We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunday lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Corinium Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Corinium Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Gloucester Street, Cirencester GL7 2DG, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cirencester
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

On the Sunday before Christmas a large, family group met at the Corinium for Sunday lunch. The menu offered the choice of some nice starters, three different roasts as well as vegetarian options and tasty deserts.

The place was very busy but service was excellent. We didn't have to wait long for our order to be taken. Starters arrived with 10 minutes. Then a nice gap before main.

For me the big let down with SUnday lunches in hotels and restaurants are the vegetables Not here, They were perfectly and freshly cooked.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Waller, Owner at Corinium Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and we were very pleased to read that you enjoyed our popular Sunday lunch. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Regards, Tim Waller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    73
    21
    12
    5
See reviews for
23
74
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Corinium is our local restaurant and bar. We often pop in on a Saturday night for either a meal and drinks or just drinks. In the summer it's lovely to sit in the garden. In the winter they have the cosy fire going in the bar and the restaurant is lovely too. We've eaten here as a couple and a big group of 14+ and every time we are well looked after and the staff are always polite and attentive. It's a lovely little place with ample parking which is great.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Waller, Owner at Corinium Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Many thanks for your review. It's always great for everyone here to receive positive feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards, Tim Waller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I stayed here for a Christmas party in Cirencester on Friday, having not stayed here for a few years. It was great value for money when you consider the competition in Cirencester. A huge plus for the hotel is that it has ample parking, unlike many of its Ciren town centre rivals. The public area is warm, clean and welcoming.

I had a single room on the first floor. It was of adequate size, clean and warm. The en suite was again of a good standard. There are a few signs of wear, and things finished with a slight lack of attention to detail, but perfectly fine for the £55 paid. The only real down point was the wall between the rooms appear to be wafer thin, and i heard every snore, cough and worse coming from next door.

I'd highly recommend this hotel though, warm, friendly and excellent value for its proximity to Cirencester town centre.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Waller, Owner at Corinium Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Many thanks for your review and we were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, despite the noisy neighbour!
I hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Regards, Tim Waller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We liked this hotel. OK our room was a bit shabby but a good size and clean. There is a good sized car park right behind the hotel. The bar area is pleasant and comfortable and they stock well kept cask beers. The food was fine, in particular the breakfast. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We will return.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Waller, Owner at Corinium Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Many thanks for your review and we were very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, despite your slight disappointment with the room. Although we have already refurbished a number of rooms this year, we are gradually introducing a new stylish look over the winter into the remainder, so this will have been rectified by the time of your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back.
With kind regards, Tim Waller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

It's been about 18 months since our last stay at the Corinium and it's nice to see that it's as good as ever. In fact, this time was even better as we had a four-poster bedroom which was very clean, quiet and comfortable

This welcoming, cosy hotel is well-placed for the town, has very friendly staff and does a great breakfast. What more could you want? Maybe a good-sized car park? It's got one of those too!

Will definitely return. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Waller, Owner at Corinium Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Many thanks for your review. It is always very rewarding and satisfying for my team here to receive such positive feedback. Hope we can look forward to welcoming you back a fourth time in the near future. Kind regards, Tim Waller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed here with my partner who was on works business. The hotel has a good sized car park and a nice looking garden area (although we didn't get to use it as it was a bit too cold and rainy!). All the staff were friendly and helpful. The bar area was cosy with open fires which would be nice in winter, drinks reasonably priced too. Our room (number 3 I think) was on the first floor and was very 'olde worlde' but nice! The bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was...well, just a bathroom! Bath, shower, sink and loo. Maybe the shower could do with being a bit more powerful but that would be my only 'complaint' as such. Breakfast was cooked to order and was very tasty. There was also cereals, fruit and yoghurts to choose from, fruit juices and toast, tea and coffee. The hotel is also in a great location for the town, a quick 5 minute walk up the road where there's plenty of little shops, cafes and restaurants. All in all, I'd be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Waller, Owner at Corinium Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Many thanks for your review and we were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Regards, Tim Waller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Visited this place for Afternoon tea after attending a Thanksgiving service at St. Peters Church for the life of my cousin who previously lived in Cirencester for a number of years. Car park at the rear of the Hotel is reasonable for spaces. A stone path leads up to the rear enterance, where a small desk is situated inside and a lady greeted us. The afternoon tea was for all who went to the service and we were offered tea or coffee, followed by an assortment of sandwiches and cakes. All the sandwiches had their crusts off and shaped triangular with a generous filling. Egg and Cress, Salmon, Cheese and Onion, Tuna to name a few. Fruit cake was delightful and not heavy at all. Also Different sponge cakes cut into small wedge shapes very pretty. Most people preferred to stand but there were ample tables and chairs to sit if you wished, but they were in straight lines and a bit on the large size, smaller tables would have been better, so not to cause congestion for those standing chatting and those who wanted to get to the food. The toilets were further into the hotel the ladies were clean and tidy, two fairly cramped toilets, good washing area, choice of soap and lotion and either paper towels or hand dryer ( a good one that dried your hands quickly). If you would like to organise your own afternoon tea for friends and family or just a few friends I'm sure they would be most helpful. The staff who served the tea and coffee were helpful and even came around us offering refills of tea and coffee. Don't know the price of an event like this but I'm sure it was reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Waller, Owner at Corinium Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel and the afternoon tea. This was of course a private reception and the table layout was specified by the family.
Regards, Tim Waller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Corinium Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinium Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 12 Gloucester Street, Cirencester GL7 2DG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cirencester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cirencester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Corinium Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful grade 2 listed privately-owned Hotel enjoys a quiet location, yet it is only a convenient five minutes walk to the town centre.Built in the 16th Century, the Corinium provides fifteen character bedrooms with every modern facility, a locally renowned Restaurant offering both modern British and European dishes and a cosy well-stocked bar that are all full of Cotswold charm. Whether visiting for business or leisure, you can always be assured of receiving a warm welcome and attentive friendly service.The Corinium also has the benefit of an attractive secluded garden and ample free car parking. It makes an ideal base for touring the beautiful Cotswolds region and is easily accessible from both M4 and M5 motorways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Corinium Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinium Hotel And Restaurant
Corinium Hotel Cirencester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corinium Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.