We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont eat here! Risk of food poisoning!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Redesdale Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Redesdale Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Redesdale Arms Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street | Cotswolds, Moreton-in-Marsh GL560AW, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
French Fizz on Arrival
Certificate of Excellence 2014
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Dont eat here! Risk of food poisoning!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went for dinner here.

After waiting for an hour - our dinner arrived. we were served cold mussels, cold pork, cold fish cakes! The waitress apologised. Next table complained about their chicken which was uncooked! Red raw inthe middle!

We left and ate somewhere else!

I urge health and safety to carry out unannounced check in the kitchen!

Thankfully we were not charged.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedesdaleArmsHotel, General Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Firstly I apologize for the delay in you receiving your meals, because of the bank holiday we were incredibly busy however I agree to wait for your meal for nearly an hour is not acceptable. I was on duty the evening of your meal and was very aware of the situation; again very sorry. I must however correct you on a few points.
1. The table next to yours did not send back a raw chicken breast; it was the sea bass dish that only needed the sauce warming, in fact it was a warm sauce “Vierge” however the guest preferred it hot. No problem rectified in 2 minutes.
2. I personally checked your meals after you sent them back, I totally understand that you waited too long but it was a bit of an overreaction on your part. They were not cold and perfectly edible.
I am sorry to have to correct you but when untruths are published in a public forum, I have no choice.
Finally I would urge readers to read your other reviews and the wonderfully negative assessments of nearly every where you travel.
Once again sorry for the wait for your meals it was unacceptable.
Robert smith
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    214
    43
    14
    4
See reviews for
85
421
18
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This hotel seems to have everything. Quaint hotel rooms with Sky TV, two small restaurants that serve excellent food, two bars that run on from each other, a lovely outside area to sit in the sun, free car parking - and it's located in the centre of Moreton-in-Marsh.

This is a 3 star hotel which could border on being a 4 star if they took time to deal with repairs. The room we were in badly needed a new bath panel and shower; but the bathroom was large enough. The bed also needed a new mattress as it rocked badly and the springs were rather loud.

There are hotel rooms within the main building, and other rooms surrounding the car park. Anyone who has difficulty climbing a spiral staircase would need to request they were not allocated a higher room as this seemed to be the only way to gain entry to the upper level.

All in all we had a wonderful time and wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel. The staff were friendly and there were plenty of them.

Room Tip: The elderly would be best requesting a room within the main building, and anyone who has difficulty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedesdaleArmsHotel, General Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you; we do try our best to be everything to all of our guests. Thank you for your praise and I will certainly be acting on your suggestions.
Many thanks
Robert Smith
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

After having not such a good stay at The Swan Inn and subsequently hearing brilliant things about the Redesdale Arms we've just booked this place for 2 nights in October. We've just come back from Moreton-in-Marsh and had a fabulous meal here - staff all lovely, everything lovely. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedesdaleArmsHotel, General Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We look forward to welcoming you in October.
Robert Smith
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Really friendly hotel in fantastic location for enjoying the Cotswolds. Very close to National Trust Gardens at Hidcote. Rooms in the old part at the front of the hotel are the nicest - lots of character and very comfortable king sized bed. We had a meal in the restaurant in the evening - fish dishes were very well cooked and beautifully presented. Good wine selection as well. Breakfast was lovely - nice focus on local ingredients.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedesdaleArmsHotel, Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We do indeed have so many wonderful National Trust properties in the immediate area.
I am so glad you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.
Frances Malins
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Queensland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in a deluxe suite. Room 29 offered a QUIET night at the rear of the property. Our car was parked directly outside our room. A recent build/refurbishment gave the room a fresh new feel. Deluxe rooms offer extra room, handy with 2 large suitcases. Our room was CLEAN, a king size bed (very firm, but comfortable), modern bathroom with great shower pressure & excellent FREE WIFI. WELL LOCATED in the heart of Moreton-in-Marsh, you can walk the entire town with its amazing stores, cafes and antique stores.
When we arrived back to our room in the afternoon, it did seem stuffy and a little warm. The weather was mild 16-18 degrees, but something to consider during the warmer weather approaching.
Breakfast was included, and the selection was good. They will prepare eggs anyway you like. Fresh fruit, yoghurt, muesli and a great selection of Bain Marie service including bacon &sausages. A vegetarian option too is available. Room service was great too. Staff were welcoming & helpful. Well done Redesdale Arms.

Room Tip: This hotel offered a better last minute deal after we booked. Check out their website as they tend t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedesdaleArmsHotel, General Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write your review on Tripadvisor.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and exploring the many shops Moreton in Marsh has to offer.
We appreciate your mention regarding the temperature of your room and this is something we will be looking into as the weather starts to improve.

Robert Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

My favourite haunt when working at the FSC - their bangers 'n' mash is unsurpassed, and breakfast the next day a brilliant start, if you can eat more sausages. Well worth staying and definitely eat in.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedesdaleArmsHotel, General Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you very much; the sausages we use are from the local butcher, R & D Walker.
We look forward to seeing you the next time you're at the Fire Service College.
Robert Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Simply everything we could have expected. This is our favourite Hotel in the Cotswolds and we consider it a home from home. Morton has everything you could need and the Redesdale is the same. A spacious and comfortable room, excellent service even at very busy times, friendly, cheerful, attentive but not intrusive staff, excellent food and good value for money. The atmosphere is great and did I mention the food?
They have got everything right to produce a superb experience -just don't book my room!

Room Tip: We prefer the courtyard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Redesdale Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redesdale Arms Hotel

Address: High Street | Cotswolds, Moreton-in-Marsh GL560AW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Redesdale Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 32 en-suite rooms including recently renovated Double and Twin rooms in the main buildings first floor/ground floor of annex to rear of hotel and purpose built executive rooms including stunning four poster room and wheelchair friendly accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Redesdale Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redesdale Arms Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redesdale Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.