We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tasting menu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cotswolds88 Hotel

Cotswolds88 Hotel
Kempst Lane, Painswick GL6 6YB, England
44(0)0 1452 813 688
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 9 Restaurants in Painswick
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“tasting menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

again we return for the first class service and beautifull food we had the tasting menu which was first class and the cheese board wasgreat for my husband we cant find any faults and for you out there who review the decor you will pleased to know they are changing it in january

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    19
    8
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maplewood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A beautiful, delicious lunch on our first day in England”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We wandered into Cotswolds88 looking for lunch on our very first day in England. We had just arrived in Painswick after flying in from Newark, and we were looking a bit worse for the wear. In spite of this we were very warmly greeted, seated quickly and were soon were served absolutely beautiful and delicious food.

I started with a goat cheese and beet salad, and my husband had a fois gras terrine served with little local sausages. I then had brill that was served with pureed potatoes. I often seem to wind up with white food, but this was sparked up with some green, and was flavorful and not bland. Husband had lamb. Unfortunately jet-lag keep both us from recording much else about his main course. Servings were on the small side, but were exquisitely assembled and presented, and everything was delicious.

It seems the hotel is known for its quirky, modern decor. The decorating scheme is not quite to my taste, but if we find ourselves in the area again we will most definitely return, maybe even to stay.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“tasting menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

we go to this lovely restaurant once a month as its simply the best in the area i go there for the 5 star service and 6star food i cant believe some people wish to review the decor?? im not there to be concerned with it dont go if its not to your liking, they do everthing a top end restaurant do and we have ate in a lot of the,also have never had a problem with my booking

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Individual Hotel - Great Experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Fantastic hotel stuck away in the backstreets of Painswick. This is the sort of hotel that you want to take photographs of it's quirky interior. It's very different. The room was beatifully decorated. The starched white quilt and pillows were very squishy. We didn't have a bath, but the shower was great with lots of Molton Brown freebies and soft dressing gowns afterwards.
The attached Juniper Restaurant was the highlight for us though. The food was out of this world, definitely worthy of it's three star AA rating. Our waiter was knowledgable and the service was first class. Every aspect of our evening meal was faultless and we loved the chill out music.
The reception on check-in was also very helpful.
My only criticism would be of the service at breakfast time and the fact that we could overhear a (less than complimentary and somewhat personal) description of ourselves from the kitchen, when a table number would surely have been preferable. Personally I like the option of toast 'now or later', which was also not offered.
All in all definitely worthy five star review had the few minor hiccups been avoided.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

yet again we visit for my husbands birthday and all i can say is wow even though it was a saturday night every thing was 5 star and perfect best restaurant outside of london and birmingham cant wait to go back

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cotswolds88 Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Cotswolds88 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotswolds88 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.