evening. Our chef’s are trained to the highest standard, and take pride in their work.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We ate here spur of the moment booking for a fussy eater +1. Fabulous food really excellent quality in lovely surroundings! Very friendly staff & great value for money on food & drink .

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    39
    24
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“CathyNotts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We went here both evenings we were in Stow and had the most fantastic food. It is across the Green from the Old Stock. My Mum has quite alot of dietary requirements and I really think it is the best meal she has eaten when we have been with my parents. The 2nd evening they did me a main of crispy prawns and they were delicious. I would highly recommend and go back again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Regional gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Came to this hotel just to look as I thought it would be expensive. Don't be fooled, outstanding Sunday lunch, £13 for two courses sat in the snug. Even my kids loved it and we're made very welcome. Great job staff keep it up.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good pub food, friendly service and ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Ate lunch here over the august bank holiday weekend. Very tasyt pub food, we all had sandwiches or burgers, without leaving a crumb. Decent beer selection and very friendly staff, especially considering they were very busy.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Needs a bit more consistency”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Spent four weeks in Stow and ate at The White Hart twice.I understand the pub is under new management. They are very friendly and trying hard.The menu is interesting but the food lacks consistency. Would I go again ? Yes is the answer because the place is nice, good value , and I think the food will improve, not that it's bad now

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Hart Stow also viewed

Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 

Been to The White Hart Stow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Hart Stow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.