We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ivy House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cirencester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ivy House
Save
You added The Ivy House to your Saves list
2 Victoria Road, Cirencester GL7 1EN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Cirencester B&B and Inns
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Perfect location only 3 minute walk into the town centre. Lovely, helpful owners, nothing too much trouble. Spotlessly clean, warm, comfortable room. Super breakfast whether your taste is fresh berries and yoghurt, or muesli and cereals, or full English (or a bit of each). Excellent value for money. Nice pub/thai restaurant across the road.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
95
18
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Absolutely fantastic B&B, have put so many others I have stayed in to shame. My room was spotless on arrival and every day after that (despite my efforts to untidy it!), service was excellent and attention to detail was incredible. I was on a week long course and mentioned that I might have my girlfriend come and stay the Thursday. When I returned from the course Thursday evening there were extra towels and bottles of water already in the room. The breakfast is the best I've had, and the service was always welcoming, chatty and friendly. If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Cirencester; Look No Further.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Well, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I work in Ciren a lot & have stayed in moste BnB's at one time or another. The reviews don't lied, the rooms are spotless, the beds are comfortable, the linen clean & fresh & then there is the breakfast, what can I say you have to sample it for yourself, will be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawasaki, Japan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I wish I could write a review after actually staying there, but unfortunately I have to do it based on the fact that after one week and two e-mails with an inquiry about rates and availability, I still have not had a response, leading me to the conclusion that the owners are not interested in offering us accommodation and are not taking customer service very seriously.

Shame really, especially after I had chosen this establishment based on the excellent reviews I saw here. But it seems we won't get the opportunity to experience a stay there ourselves.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivyhousescouse, Owner at The Ivy House, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
We are sorry that this reviewer was not happy with the service he received from the ivy house. However, we can assure him that we take our customer service very seriously - it is at the heart of all we do.
We did reply to his enquiry - just prior to this complaint being posted - with an apology and an explanation for the delay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Run by a lovely couple where nothing is too much trouble. Cleanliness was beyond spotless. Lovely breakfast choices. The Ivy House is placed in a ideal location and I would highly recommend this guest house to all wishing to stay in Cirencester and the local area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This review is a little late as my husband and I stayed for 2 nights on November 30th. We were visiting the Christmas market which was it's first weekend in Cirencester. The Friday evening was also the Christmas light switch on. The whole weekend was just perfect! The lovely atmosphere, the weather, which was cold, frosty but dry and bright (very Christmassy! unlike all this dreary wet weather we are now experiencing!) The beautiful individual shops, traditional pubs and last but not least the fantastic bed and breakfast! There is nothing I can say that hasn't already been said about the B&B. Everything really was perfect and if we return to Cirencester we will definitely be staying at the Ivy House bed and breakfast!I It deserves to be number 1 Thank you to Paul and Sue for being the perfect hosts during our perfect weekend break!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saundersfoot
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed at this lovely B&B, for only one night unfortunately,as that was the only time we had spare, but what a comfortable, well situated place this is.
Lovely warm welcome on arrival, warm,comfortable,spotless, bright, cheerful room.
Breakfast was excellant, with choice of fruits, cereals, yogurts, cooked,or basically whatever you fancied.
The main shopping area of the town is only 5 mins walk at the most,and we really enjoyed looking round the delightful Christmas Market in the town.
We hope to return to the town and would certainly book a room at The Ivy House, when we do.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ivy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ivy House

Address: 2 Victoria Road, Cirencester GL7 1EN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cirencester
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Cirencester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ivy House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.