We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Manor House Hotel to your Saves list
The Manor House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High St, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0LJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My fiancee and I just spent the most wonderful weekend at the Manor House Hotel, that I have written my first ever TripAdvisor review!

We stayed in the cottage, which was superb. Afternoon tea on arrival, cocktails and canapes in the early evening, a dip in the hot tub, and the most fabulous 8-course tasting menu (plus a few "extras", we could barely finish). All washed down with some excellent wine, as recommended by the team.

All the staff were excellent, including the restaurant manager who was informative and took the time to really answer any questions on the food and the cheese, and clearly knows his stuff. Both he and the hotel GM were putting in a full shift in the restaurant all evening and were excellent, as were all the staff (special mention to Sandor who was charm itself).

A great night's sleep in the enormous bed, and then a first class breakfast.

Nothing was too much trouble, everything was excellent, and we will definitely, definitely be back.

Not the cheapest weekend, but certainly we didn't feel as though we had overpaid. A special occassion was made even better. Thank you to everyone!

Room Tip: The cottage was superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManorHouseManager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Wow - thank you for your kind review and what a review to start your Trip Advisor profile with!

We are all pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and I agree, the Apple Cottage is superb!

Glad you enjoyed the tasting menu and wine flight so much and I did say that the cheese board was worth saving some room for!

Hope that before you visit us next time you will have been able to find some more Lebanese wine that we introduced you to!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    183
    42
    28
    12
See reviews for
70
394
7
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel on the high street in Moreton, we recently attended a function there and had the most lovely time. The place is spotless and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. The gardens are absolutely beautiful, almost magical. Unfortunately, we didn't stay overnight but would consider it for the future for a special occasion etc.

Drinks are a little on the pricey side, but buffet food was excellent and went down well with the other guests too

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManorHouseManager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent experience with us here at The Manor.

Lisa and her Banqueting team work hard to ensure that we offer the same level of high service and food standards to our banqueting and wedding guests as to our leisure guests who dine in the main restaurant and brasserie. This is something that I feel is often neglected in hotels and so I am very pleased to hear that we have got things right!

The gardens are getting better year by year but you wouldnt believe that the majority was planted only six years ago!

We look forward to welcoming you back and perhaps you will be able to stay with us next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Realy nice old building, room was to a good standard and reception staff were helpfull and friendly.
Issues I had were ;- The shower leaked from the hose so when you turned it on from outside the bath it sprayed water on to me and the floor, I rectified and informed the staff. Room 18 was quite noisy with what sounded like compressors going all the time, made worse by it being hot so I had the window open. Only 1 real ale available at the bar and my steak was way over cooked but I had to ask three waiters before anything was done about it by which time the rest of my party had finished. Following morning breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Room 18 was up quite a lot of stairs and was noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManorHouseManager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your review and indeed bringing one or two issues to our attention.

I believe the issue with the shower hose was rectified there and then but I was sorry to hear of your comments on the room being noisy.

An overcooked steak is disappointing to hear about but ultimately I am pleased that we got it replaced for you and presumably this was enjoyed.

I am a firm believer that despite our best efforts, every now and again mistakes do happen however it is how these mistakes are corrected and dealt with which is the sign of good customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is one of the loveliest country hotels we have stayed in. The rooms are so quaint and beautifully decorated in a rustic country style, with incredible attention to detail. And the Molten Brown products in the bathroom are pure luxury. The stairs are steep and narrow, with corridors twisting and turning as you find your way to the rooms - maybe not suitable for people with physical impairments - but its adds to the overall sense of visiting an old English hotel. Check out the 'Counting sheep' do not disturb signs.
The gardens were bathed in sunshine when we arrived, highlighting their splendour. You must visit the hidden garden at the rear of the property.
The staff were pleasant, helpful and accommodating. We were a little concerned when reserving that there was a wedding at the hotel that weekend, but we were not at all inconvenienced by it.
Breakfast was excellent, with a good selection of locally sourced ingredients. Service in the restaurant and bar was very good.
The location is perfect for exploring the local Cotswolds countryside and the staff helped us by providing details of walks in the countryside, most of which pass by local pubs!
My only negative observation is the car park is covered with gravel making it a little difficult to roll suitcases. But it is easy to pull up at the front of the hotel and drop your cases, before proceeding to the car park.

Room Tip: Both of our rooms were beautiful. However, if there is a wedding at the hotel, ask for a room facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemingford Abbots, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We have just returned from a great weekend at the hotel. We have stayed many times before and it just gets better. We had two excellent meals one in the Mulberry restaurant and the other in the Brassiere. The staff were attentive and knowlegable, particularly Sandor who took us through our taster menu and wine flight with enthusiasm and clarity.

Our room was tastfully decorated and well maintained and we slept very well. The gardens and grounds are beautiful.

We will continue to visit the Manor House, keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManorHouseManager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and the team will be delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us so much and on so many occassions!

It is also good to hear that the guests experience continues to get better and better as we strive to improve our levels of service and product daily.

Your mention of Sandor is certainly good recognition of his hard work and care looking after guests and he will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and looking after you both once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We looked for a lunch location where we could take our little dog Kai with us, he comes along every year as he is Mum's companion and she will not leave him at home. We first sat in a quiet corner but were advised that dogs were only allowed in the Lounge or Library. We moved to the lovely library. We had a great sandwich lunch, the food was fresh with lots of flavours and a reasonable price. We will all be back to try their afternoon tea. Staff very welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManorHouseManager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am glad to hear that we were able to accommodate you all in the Library. It really is a lovely setting in there with the log fires both in the winter and summer.

Pleasing to hear that you enjoyed the quality of the sandwiches on offer. We are just in the process of changing the menu so there will be some new items to try when you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has so much going for it and clearly it has had a lot of renovations recently, but if I die and go to hell they'll give me a job here in their joyless restaurant. We were a party of six for dinner in Beagle's Brasserie. I'm not sure if it was necessary for the maitre d to roll his eyes when we hesitated over our order. Another eye roll from the waitress the following morning at breakfast and we were left in no doubt about the inconvenience we posed: she sighed and spoke to us very very slowly. It was so rude it was almost refreshing - I haven't been treated like that since kindergarten. As we left, a young waiter (one of the few who had actually been pleasant to us) was being loudly reprimanded by middle management for laying the table with the wrong cutlery. I think he's already in hell.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManorHouseManager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your review albeit rather suprisingly titled.

I am sorry to hear if several members of staff imparted a bad impression on you during your time with us. I am very suprised to hear of this and apologise profusely if this was the case.

Clearly I cannot really comment on the specifics of those situations but I would like to re-assure you of our commitment to customer service across the hotel by pointing out that the attitude of the staff including 'Middle Management' is one of the things that is most frequently praised in guests feedback.

I do hope that the food and other aspects of your stay were to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel

Address: High St, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel Moreton In Marsh
The Manor House Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.