We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Manor House Hotel to your Saves list
The Manor House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High St, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0LJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
winteringham
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at the Manor for my wifes birthday, a lovely grand old building, very tastefully decorated. Reception was easy and a pleasant experience with very friendly staff, we had room 11 which overlooks the road and is subject to a little noise, the room itself was very clean with a comfortable bed for restful nights sleep.
Breakfast was very impressive with a wide range of well presented and tasty choices most locally sourced, again with friendly efficient staff, would highly recommend. Convenient for the Cotswolds with easy parking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    169
    38
    28
    12
See reviews for
60
371
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

A great experience. Friendly, professional, efficient staff throughout our stay. Although not huge (we had a standard double) the room was big enough very tastefully decorated (think country house) with good quality bed and soft furnishings a bit of panelling; with high quality bathroom and lots of good quality touches and attention to detail (big bottles of Molton Brown products in bathroom, decent coffee, fresh milk, alarm clock with right time etc.).

We stayed in a room on the main street side but there was no real noise (the hotel is towards the end of the main street and set back well from the road). There has obviously been a lot of money invested in the hotel and the standard is being maintained. The public rooms are all of high quality, original and blend a bit of modern in with it's ancient exterior. It has a lovely warm conservatory looking out on the gardens, which are beautiful and there was a huge secure car park with plenty of parking.

Food for dinner was exquisite, and breakfast was high quality and freshly cooked to order, again with high quality ingredients, lots of choice and even fresh honeycomb - fab on porridge.

This was a really lovely stay - the hotel was well maintained, tastefully decorated , food was very good and staff were friendly to a person, will stay again now we have discovered it.

Room Tip: Rooms facing gardens will be marginally quieter, but don't worry if not, the view is just a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

You could not find a better hotel to stay for a Romantic Weekend. The hotels rooms are very comfortable, clean and beautifully furnished. You every needs can be catered for you only have to ask the girls on Reception and they will try to do it for you .
I can,t praise this beautiful old hotel highly enough.
Keep up the very good work

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Britain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a typically British hotel with bags of character then here it is. The staff are so welcoming and helpful. We ate in the brasserie on two consecutive evenings and we were both delighted with the food. A special mention must go to the breakfasts on offer. The eggs benedict is fantastic, as is the smoked salmon choice. We chose a superior room for our three night stay which was perfect, though it has to be said the bathroom size was slightly disappointing. For anyone not familiar with the Cotswolds please do not miss a visit to Burford and also the village of Broadway which is stunning.
We cannot wait to revisit both the area and more so Manor House.
Thanks for an excellent stay. 10/10

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

stayed here for a few days break for my birthday. It is nicely decorated with two open fires one in the lounge one in the library. Room was small but with everything required. All the staff in the hotel are accomodating & friendly. Breakfast was good with a fair selection of choices. Drinks in the bar a little over the odds (over £7 for a large glass of wine). Only a couple of minor points stopped this from being an excellent stay; the hotel welcomes dogs but its a little disappointing on arrival to be told the dogs arent allowed in the bar area. Also the shower isnt very powerful & the bathroom is very small (although does contain nice toiletries). the stand outs are the service & the welcome you get. The area is a lovely village, further enhanced by a little snow during our stay. Overall we were happy & would recommend others to stay here, however would say that £100 per night a little bit on the high side when staying in a smaller room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich Cheshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for my wife's birthday, having had a simply excellent bar meal previously when passing through. The hotel was very nice with a good ambiance and nice furnishings, surroundings etc.,
The staff were invariably polite and attentive, and the food was excellent too (We ate in the reasonably-priced Basserie rather than the £40 a head restaurant). Breakfast was also good, with a good choice, and small, but adequate buffet.
Like other reviewers, though, we were disappointed a little by the room. It was clean and very nicely-decorated, and everything worked (if I was being churlish, the water was literally blistering-hot, but that's easy to accommodate.)
What we couldn't really relax with was the size of the room. Being in the roof, it had a 45degree slope on the ceiling which literally cut the room in half, and it was impossible to stand by the side of the bed. Despite the "mind your head" sign, I rapped my head on the beams at least three times before aversion-therapy set in. On the other side of the bed was the wardrobe, so between this and the sloping ceiling, I reckon the room had an effective width of seven or eight feet. It was just too claustrophobic.
I hear the management's comments about the quirky, old building, but at £100 on offer for bed and breakfast, this is not a cheap hotel, and the room was not consistent with the price. The last 4-start hotel I stayed in in Cheshire gave me a suite for the same price, and threw in a bottle of wine. I think that if rooms have restrictions, they should either be publicised at the tIme of booking or discounted, not explained-away afterwards. It was the feeling that we'd been allocated an inferior room at regular price that was most irritating.
Having said all that, the hotel has an awful lot to commend it, and I would say don't let this review put you off staying, just be aware of the room you're booking. To the management, I'd say well done for your reasoned replies to some over-harsh reviews, but I think you need to be a bit more upfront at the time of booking, or offer a reduction on what really isn't an acceptable size for the prices you charge.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed in the Manor House December 2012 for the Christmas package. We arrived Christmas Eve in the afternoon. All the staff were amazing we received the warmest of welcomes from the minute we arrived. The reception staff were very courtious and knowledgeable the check in was fast and your cases were carried up to your room. The room was compact but very well decorated and comfortable. The bathroom was modern with Molton Brown shower gels and creams for your use during your stay. They had very good tea/coffee making facilities. I can only drink de-caffineated coffee and that was bought up to the room every night. The food was excellent and very varied. They had a good stocked bar with delicious cocktails. The bar and restaurant manager I think his name is Chris was outstanding nothing was to much trouble, as were all the staff, they made you feel so welcome. The package was very well thought out the only thing was the Christmas Day lunch could, for me, been a little more traditional. on boxing day there was a dinner and dance! The food again was excellent. It was a black tie do, and every one got dressed up, the evening after dinner was very disappointing the group and singer were quite awful there was no variation in the songs at all. We were both looking forward to dancing the night away! Alot of people went to bed, us included. All in all the stay was very good the staff , food, room and hotel were excellent. We love the Cotswolds and have stayed in the Coswold group of hotels on a few occasions and we would recommend The Manor House to anyone. If we stay again at Christmas perhaps they could change the group!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel

Address: High St, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel Moreton In Marsh
The Manor House Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.