We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simone is a wonderful hostess.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Troy House B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Painswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Troy House B & B
Save
You added Troy House B & B to your Saves list
Gloucester St., Painswick gl66qn, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Painswick B&B and Inns
Minnesota
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Simone is a wonderful hostess.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We spent one night in Painswick and chose The Troy House. Simone is the owner and very gracious. Her breakfasts are wonderful. The house is located in the middle of this small village and vintage. Our room was clean and functional however as in all of these historic houses , garden level can smell a little musty and ours did. I would request a room on the first floor in any of these places in any country as after hundreds of years standing all of these vintage houses taken on moisture. Otherwise we did enjoy her hospitality, breakfasts and lovely gardens.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the garden level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    11
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
30
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ancona, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at Troy House on the 3rd of August 2012. We had a very warm welcome and appreciated the beautiful room with all comforts (tea, coffee, chocolate, etc...) with a bright bathroom with particular bathfoams of famous makes, hand creams, phon and all details you normally have at your home and relax you. Comfortable bed and beautiful bed linen. The breakfast served in the beautiful dining room was special: my son chose a full (and big!!!) English breakfast, while I and my husband chose smoked salmon. All of us had toasts with different kinds of good jams and so many fresh fruits that we appreciated a lot (cherries, raspberries, straberries, etc...).
The Landlady was very kind and full of attentions towards us.
I recommend this special place in the heart of the Costwolds.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Large room; tasteful, quiet decor; wonderful bed linens; excellent selection of reading materials. Wifi works in the bedroom, a rarity in the Cotswolds. Top of the line bathroom: white tile and chrome throughout, natural light, quality shampoo, etc., full-size hair dryer, full-size bathtub.

Excellent breakfast served in a pleasant dining room.

Best of all is the owner. She took it upon herself to track down my luggage that had failed to arrive from Birdlip. After a short stroll through town to kill time, I was able to change into clean clothes. The taxi driver was going to deliver it the following day...

Last, my friend was staying at the B&B across the street from Troy House. The owner invited my friend to have breakfast at Troy House so we could share the meal and plan for the day. Amazing. Cannot recommend her and her B&B enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed here as a party of three walking the Cotswold Way. A lovely character stand alone cottage with twin room and double, both ensuite, separated by garden patio to house of the owner. Simone was very friendly and helpful even booking us for dinner at the local pub and bringing us fresh milk for tea and a slice of cake on arrival. Accomodation was tastefully decorated, beds were comfortable and it was lovely to have a bath after walking all day. All topped off by a delicious breakfast before setting off for the next days walk.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I stayed at Troy house for one night in June with work the room was clean the bed comfortable the breakfast magnificent my only complaint if it could be called a complaint was the Wi-Fi in the room did not work this was not B&Bs full but it did stop me working that evening.
Because I couldn't work I did have the best nights sleep I've had in years in one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in
The landlady could not have done more for me breakfast giving me full choice of almost anything I could have desired

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

As seasoned walkers we have stayed in countless b and bs and this one goes straight into our top five. The rooms overlook a delightful paved patio and ours was spacious, light and very tastefully furnished. Bedlinen and towels were pristine and the lovely warm bathroom could have been brand new. Everything was absolutely immaculate. We were welcomed into Simone's beautiful home for an excellent breakfast including lots of fresh fruit, creamy yogurts, warm croissants as well as traditional cooked food. Our hostess was warm and generous and simply couldn't do enough for us. She booked us a table in the Falcon Inn and phoned us with bus timetables in advance of our stay. Our only regret is that because we were doing the Cotswold Way our stay was so short. However, we shall definitely be back and hope to explore the countryside around the lovely town of Painswick knowing that we can look forward to very special accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Atlanta, GA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We chose Troy House because of the guesthouse, and were pleasantly surprised to discover it was two mini blocks from restaurants, church, trails, everything! The courtyard, cooing birds, blooming flowers, and beds with comforters were idyllic. Rooms were very private, on separate floors, with new, immaculate, sunny bathrooms. The room upstairs, with a couch, was big enough for us all to gather in. NEVER have I met anyone in a hotel or B&B like Simonne — willing and able to give EXCELLENT advice, and flexible and gracious from first encounter via email. Huge English breakfasts made to order, with many kinds of yogurt, and fresh fruit and croissants; tea and cake in afternoon. Because taxis were scarce — being a holiday — and it was expensive to zip from town to town via train and taxi alone, she researched buses and called her wonderful taxi-driving neighbor, Rob. He drove us to Bibury, waited, then dropped us in Cirencester and we leapfrogged home via bus, seeing 5 towns in one afternoon. She also gave us directions for two hikes — the Cotswold Way, and through pastures to the pub in Sheepscombe for Easter lunch!

Mobile phone number for Rob Lewis, our taxi driver: 07833 444607. Email: lewisbob@btconnect.com.

Though I picked Painswick because of St. Mary’s church and the Cotswold Way, never expected it to be so pretty and non-touristy. Favorite restaurant was Oliva’s. Cannot praise Troy House, Painswick, and Rob Lewis highly enough.

Room Tip: Room upstairs with twin beds quite spacious; bath with tub. Downstairs, double bed and shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Troy House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Troy House B & B

Address: Gloucester St., Painswick gl66qn, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Painswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Painswick
Also Known As:
Troy House B & B Painswick, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Troy House B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.