We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cotswolds88hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cotswolds88hotel to your Saves list
Cotswolds88hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kemps Lane, Painswick GL6 6YB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Painswick
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

What a lovely hotel. My sister had exclusive use of the hotel for her wedding on the 10th September 2011. It was perfect. The setting is beautiful, the staff were lovely and the rooms were gorgeous. The rooms were clean and could not be faulted. The whole stay was perfect and the staff could not do enough for the bride and groom or their guests. Not only a great place to stay but a great place to have your wedding reception.

The following morning we stayed for breakfast and that was delicious. This really was an incredible hotel. You were made to feel very unique and special and i would recommend this as the best place to stay if you are coming to the area.

Over all, a little gem that everyone should have the opportunity to enjoy.

Victoria Boseley

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria_Dadabhoy, General Manager at Cotswolds88hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

The 88 team and I throughly enjoyed hosting your sisters big day! We look forward to welcoming you all back to 88!

Kindest regards

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    117
    50
    18
    12
See reviews for
17
273
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Painswick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

My husband's 60th birthday celebration dinner was wonderful. He REALLY enjoyed it, as did all our guests. Lee Scott's menu was delicious - the food, as always, was superb and the extra touches - the canapes and the amuse bouche - were delightful. Sam, Naomi and the other staff looked after us very well - even when the speeches overran by 15 minutes!
Well done and many thanks to all - and especially to Maria for bringing it all together.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria_Dadabhoy, General Manager at Cotswolds88hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Your beautiful words have made the 88 team smile!

It was a pleasure hosting such a milestone event and we were pleased to be a part of it. Your lovely family and friends were a joy and we look forward to welcoming you all back to the hotel!

Warmest regards

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

This the second time we have stayed at this hotel in a year. The hotel is set in the loveliest and most picturesque Cotswold town but the hotel itself never really feels like it has a manager. Staff seem like they are having to do multiple roles. Some truly stand out as being helpful whilst others really make you feel like you are inconveniencing them. The rooms are lovely but not even the staff on hand in the evening knew that the lights in the room were operated by remote control. We had a door missing from our wardrobe. We stayed in a Palladian suite overlooking exquisite gardens but odd not to have a shower in their top tier room. The dinner menu is limited so although it is a sophisticated menu, you have to take it or leave it, there is little flexibility. The wine choices were excellent. Breakfast was good on balance but little things like morning juices coming from Tetra pack containers instead of being freshly made and store bought sliced bread instead of fresh local artisanal breads left one feeling like they were cutting corners. We sat down for a pot of tea at 5pm and asked for biscuits which apparently did not exist in the entire hotel despite serving afternoon tea not an hour earlier? The last negative note is the appalling parking lot management. We struggled to find a parking spot despite being residents as all the spaces were taken up by guests having afternoon tea. We were told that we should go "park down the lane" and that they would call us when a spot became available. In the end, what you buy into is the lovely setting, the very nice rooms but they definitely need an experienced manager to keep the ship tight.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the gardens - otherwise you will see cars
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

The rooms are fine and Painswick ,its people and pubs are lovely. The chef is talented and 3 dishes were lovely, although the fish course could only be described as a taster and not a main course. We heard another couple complain about the fish too. Does Lee know that the lights are so dim that you can't read the menu and you can't decipher what is on your plate? A sensory test no doubt. Go for the lamb and breakfast is lovely. Take care when paying that a "discretionary" £20 service charge will be added to the bill if you have wine and check for other add ons that you didn't receive such as bottled water or more expensive breakfasts. I didn't like having to quibble on payment but I don't like being cheated either. Sorry 88 but B&B next time.

Room Tip: We went on "99" deal but you'll be lucky if its below £300 for 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria_Dadabhoy, General Manager at Cotswolds88hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank-you very much for taking the time to write a review on Cotswolds88hotel.

I can assure you that we take our customer feedback very seriously and that we have a very proactive service recovery procedure in place to make sure that when we receive guests comments, we put in place certain actions to ensure that they are erradicated.

