We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fleece at Cirencester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Fleece at Cirencester to your Saves list
The Fleece at Cirencester
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Market Place | 41 Dyer Street, Cirencester GL7 2NZ, England (Formerly Jarvis Fleece Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cirencester
Monmouthshire
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“A pleasant experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

THE UPSIDE: We came here with friends for Sunday lunch. The first thing that hits you when you enter is the decor and atmosphere. This hotel/bar/restaurant has been recently refurbished and done very tastefully, giving it a modern atmosphere, but somehow retaining an air of homeliness. The staff are excellent. All very young, but very friendly, obliging and respectful. Whoever does their training deserves a pat on the back. The Sunday roast was excellent with the vegetables cooked almost to perfection and presented well. There was no packet food here, just good old local produce.

THE DOWNSIDE: But oh dear, the portion sizes involved. For me, this robbed my report of the full 5 pips it could so easily achieve. My starter was tiny although beautifully presented and again the roast could not be faulted for quality, but I came away hungary and for the price it was a disappointment. What a shame. No doubt, individuals with smaller appetites than mine would disagree with what I have just written, but then these are personal views.

WOULD I GO THERE AGAIN? You bet!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback and comments. I’m glad to hear you like the hotel, and were well looked after by the team here. The kitchen work hard to create great food every day, I was surprised to hear your comments regarding portion sizes, as they are usually very generous, I have shared your comments with our Head Chef – please let me know next time you are dining with us, so I can make sure we treat you to an extra few potatoes and slice of beef!
We look forward to welcoming you back for Sunday Lunch sometime soon.

Best regards,
Rebecca Smith, Manager at The Fleece and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    111
    41
    20
    17
See reviews for
64
171
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This renovated hotel is now superb, with very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms very comfortable and the food was excellent, although quite expensive. Biggest problem is Cirencester which is a nightmare one way system, so take a good sat nav.
Car parking restricted at back of hotel, but public paying car parks nearby. Once you are in, the atmosphere and ambience in this thwarted hotel is lovely. We shall definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a feature room, if possible, but standard rooms still good value. Roadside rooms not a probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
I was really pleased to read your comments and feedback, and glad you like the ‘new’ Fleece! Cirencester’s one way system can be a bit daunting, but the team are here to help, advise and direct where needed! The Feature Suites are great rooms, and come with a supplement of just £25 per night, which we believe is well worth it!
I hope we can welcome you back sometime soon.

Best regards,
Rebecca Smith, Manager at The Fleece and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Fleece is a great heritage building in the centre of Cirencester, it is well located for all activities in the town. A refurbishment of the interior had taken place, sterile in some parts and lacking a nod to the fine original features, but very comfortable. Parking is a big issue as the Hotel has very limited space, If you are lucky enough to get a space you will be charged per night for the pleasure.The service was great and the staff wonderful, always smiling even when dealing with obnoxious locals in the restaurant for their Christmas outing. The food in both the Bar and Restaurant was average but the setting especially in the back rooms was lovely. The noise and anti social behaviour at night can be a problem, drunks and possibly Cirencesters solo asian boy racer kept us up on a number of evenings with noise as the windows are paper thin. All in all this is a great place to stay with first class staff, just remember this is an Inn so expect all that comes with sleeping above a bar.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Many thanks for your comments and feedback and I’m glad you enjoyed your stay at The Fleece. Our parking spaces are limited, but we do also have parking permits for a public car park 2 minutes away, which are lent to guests once our spaces have been taken.
I hope we can welcome you back to Cirencester and The Fleece sometime soon.

Best regards,
Rebecca Smith, Manager at The Fleece and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a great place for a stop over - I usually stop there on business and the overall experience is a good one. Although the food is great, the atmosphere is very personal and like being at home and the staff always happy to help all of the rooms whilst being well decorated and nicely done out, some of them are not very comfy, either the bed is not very inviting or there is too much outside noise and on my last stay too much noise from a couple of other rooms.

That said overall, I love this place and would stay again and on my last stay Chrissy who checked me in, showed me my room and then made me welcome for breakfast deserves a pat on the back, she is a great ambassador for the hotel, thanks Chrissy.

Room Tip: Rooms 5 and 6 were very noisy from outside and in the rooms at the top of the first flight of stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback, and I’m really pleased The Fleece offers a home from home for you, the team all work really hard to make sure our guests are well looked after, and I have given Chrissy the pat on the back she definitely deserves!
I hope we can welcome you back to The Fleece soon.

