We went there because of the other reviews. We were the only people eating (on a Wednesday evening) and it felt like we needed to be quiet and not talk much!! The menu was very simple and it was cheap compared to other places. It's clearly run by a family, which we understand not having lots of waiters, etc. But the girl taking the orders didn't seem to have a clue about anything regarding the food or drinks. She asked someone else, who came and explained to us a bit. They were very friendly and tried to really please us, which we appreciated. The food seemed fresh, but it just felt like whoever cooked it didn't really know how to cook. Boiled peas, boiled green beans and (it seemed) hard fried piece of chicken. The gravy looked (and tasted) like some cheap granules thrown in hot water. If you like the taste of meat and vegetables as they are, this is exactly what you get, no seasoning at all. We understand their price isn't as high as other places, but they could do a bit better on cooking/presenting the food... we were disappointed. This visit helped us decide that we probably won't eat pub food any more, as we can cook much better and cheaper at home!!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
June 17, 2013
We are so sorry that we didn't come up to your expectations. We try to please most people but its hard to please every one. The girl working for us on this occasion has worked for us now for a year and does know the ropes but your order threw us a bit as we had never been asked for a chicken gravy meal with salad. My wife explained that its difficult to serve salad and you were happy to take the greens instead.. We do season a little, but also we provide condiments for people to season as they like. As for the gravy we make our own with stock and vegetable water and there are no granules in sight. Hope this clears up any doubts about our prepping and hope you will give us another chance to put things right if you visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
Yours sincerely Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.