We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stratton House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Stratton House Hotel to your Saves list
Stratton House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gloucester Road, Cirencester GL7 2LE, England (Formerly Best Western Stratton House Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Cirencester
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have just returned from a very well priced 2 night Travelzoo break at this hotel. Having read previous reviews I didn't have particularly high expectations so we were pleasantly surprised.
We stayed in room 9 with good garden views, it was spacious, clean and warm. There was a constant supply of hot water and the heating could be thermostatically controlled.
Yes I agree the interior of the buildings is dated but the cheerful, helpful and very polite staff go a long way to help one overlook this - giving guests a feeling of relaxed comfort opposed to flunkey's in overpriced establishments.
The food was delicious and we chose to eat at the hotel on the 2nd night as well having spent a particularly busy day sight seeing in the vicinity. I ordered a mushroom and leek risotto for the main - however when it came to my surprise it consisted mainly of squash and rice! A quiet word with the waitress ensured it was quickly removed and replaced with the most delicious dish containing the correct vegetables - my thanks to the chef for his troubles on a very difficult evening for the kitchen as they were awaiting a large coach party who had been badly delayed.
Hotel is well situated for visiting many locations in the Cotswolds and for the price we can't fault our stay and look forward to hearing more about the hotel once its renovations are complete.

Room Tip: Room 9, very spacious and can push 2 twin beds together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil H, General Manager at Stratton House Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Tripadvisor. Im pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards


Neil Heaven
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    46
    41
    15
    9
See reviews for
19
99
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have recently returned from a two day Travelzoo offer break. Unfortunately when we arrived there was no water! However the bar man gave us a complimentary bottle of water for the dog and a small glass of very chilled lager... We needed it because the weather was hot and we just took a pleasant walk into Cirencester as our room was not ready as we arrived at 11am.

We were then informed that the hotel had no gas as a mains pipe had been damaged. The poor man was getting so much grief off a few customers that was totally out of his control, however he answered all the questions and was calm throughout. My wife was not best pleased that she could not take a shower, but his charm and charisma wooed her over and we had an excellent meal in the well run restaurant.

On check out I asked to speak to the manager so we could give some feedback.. We waited 5 minutes but when he turned up it was actually the person we thought was the bar man. This hotel manager is a credit to the company and loves people, if the company could bottle what he has they will be the best hotel group in Europe.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil H, General Manager at Stratton House Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to welcome you to the hotel and again I apologise for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards

Neil Heaven
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Hotel was chosen because my seminar was based there was worried about negative views but everything was fine Staff pleasant and helpful food was good .
It is not a boutique hotel so don't expect that but the service was good rooms clean .
Short level walk into Cirencester would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil H, General Manager at Stratton House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay during your seminar, I hope you take the time to visit the hotel in the near future.

Regards

Neil Heaven
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just arrived back and had a wonderful 3 days , location very good for visiting farious locations in the cotswolds.This hotel was a good 3star the cleanliness and very friendly staff from when arrived to the day we left ,breakfast is buffet style and dinner in the evening i thought was reasonably priced .the only negative we found was the highly priced wine, beer and spirits average would we stay again definately.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil H, General Manager at Stratton House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor. I'm pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay and I look to welcome you back in the not to distant future.

Regards

Neil Heaven
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having known and used Stratton House Hotel For many years it was my first choice for a venue to take some friends and have a meal to celebrate my wife's birthday, we were not disappointed a good choice on the menu we each chose a different main course, and I even went off menu for my choice of sweet, the house wine according to the ladies was good and my pint of real ale went down a treat, being the driver it was coffee next served in the lounge, most welcome.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil H, General Manager at Stratton House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I will pass your kind comments onto the team and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Neil Heaven
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed early April. The building and grounds are lovely but the inner décor is very tired.
We stayed in room 4 which was stuck in the 70's . Carpet had not been cleaned, wallpaper peeling, didn't use the hairdryer as it had gone yellow with age, coffee tea ect. was not replenished. My wife returned to the room to get a coat and caught the young lad who was servicing the room rinsing the cups with his hands in the bathroom !!
Shower over the bath just ran down the wall , water temperature was never constant. Room had heating tuned off it was early April and still chilly.
This hotel needs a lot of money spent on it, which I guess this is why Best Western moved it on.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil H, General Manager at Stratton House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I have taken your points to the hotel management team and will address the points that you have raised. The hotel does have a refurbishment plan in operation but we have not got to all the standard rooms as of yet.

Regards

Neil Heaven
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently had a two night stay at this hotel. The staff were very pleasant and could not do enough for you. The bedroom was of a good size and clean and comfortable, food very good and a nice patio overlooking the gardens to sit with a drink or a book. The hotel,is only about a ten minute walk from Cirencester so that was an added bonus. We will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil H, General Manager at Stratton House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards

Neil Heaven
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stratton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratton House Hotel

Address: Gloucester Road, Cirencester GL7 2LE, England (Formerly Best Western Stratton House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cirencester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Cirencester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stratton House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Stratton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cirencester
Cirencester Best Western
Best Western Stratton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stratton House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.