We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stratton House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Stratton House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stratton House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gloucester Road, Cirencester GL7 2LE, England (Formerly Best Western Stratton House Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Cirencester
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed a couple of nights in this lovely hotel and were very well looked after. The Evening Meal was extremely good as were the Full English Breakfasts. Our room was a feature room with a four poster bed and very comfortable. The village of Stratton is pretty and within walking distance of Cirencester.

Room Tip: The feature rooms are worth the extra money as they are spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here last week end with many others from the MG club. I agree with many of these reviews that the whole place is in need of redecoration but on the plus side we had a nice room with comfy beds and the en suite facilities were ok. The only thing i would really complain about was the service in the restaurant on Saturday night. We were seated and given a menu and after 15 minutes i had to call a girl over to ask if we could place an order and have some drinks!!! After waiting over half an hour our food arrived and was very nice and the we had to ask again to see the dessert menu.... not much choice of food also. Breakfasts were very good and the breakfast staff were lovely and friendly. I would stay again but hope that by next year it is been refurbished:)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

stayed for 1 night recently .. should have stayed for more . From the moment we arrived until our departure , we were treated like returning guests/old friends. We were welcomed by Lesley ( the receptionist ) very warmly indeed .. nothing was to much trouble for her . We had booked a meal in the restaurant and were looked after by Ben and his team . The food was excellent and the service was second to none . This is a " proper " county " hotel and they do try to make you welcome and succeed ! Yes the rooms are a wee bit dated and its a bit of a warren run re rooms but I think that this just adds to the ambience of this hotel We would definitely stay here again .. we should have stayed longer !

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Uk
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stratton House is set in beautiful gardens just outside Cirencester. We were very happy with our upgraded room booked on a deal through Living Social. It was clean and spacious with everything we needed for a comfortable stay. We had dinner on tne first nignt included and the food was nicely presented with ample portions. We had after dinner coffee served in the lounge which I must say could do with some new chairs. Whilst not wanting to detract from the country house style the chairs did make it look like an old peopleshome. Nothing wrong with the flowery sofas though. They were comfortable and in keeping with the style of the hotel.

All the staff were friendly and helpful. We needed an early breakfast on the first morning and this was not a problem. We were able to help ourselves to delicious fresh croissants, bread, cereals and fruit which was more 4han enough for us. We has a more leisurly breakfast on the second morning which we ordered from the menu and was served to our table.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We went for an afternoon tea with glass of sparkling wine today (2 adult and one 7year old child) using a groupon voucher. Entrance of the hotel was not so welcoming despite having lovely mature trees in the car park. It's like a place long forgotten. And the foyer was underwhelming (with outdated decors). Reception area is a bit unusual, it's almost like in another room, and you have to walk in a small door. However, the staff in attendance was very helpful and friendly. As my voucher code is on my phone (and I had no 3g connection), she provided us with an access to the hotel's wifi without any hesitation.
We were sat in the lounge and it was very quiet, with a very soothing background music. There are some customers sat in the garden, so we had the whole lounge to ourselves.First thing that I have noticed are how outdated the decors and the carpet really is begging to be replaced. Although the sofa that we sat on, felt comfy, they have seen better days.

Despite all these flaws on the decor and furniture, the food (selection of finger sandwiches, cakes and scones) were absolutely brilliant! The time that we were served was also fantastic- did not wait that long. We chose to have a coffee instead of tea. And the coffee was just lovely. However, my only complaint is that was no option to make a choice of a cream or milk at all! We were just served with a milk (but that did not spoil my coffee though). If I had to pay for the full price, I will not feel cheated at all (unlike in some hotels that sandwich fillings tasted cheap and a rip off). Would definitely recommend the afternoon tea on this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at Stratton House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to us for afternoon tea.
We are delighted that the overall experience was a good one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed everything about it. Staff were very pleasant and helpful and our room was lovely.We were entitled to a free meal deal on our first night and it was so good we ate there on the second night too.
An added bonus was the excellent weather which enabled us to sit outside on the terrace with coffee and drinks til late in the evening.
We hope to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at Stratton House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. We have recently increased the size of our kitchen team and added some wow factor to the presentation.
We will look forward to you returning in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendover, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed in this hotel in May with several friends, we had a lovely weekend. The hotel was clean and comfortable, the food was very good, and the staff could not have been kinder or more helpful. It was our second stay here and there will be a third. Thank you, Stratton House!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, General Manager at Stratton House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for your kind comments, I will pass these on to the staff who will be happy to recieve the positive feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stratton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratton House Hotel

Address: Gloucester Road, Cirencester GL7 2LE, England (Formerly Best Western Stratton House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Cotswolds > Cirencester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Cirencester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stratton House Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Stratton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cirencester
Cirencester Best Western
Best Western Stratton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stratton House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.