We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cotswolds88hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cotswolds88hotel to your Saves list
Cotswolds88hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kemps Lane, Painswick GL6 6YB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Painswick
Solihull, Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my boyfriend as I'd seen it on an Amazon local deal including a 7 course taster menu. Food was amazing for both the evening meal and breakfast. The decor was quirky, fun and fab. We loved our room and the views of the countryside were amazing! The deal was very good value, can't wait to go again. Would also recommend going to the Royal Oak for a drink just around the corner, lovely little pub!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    116
    50
    18
    12
See reviews for
16
273
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
uk
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I knew from reviews and photos this hotel would be right up our street! But did not expect to be so stunned and dazzled on arrival. Might not be to everyones taste as the decor was very bold, stylish, contemporary and carried throughout the hotel. Even the receptionist fitted this brief with his flair and personality. The restaurant food was exceptional if only the portions were a tad more generous. But the full English breakfast was really good. Our room - detmar 9 - was amazing like a junior suite with wonderful views and a spa bath with shower, spotless too. Cannot but agree with other favourable reviews - stunning all round. Smilling helpful staff topped off our stay here. Well done all!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed for two nights in room 19 as part of an Amazon Local deal. The room was at the very top of the hotel and it took a few flights of stairs to get there! The windows in the room and bathroom were high up, so our views of the countryside were hampered a little. The room was very spacious, as was the bathroom, although I would have preferred a shower than the roll top bath.

The hotel itself is very in keeping with the surroundings, but the modern quirky interior was amazing, making you want to explore each and every room.

Our deal included a 7 course evening meal; the food presentation and quality easily matched a fine dining experience in London.

Breakfast continued the high quality food and service received the night before. A continental selection has plenty of choice and then you have a menu of cooked breakfast to choose from! The full English was fantastic, but the smoked salmon and scrambled egg surpassed it - the best breakfast I've had in a long time.

The staff were brilliant; friendly and help at all times.

A mention should also go to the Royal Oak pub - a 2 minute walk from the hotel - which has a real 'country pub' feel to it should you need a quick drink.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

What a beautiful hotel we stayed in room 18, one of the Junior Palladium Suites. As soon as we arrived the staff made us feel welcome and my jaw dropped when we saw our beautiful room only to be led into a bathroom with a huge roll top jacuzzi bath! Couldn't have wished for more! Would recommend :)

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed for one night on a special deal. The hotel itself is in a beautiful traditional Cotswolds hamelt in the heart of the countryside. The hotel looks very traditional and beautiful from the outside but was modern and funky on the inside. Our room was huge with double aspect views across the valley and a bottle of champagne waiting for us...perfect!! The bar was fun and the cocktails were not bad. The 5-course tasting menu was good, not amazing food but pretty high end. The only blip was that we ordered a very expensive bottle of wine and the waitress managed to knock my full glass over. She then offered me a replacement glass of house white instead which was no where near comparable with the wine she had spilt, not great customer service. But overall we had a fantastic time and would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Such a pretty little Cotswold village! Lovely hotel, very tastefully decorated, really quirky. We had room 15 which was huge! The staff were all very pleasant, friendly and efficient. The food was fantastic and beautifully presented. Breakfast was all freshly cooked and a wide menu. All in all a fabulous choice to stop for a weekend away. The only problem would be for disabled guests. Steep steps to get to the front door and no lifts, so deffo not the place to go if you cant manage steps or stairs.

Room Tip: Room 15 is good, Wi-Fi connection great. Super TV, and 4 nice armchairs in the room. Big king sized...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights - a Friday and a Saturday night. We had got a deal whereby you got a free bottle of champagne on arrival as well as a seven-course tasting menu on the first night.

Overall the stay was good - but nowhere near perfect. We felt it wasn't worth the money we paid either. Generally speaking the hotel was more style over substance. It doesn't deserve a five-rating to go with its five-star price tag.

Most disappointing of all, the staff fail to get some basics right. There also aren't enough staff to deal with the volume of people.

Here are the main positives...and the main negatives:

THE GOOD
1) The style of the hotel is great. The old meets new theme is funky and interesting. A lot of thought has gone into the rooms and communal areas and it is a breath of fresh air. The room was lovely too - spacious, comfortable and very clean. But, personally, I think the design of the restaurant isn't nice - bizarre red walls, snakeskin tables and very bright lighting that jars when you're trying to have a quiet meal.

2) It's in a beautiful setting. Painswick is lovely and, even if you are not staying in the area, it's worth a visit. The views from our room were beautiful and it was very peaceful.

THE BAD

1) Service at this hotel is below par for a four star. We had to wait a long time before someone realised we wanted to check in. I rang the bell - there was no answer. When the staff member realised we were waiting, he said he would be with us soon.

2) The breakfast service is a shambles and under-staffed. It takes ages to give your order, a long time for food to come and, on one occasion, the tea and coffee arrived quite some time after we had finished eating. A good breakfast service is a basic at a hotel that costs this much. A young teenager seemed to be doing the brunt of the work, assisted by an older manager who kept forgetting what we had ordered and had to keep asking us.

3) The room didnt have a proper shower. There was a very spacious bathroom with a huge stand-alone tub which had a jacuzzi function. But it was very difficult to wash if you didn't want a full bath. In my opinion there is enough room in such a big bathroom to have incorporated both a shower and a bath. The lack of free-standing shower (there was only a hand-held shower head attached to the bath) was disappointing and often resulted in something of a tsunami situation in the bathroom!

4) There was a full turn down service on the first night - but not on the second. Did they forget? Were they under-staffed? Or could they just not be bothered? Whatever the case, it felt sloppy. Don't do it one night if you're not going to do it the other.

To conclude, this hotel could be excellent. Unfortunately the service lets it down - and means it's not worth the money. They need one or two highly-trained staff to improve and get it back up to standard.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cotswolds88hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswolds88hotel

Address: Kemps Lane, Painswick GL6 6YB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Painswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Painswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswolds88hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotswolds88hotel is an intimate lifestyle boutique hotel set in the hauntingly beautiful village of Painswick. Here, the modern and vintage merge; the historic exterior and funky interior breathe new life into the foundations of this stunning country retreat. The hotels ethos is based on the latest lounge trend in which luxury and chill out blend together. Cotswolds88hotel - the ultimate destination for every traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cotswolds88hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswolds88hotel Hotel Painswick
Cotswolds88 Hotel Painswick
Cotswolds88hotel Painswick, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotswolds88hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.