We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I want to go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Court House Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Court House Manor to your Saves list
Court House Manor
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Hale Lane, Painswick GL6 6QE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Painswick B&B and Inns
San Carlos, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“I want to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We had an absolutely wonderful stay at the Court House Manor. There were four adults and three children in our group, and we had three rooms in total. Each room was gorgeous and special in its own way. The manor itself is stunning, with so much history and character, yet beautifully updated with modern amenities that make it feel luxurious. The grounds are lovely, with amazing views and plenty of quiet, peaceful spots so that it felt very serene even though every room was full the weekend we were there. The breakfast was delicious and more than the "continental" breakfast we were expecting. It included fresh-baked pastries, a range of artisan breads, an assortment of gourmet cheeses, fresh yogurt, cereals, juices, coffee and tea.

The owner and her family were lovely to meet and spend time with, and made us feel completely welcome and at home. We had never been to the Cotswalds before and loved getting to know the little town of Painswick. We walked the charming little streets and had a fun time and good food and drink at the local pub. We feel like we discovered a true hidden gem in the Court House Manor, and have already recommended it to family and friends. If you are fortunate enough to get spend time there, you will not regret it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter L, Public Relations Manager at Court House Manor, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Hi JennJ169,

Thank you for staying at the court house manor, and thank you for your great review!
It was great to hear that everything went well during your stay.

We hope you will return soon, Please check our website for any upcoming offers and events;

Best regards Pete, Linda & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    17
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
71
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Carlos, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed at the Court House Manor in August shortly after its opening. We were on a family trip and headed to the country side with some friends who live in London. What a spectacular place! The home is just amazing. Our rooms were fantastic and very well appointed. The grounds and view were amazing. Doug and Linda and Peter were delightful. They toured us around the private parts of the home. It is packed with history, including a musket hole in the front door. King Charles the I spent time here as well prior to his capture.

Court House Manor is a gem and worth the trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter L, Owner at Court House Manor, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here at Court House. What a lovely review and we hope you come back soon.

Kind regards,

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed in the Queen of the Cotswold suit and it is truly fabulous.

Great setting, lovely location. Met on arrival by Victoria and everyone was friendly, polite and courteous.

Recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter L, Owner at Court House Manor, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here at Court House. What a lovely review and we hope you come back soon.

Kind regards,

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

If you looking for a place that offers relaxation and zen, this it it! Amazing place filled with warmth and special attention to detail. My room was spacious, tastefully decorated and ideal to make one feel spoiled. Thank you Linda and Doug for looking after me!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter L, Owner at Court House Manor, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here at Court House. What a lovely review and we hope you come back soon.

Kind regards,

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

It was a truly wonderful experience. We really enjoyed our stay here. The owners were very welcoming, and nothing was too much trouble for them. Our room was tastefully decorated, very clean and comfortable. All members of staff were very friendly and helpful, they made our stay all the more enjoyable. Good advice was offered on places to eat , and interesting places to visit. I thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter L, Owner at Court House Manor, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here at Court House. What a lovely review and we hope you come back soon.

Kind regards,

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We booked a room at Court House Manor to start a week away in the Cotswolds. The owners were lovely and welcoming, and the room was stunning (possibly the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in, and views over the garden were gorgeous!). We were given a tour of the whole house (it's massive) and lots of great recommendations for the surrounding area. (There are some great pubs and restaurants in the area, as well as amazing country walks.) The continental breakfast was good quality, and the breakfast staff were very attentive. Water pressure in the shower was good, and a decent hairdryer was also provided in the room (something a lot of even decent hotels lack!). The room was a little chilly on our first night, but the heating kicked in on the second night, and it was super cosy. Would absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter L, Owner at Court House Manor, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here at Court House. What a lovely review and we hope you come back soon.

Kind regards,

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

My partner booked the Court House Manor as a romantic break in the Cotswolds without my input and wow! We arrived to a lovely big Manor House which was tastefully decorated. The proprietors were really welcoming and we had a bottle of Cava delivered to the room which was a lovely touch. We stayed in The Othello Suite which had it's own floor. The room was lovely and decor relevant yet luxurious to the age of the Manor. We would of liked the bathroom to have a shower, but we did have a lovely big bath. Breakfast was a lovely experience and we wasn't expecting a full English, just a continental. The staff are very polite and courteous. We arrived as strangers and left feeling more than that. The only regret I have is that we only stayed one night. If you are considering a break in the Cotswolds then the Court House Manor is the ideal tranquil setting.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter L, Owner at Court House Manor, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here at Court House. What a lovely review and we hope you come back soon.

Kind regards,

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Court House Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Court House Manor

Address: Hale Lane, Painswick GL6 6QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Painswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Painswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Court House Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Court House is a listed building which seeps history through its walls; each room tells a tale of its own. As you enter the front gates you're instantly taken by its grandeur; you truly will never forget your stay at Court House. You will not find a better example of British countryside. Painswick is at the top of a valley and offers stunning views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Court House Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Court House Manor Painswick, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Court House Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.