We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not so good the second time around” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Oddfellows Arms Pub

Oddfellows Arms Pub
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cirencester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oddfellows Arms Pub
Save
You added Oddfellows Arms Pub to your Saves list
Chester Street, Cirencester GL7 1HF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 26 Cirencester B&B and Inns
swindon
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“not so good the second time around”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

I had the rump steak £13 my wife had pan fried chicken with leeks £9. I asked for a "medium " steak , but it came rare ,and it was very tough .The salad garnish was very limp not very appetising at all,not like the first meal we had a couple of weeks ago.Very dissapointed I thought I had found a real little "good food pub" only to be let down badly.This is the problem with many pubs and restaurants no consistancy in food served.Oh well we will have to try another pub etc, it gives me something to do!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

We went into Oddfellows after leaving The Talbot bar (Don't go there, it's shocking!) and where greeted by a very friendly bar lady, we stayed for a few drinks and soon got talking to the local ciren punters and had cracking night. Even if it was St George's day!! ;)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

We have stayed at the Oddfellows on several occaissions and are determined to stay many more. Robert, Elizabeth and the great bar staff extend a warm welcome as soon as you step foot in the door,making you feel like a local, The bar is cosy, real fire and has a good selection of real ales and decent wine by the glass. The food, both at lunch and dinner is freshly cooked, the portions being enormous. Rooms are warm . cosy, comfy beds and the breakfast superb. A real gem, short walk from the town centre, parking available in the street. Would highly reccomend!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2008

Stayed here for a night in April. Really friendly, good food, great atmosphere, nice room, reasonably priced. Would love it as our local.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2007

I've been to England for the first time and already have great memories!!!. Very warm welcome from new landlords of the pub, Elisabeth and Robert. It's a place you can wine and dine, un-wind, meet great people. Wide choice of beers, delicious food, good value for money, bedrooms very clean, close to town centre. Everyone should go there!!!
Sylwia, Ireland

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charente
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2007

We stayed here on September 29th with two french friends who had never been to England before and were just starting their visit. The pub has new landlords - Robert and Elizabeth - and they could not have made us more welcome. The bedrooms are spotless - and at £60 per room per night including the most amazing breakfast (full English), - we found this excellent value.

The pub is small and friendly and it serves as well as very good beer, a really interesting range of meals at reasonable prices. Our french friends were very impressed with the steaks they ordered, which were cooked to perfection for them. Only about 5 minutes walk from the centre of Cirencester - a lovely Cotswold town.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oddfellows Arms Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oddfellows Arms Pub

Address: Chester Street, Cirencester GL7 1HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cirencester
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Cirencester
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oddfellows Arms Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.