We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Corinium Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Corinium Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Gloucester Street, Cirencester GL7 2DG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cirencester
Poole
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A very good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect, as it's within easy reach of the town centre. There is also ample parking, which is useful. Our room was spacious, if a little dark - it could do with a central light fitting, really. We mentioned to the manager that the bathroom door didn't close properly, and were thanked for the report. I trust that this will be looked at. The bed was comfortable and the room quiet.
Breakfast was lovely and the dinner we had in the restaurant was also good.
The young waiter at breakfast was particularly friendly and helpful and I hope he is appreciated by the management as much as he was by us!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Waller, Owner at Corinium Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Many thanks for staying with us and posting your review. I was very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and Ashley is certainly a valued member of our small team.
We hope to welcome you back again to the Corinium.
Regards
Tim Waller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    68
    19
    12
    5
See reviews for
23
70
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The location is as described; just five minutes stroll into town (an excellent town by the way) with free parking. Staff were welcoming and helpful from the outset. We were well impressed with the speed and the manner in which a minor glitch was sorted. The bar and restaurant is welcoming and characterful with a couple of quality draught beers available in a wide choice. The food was good at breakfast and in the evening. Rooms are comfortable and well appointed. We found the occasional negative comment in previous reviews (steepness of stairs, creaky floorboards) to be disappointing; as the proprietor writes in one of his proportionate responses, it is an old building. If folk want blandness there are plenty of chain hotels to choose from. We would have no hesitation in returning if the opportunity arose, and we would probably go out of our way to do so.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Waller, Owner at Corinium Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Many thanks for your review and I was very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Its always much appreciated by everyone here to receive positive comments and constructive ones as well. Hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Tim Waller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I liked the friendly Staff & Good Breakfast. Ample Parking and handy Town Centre Location. Affordable

Creaky old building, dated room fittings. Room was above the bar - avoid 11 & 12.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Waller, Owner at Corinium Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Many thanks for your review and whilst I was pleased to read that you were happy with the service and breakfast quality, I am sorry that you were disappointed with the noise in your bedroom, the creaky floorboards and dated fittings.

As highlighted on previous review responses and our own website, we do have a couple of bedrooms (11 & 12 as you rightly indicate) that are located over the bar, although it's usually closed by 11.30pm. However, the remaining thirteen bedrooms are all quietly situated. Given the age of the building, it is somewhat difficult to completely remove a few creaky floorboards and indeed we find it actually adds a degree of character for most of our guests.

I do hope it will not deter you from staying with us again if you decide to revisit Cirencester and please contact me personally so I can arrange a quieter room for you.

Kind regards
Tim Waller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Visited this hotel recently for a weekend stay with my husband. We were pleased with the central location of this hotel which also has its own parking with plenty of spaces, which was a plus.
The hotel has a comfortable feeling about it with the friendly staff giving just the right amount of service. The rooms are quite tiny, but lend to the cosy atmosphere, the hotel is over 400 years old so the size of the rooms are in keeping with the building. Our room was in the attic which was very quirky and had a really comfortable bed.
The bar is really lovely, warm and welcoming with residents and locals using it, but not at all rowdy. Breakfast is good, its a buffet style and there was plenty to eat. Can't review the restaurant for dinner because we didn't eat here, too much choice in Cirencester itself. We ate just down the road in a restaurant called Graze, great menu and food. Our second night we ate at The Sultan which is an Indian restaurant again with fantastic food and service.
We had a lovely time in Cirencester and would come again and definitely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Waller, Owner at Corinium Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your review on the hotel and we were very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you rightly mention some of our rooms are on the smaller size due to the age of the building, but we do have some larger ones as well, so do please ask for one of these the next time you come to stay.

Many thanks again and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Tim Waller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has such a lovely atmosphere. The small bar area and restaurant had a relaxed feel. The service was excellent. I would love to stay here again.
There is plenty of parking space and you are in a central location. The food was very good along with a good wine selection.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Waller, Owner at Corinium Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments and taking the time to write about the Corinium. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we can welcome you back again in the future.

Many thanks again and kind regards
Tim Waller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambs
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over a Friday and Saturday night, and overall it was a nice stay. The staff were all excellent and the hotel itself is decent, with a bar that has real ale. A rarity in any hotel. The only letdown was the 'bathroom' in our room. Saying it was tiny would be generous. Don't bother taking a cat as you certainly couldn't swing it in there. Shame really as rest of stay was fine.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Waller, Owner at Corinium Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay here and many thanks for posting your review. Sorry to hear though about your bathroom being too small for you. Unfortunately due to our grade 2 listing and age of the building we do have a couple of rooms with smaller bathrooms that we cannot enlarge. However, the rest of our rooms have larger ones and we would have been happy to move you into one of these. Thanks again and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest regards
Tim Waller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westerham kent
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Two night stay with girlfriends. Rooms were clean and comfortable, varying in size and shape depending on which floor - four poster room was lovely. Good buffet breakfast just lacked fried eggs but I think you could ask for them. Very reasonably priced dinner in the restaurant one night. Excellent service. Cosy and friendly retreat in a town we found a tad snooty on the whole. Situated a short walk from centre of town with good parking.

Recommend a visit to the beautiful church.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim_Waller, Owner at Corinium Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
I was delighted to read your review and that you all enjoyed yourselves during your stay with us. Many thanks for the kind comments and we hope to welcome you back to the Corinium in the future.

Kind regards
Tim Waller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Corinium Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinium Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 12 Gloucester Street, Cirencester GL7 2DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cirencester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cirencester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Corinium Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful grade 2 listed privately-owned Hotel enjoys a quiet location, yet it is only a convenient five minutes walk to the town centre.Built in the 16th Century, the Corinium provides fifteen character bedrooms with every modern facility, a locally renowned Restaurant offering both modern British and European dishes and a cosy well-stocked bar that are all full of Cotswold charm. Whether visiting for business or leisure, you can always be assured of receiving a warm welcome and attentive friendly service.The Corinium also has the benefit of an attractive secluded garden and ample free car parking. It makes an ideal base for touring the beautiful Cotswolds region and is easily accessible from both M4 and M5 motorways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Corinium Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinium Hotel And Restaurant
Corinium Hotel Cirencester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corinium Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.