If there are any further points you would like to discuss please do not hesitate in getting in contact with us at reservations@cotswolds88hotel.com


Kindest regards

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for just a couple of nights and ate in both nights. Our room was very comfortable and clean. Beautiful view from the window. Everyone was helpful and friendly. The evening meals were so delicious. Lee Scott is obviously a very talented chef. Everything tasted so good. I like cereal and fruit for breakfast and found that there was a lovely selection of both. My husband enjoyed the full English breakfast. The decor is certainly unusual - plenty of stripes!! We would certainly stay at this hotel again. Our stay was booked through Travelzoo and we got an excellent deal. The only minus point would be that the hotel reception is on the first floor. To get there you have to go up two flights of stairs - one flight to get into the building and a longer flight to get up to reception. No doubt if we had needed help, someone would have taken our case up for us.

Room Tip: I understand that the rooms with the good view only have a shower and no bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria_Dadabhoy, General Manager at Cotswolds88hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

Your kind words have been passed on to a very happy team!

We certainly hope you will visit us again!

Kindest regards

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Recently stayed 3 nights for our honeymoon and felt obliged to report on our stay as it was hit and miss. The staff there are nice, friendly and helpful but seem stretched. The same person served us for a late night drink and for breakfast the next day, whilst another member of staff seems to work everywhere in the hotel and for even longer hours. In some instances staff go out of their way to help whilst on other occasions service seems a hassle. We had off milk in the room, were left waiting on the landing for 20mins for a teabag to be delivered and no explanation. The biggest problem was a blown fuse in our room at midnight, which resulted in no lighting and were moved 30mins later to another room which also had no lighting. At breakfast the next morning we received an apology from the guy serving and were asked if the electrician could look in to the problem. After breakfast we returned to our room to find the lighting problem repaired but it was left unlocked. At no stage during the rest of the stay did we receive a management apology or have the issue explained. We had 30% of that night's stay taken off the bill when we checked out but would've swapped that for a face-face apology from management.
Dinner was of good quality but very small portions. Breakfast was better value but after finding a fair amount of eggshell in her poached egg my wife was told that the chef would be informed, we ideally wanted an apology. Overall it's a good hotel and unique in its decoration but lacks the quality and consistency of service you would expect for £185 per night. If it was busy we would've overlooked things but given that there seemed to be only a handful of people staying we expected more......and for the record not one mention of our honeymoon was made, not sure if that's the commonplace these days when you get married but we weren't even offered a congratulations let alone anything else!
Go and make your own mind up, it's an experience but not one we'll be repeating personally.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria_Dadabhoy, General Manager at Cotswolds88hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Dear sir,

Thank you for making the time to speak to me following your stay. Following our conversation I am thrilled that you are coming back to Cotswolds88hotel. I can assure you my team and I will ensure you have a fantastic stay.

Kindest regards

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011 via mobile

On our arrival on 11th Oct my mum and I were greeted with a very warm welcome from reception. Our room No 7 was fabulous, very comfortable bed, and spacious room with a beautiful view ! The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean ! We dined at the restaurant on both nights and was sooo glad we did because the food was absolutely fantastic (Lee Scott, the chef, ur a genius), the food was a work of art ! The service in the restaurant was impeccable, nothing was too much trouble ! We sat in the trendy/glam bar with our Martinis after dinner, it was so relaxing with nice chilled out music playing softly in the background. All in all we wud definitely recommend Cotswolds88 to anyone so if yr thinking Abt going don't hesitate u will hv a truely wonderful stay ! Thankyou cotswolds88 we loved it, will see you again !!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria_Dadabhoy, General Manager at Cotswolds88hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Dear guest,

It was a pleasure welcoming you and your mother to the hotel! I am extremely pleased to read your feedback and most certainly look forward to welcoming you back again!

Kindest regards

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cotswolds88hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswolds88hotel

Address: Kemps Lane, Painswick GL6 6YB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Painswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Painswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswolds88hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotswolds88hotel is an intimate lifestyle boutique hotel set in the hauntingly beautiful village of Painswick. Here, the modern and vintage merge; the historic exterior and funky interior breathe new life into the foundations of this stunning country retreat. The hotels ethos is based on the latest lounge trend in which luxury and chill out blend together. Cotswolds88hotel - the ultimate destination for every traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cotswolds88hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswolds88hotel Hotel Painswick
Cotswolds88 Hotel Painswick
Cotswolds88hotel Painswick, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotswolds88hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.