We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a dissapointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Painswick Rococo Garden

Painswick Rococo Garden
Gloucester Road, Painswick GL6 6TH, England
01452 813204
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 3 Attractions in Painswick
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historically Painswick Rococo Garden is very important, as it is the sole complete survivor from the brief Rococo period (1720 – 1760). These gardens differ from the more traditional 19th and 20th century designs, as they were mini landscapes designed almost as theatrical sets for the home owner to entertain his guests with lavish garden parties. One thing they were not were great flower gardens.At Painswick, romantic follies combine with long vistas, informal plantings, and a large kitchen garden to create a relaxing environment for todays visitor to appreciate how our forefathers lived and to understand how gardens have changed over the centuries.
gloucester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“What a dissapointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I have driven past this garden many times but never been in. So last saturday, 20th April 2013 my wife and I decided to pay a visit. It all started off well with a coffee in the excellent cafe, but when we entered the garden we were underwhealmed. They do not claim to be a plantsman garden, but even so there were large patches of bear earth and a pond covered in blanketweed. It was probably the wrong time of year especially after the cold start to spring but we were dissapointed.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    63
    24
    13
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
wales
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Cakes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This place is great, it has great gardens, tea rooms and a little shop, nothing to dislike about it at all...the cakes are super!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“wrong season but most enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

On a sunny but windy cold day(still some snow in hedgerows) we had a brisk walk round the permanent features of the grounds,interesting follies etc.then retired to the coach house for a light adequate lunch.It is licensed so that was a plus!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“fun for the family, and a treat for gardeners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

seven of us visited this last August ranging in age from 3 to 64. The children enjoyed the maze and the quiz trail and the adults enjoyed the landscape of the garden, the plants and the very enjoyable walk rounded off with delicious tea and cake

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Glad we visited”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Had not heard of this place but was recommended by Tourist Information. Found it to be a lovely little place to visit. The gardens are really well set out and with an interesting history. The snowdrops were past their best so would be good to see them in early spring. Had lovely food in the cafe served by friendly staff and we found the cost very reasonable.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Painswick Rococo Garden also viewed

Painswick, Cotswolds
Painswick, Cotswolds
 
Winchcombe, Cotswolds
Berkeley, Cotswolds
 

Been to Painswick Rococo Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Painswick Rococo Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.