We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best croissants outside of France!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greensleeves Bed & Breakfast

Greensleeves Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cirencester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greensleeves Bed & Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Baunton Lane | Stratton, Cirencester GL7 2LN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Cirencester B&B and Inns
Glossop, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best croissants outside of France!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed overnight at the end of July whilst visiting family. Lovely room with views of garden and cornfield. Large bathroom with shower and toiletries! Toaster, microwave, fridge, and tea and coffee making facilities on the landing which we would have made use of if staying longer. We had opted for a continental breakfast since we were out to lunch, but what a breakfast! On offer was a variety of cereals, dishes of fruit including fresh pineapple, mango,melon, strawberries, blueberries. Then there were the biggest warm croissants and pain chocolat we have seen outside of France! Also on the table were jugs of fruit juice (freshly squeezed), yogurts, toast made from John's own recipe home made bread, a variety of other breads, jams and home made marmalade. A large pot of tea and carafe of coffee completed this feast! John made us feel very welcome and at home and nothing was too much trouble. We were sorry we couldn't stay longer!! Would definitely recommend Greensleeves and wouldn't hesitate to book again if we visit this area again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    7
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
28
10
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Haaltert, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed 5 weeks in the Greensleeves july-june 2013 when i was following a course at Cotswold airport.
Very quiet and beautifull neighbourhood. The room was very comfortable and clean with a large desk.
Felt like at home during those 5 weeks due to the very friendly owners.
Excellent breakfast with fresh fruit and homemade bread.
I will miss your breakfasts John :-)
Bram from Belgium

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week whilst on a course 20th June never thought a place away form home could be so peaceful plenty of room to study set I. Beautiful grounds and first class hosting buy john and his family will be going back !!!! Top class ......… dave from Bournemouth

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Greensleeves in early July 2013 for a 3 day/2 night mini Cotswolds break. Very surprised and impressed that John, the lovely owner/manager, offered to help us out by picking us up from Kemble station as we had come on public transport. As other reviewers have said, this B&B is in a lovely setting with nothing but fields behind it (currently!), so it is peaceful and has a beautiful, large, well tended garden. Access to the en-suite rooms are via a separate front door to the main house for added prvacy. Our bedroom and bathroom were immaculately clean, there was a lovely view from the window and the shower was great!

Again, as other reviewers have said, this B&B serves an exceptional continental breakfast. In a way they do themselves a disservice because they charge an extra £5 for a full English but - for me at least - the continental (for which John bakes his own bread) is far superior and a total treat. Particularly as it's free!

It is worth noting - particularly if you are on foot as we were - that this B&B is in a town/village called Stratton outside of Cirencester. There are (infrequent) buses, but we walked to and from which took a good 30-40 mins each way. It is not an unpleasant walk, though, and it is straightforward.

Definitely recommended - for the very reasonable rates, the excellent service and the lovely house and setting.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at Greensleeves for two nights to go to a wedding locally. We really enjoyed our stay. Our room was clean and very comfortable, the bathroom was large, with lashings of hot water. John made us very welcome, and the breakfast was excellent. All in all, very good value for money...we will have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed at Greensleeves for two nights during our mini break in the Cotswolds. John was there to meet us on our arrival and showed us to our room, even helping with our luggage. The room was very clean, comfortable and well furnished with a pleasant view over the garden and the fields beyond. The en suite bathroom was spacious and there was never any shortage of hot water.The mini kitchen on the landing, equipped with kettle, toaster, microwave and fridge, was an unusual feature, but a useful one for visitors on a budget. Breakfast was lovely: John provided a wide range of cereals and fresh fruits, including mango, pineapple and strawberries, along with juices, jams, spreads and home made marmalade. The bread basket held an interesting mixture of toast, croissants and pastries, while John's serving of scrambled eggs with smoked salmon was an awesome plateful. The location of Greensleeves is ideal: in a quiet road with easy access to Cirencester and beyond. John is knowledgeable about the local area and happy to suggest itineraries and places to visit. All in all, John provided a comfortable environment with a super breakfast at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed for three weeks whilst on a course for work. The quiet location was ideal for studying and use of communal fridge and microwave helped me cut costs on food whilst away. Great breakfast also.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
803John, Owner at Greensleeves Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hi Jason

Many thanks for your kind review. I hope the exam went well and you enjoyed the beer!!

Don't forget to tell your colleagues about us.

Best wishes,

John & Lorna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Greensleeves Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greensleeves Bed & Breakfast

Address: Baunton Lane | Stratton, Cirencester GL7 2LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Cotswolds > Cirencester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Cirencester
Hotel Class:4 star — Greensleeves Bed & Breakfast 4*

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greensleeves Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Greensleeves Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list