We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant place to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Batsford Arboretum

Batsford Arboretum
Batsford, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 9QB, England
01386 701441
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Home to one of the largest private tree collections in the country, Batsford Arboretum offers visitors year round interest - from lush, spring colour provided by the beautiful Japanese flowering cherries to autumn’s spectacular natural fireworks display. Wander along 56 acres of wild gardens, paths and streams, enjoy stunning views across the Evenlode Valley and discover the beautiful oriental-influenced statues hidden in glades around the grounds.Freshly-baked food available all day in the Garden Terrace Café; Beautiful, quality plants, gifts and garden sundries; Expert gardening advice and unique shabby chic interior ideas from the Applestore.
Ely, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A very pleasant place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had a lovely stroll through the gardens and woodlands at Batsford one chilly February afternoon and even though there had been plenty of rain/snow in the weeks beforehand the paths were passable and well maintained. There were plenty of other visitors but it was still possible to enjoy some peace and tranquillity.

We stopped at the cafe on the way out for a coffee and the prices were a little on the steep side especially as after our daughter drank he bottle of Coca Cola (£2.30) we discovered that it was, in fact an out of date bottle.

All things considered we would go back.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    98
    10
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Oxon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An excellent place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

If you are in the Moreton area and would like a good place to have a walk make your way to Barsford.
The paths are good even after the snow and rain we have had. While looking around at the flora watch out for the birds. nuthatch, goldcrest, woodeckers ( GS and Red ) buzzards and redkites to name a few we have seen.
When you have been for your walk you must visit the resraurant the choices of a cream tea to a roast are all excellent and value for money.
If you live locally then become members, it well worth it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie H, Public Relations Manager at Batsford Arboretum, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Delighted you had such a good visit to Batsford and thank you for your comments about the state of the paths. Hard to keep them in good shape in all the recent bad weather but we do our best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minehead, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Arboretum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We went on the Bird Watch day and saw Nuthatches and a Goldcrest. Walked around the arboretum which we will definitely go back to. The new shop is well equipped and lovely cakes in the restaurant but the most dreadful coffee. Don't let that put you off.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Winter warmer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Fantastic new cafe, with superb value. Some of the best roast potatoes and parsnips ever! A good selection of garden equipment and plants.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We visited Batsford last autumn which was our first visit since it's revamp. The nice old garden centre has gone to be replaced by a new visitor centre/restaurant (the latter crammed with coach parties and lacking in space). The Arboretum itself is nice enough but doesn't really offer much beyond what can be gained from going for a walk across the fields and through the many local woods that are in the area.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie H, Public Relations Manager at Batsford Arboretum, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are sorry you felt underwhelmed by your visit to Batsford in November. This is an incredibly busy time of the year for us which is why you might have found space at a premium during your visit. We recognise the limits of the building at this time of year and regularly ask for customer feedback about how we can improve things. We start to lose the autumnal colour from the second or third week of November which might explain your disappointment at the Arboretum. Thank you for visiting Batsford and for your comments. Perhaps we could suggest you come back in the spring when all the early flowering bulbs, Japanese Flowering Cherry collection and magnolias are in full bloom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Batsford Arboretum also viewed

Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 
Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
 

Been to Batsford Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Batsford Arboretum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Batsford Arboretum to your Saves list