Best regards,
Rebecca Smith, Manager at The Fleece and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auchterarder
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at The Fleece Christmas 2011 when plans were afoot to refurbish the Restaurant in 2012. It was with eager anticipation we returned again for two nights over Christmas only to find not only had the Hotel changed ownership during the year but the so called "Refurbishment" had totally trashed the place! Gone was the Reception desk, you now have to check in at the bar (once you have managed to find it). All the carpets have been ripped up in the lounge and bar area leaving it all floorboards, and every single possible bit of space has been crammed with table and chairs with the emphasis totally on serving food. The noise was horrendous from the amount of people crammed in and as a supposed guest at this Hotel there was absolutely nowhere for us to sit and enjoy a quiet drink.
We were shown to our room, the best in the house supposedly and we were regailed with the story that some King and his floosie had stayed in this actual room. Be warned.....if anyone shows you to Room 1 refuse it immediately. Yes it looks lovely and has been refurbished, which seems to translate these days to ripping up carpets and leaving just floor boards. But it is also directly over the Bar!! So no carpet....bare floor boards...the road outside and the bar below....all that and the people staying in the room above stumbling about the corridors at 3am and holding a party overhead....did we get any sleep....no we did not!! After complaining bitterly the next morning we were moved to another room, which whilst smaller was so much better and we managed to get some sleep. On check out we were offered a £12.00 reduction for the inconvenience....needless to say some discussion followed where upon it was reduced further. As I said previously the check-in/out is at the Bar so everyone can hear your conversation and if you have cause to complain then they will be party to that too. In fairness to the staff they were helpful when we complained and we were moved quickly. However we will not stay here again as there is no semblence of a Hotel atmosphere left....it is just a eating house with rooms now. Such a shame.

Room Tip: Do not under any circumstances stay in Room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your review – but I am sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your return visit to us.
The Fleece was acquired by Thwaites in January 2011 – it had been for sale for some time and needed a substantial reinvestment in the property to become a viable business.
Our plan was always to restore the coaching inn feel of the property and offer our guests home-cooked food, award-winning ales and cosy, comfortable guest rooms and I’m sorry if somewhere along the way you were led to believe that we would continue to be a 3 star hotel offering. We’ve received many accolades since the development, including a 5 star inn recognition from the AA and an award for our food too.
On a more positive note, I was pleased to read that the team had been helpful throughout and able to organise the room change your requested.

Kind regards,
Rebecca Smith - Manager and all the team The Fleece at Cirencester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My wife and I spent a lovely weekend in Cirencester in December 2012. Our decision to stay at The Fleece was inspired - must have been on the good stuff when we made the booking!
We arrived to be greeted by friendly and helpful staff. Our room was relatively small, but very clean and comfortable - as well as being set up to accommodate our four-legged friend who accompanied us for the break. In fact, the hotel was very dog friendly, something which we both greatly appreciated. We ate in the hotel bar both evenings and I have to say that the food was great - as were the cooked breakfasts in the morning. We can't recommend The Fleece highly enough and we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments and feedback, and I’m glad all three of you enjoyed your stay with us! We would have a hotel dog if we could, so I know the team love to ‘adopt’ guest’s pets during their stay and make them very welcome!
The kitchen work hard to create fantastic food, from breakfast through to dinner, so I was pleased to hear you were well looked after.
We look forward to welcoming you all back to The Fleece sometime soon.

Best regards,
Rebecca Smith, Manager at The Fleece and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Enjoyed a first rate Sunday lunch here today. Service was great, food delicious and the price is very reasonable. Lovely surroundings, clean and welcoming. Wouldn't hesitate. Have also enjoyed a work Christmas lunch here in recent months, again superb, staff make a real effort, seem genuinely happy to be working and very attentive but not overwhelming. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Rebecca Smith - Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
It’s great to hear you have enjoyed The Fleece over the past few months. Our Sunday Roasts are really popular, with Beef on the menu every week, along with another roast, and the team work hard to make sure everyone is looked after. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,
Rebecca Smith, Manager at The Fleece and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fleece at Cirencester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fleece at Cirencester

Address: Market Place | 41 Dyer Street, Cirencester GL7 2NZ, England (Formerly Jarvis Fleece Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cirencester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cirencester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fleece at Cirencester 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the busy market town of Cirencester, The Fleece is perfectly positioned to enjoy both town and country. However you spend your day, you'll be able to enjoy a relaxing night's sleep in our cosy and comfortable guest rooms. All 28 bedrooms are full of charm and character. Their decor and furnishings resemble a charming Cotswold style, yet the original, quirky features that you would expect a building from 1650 to have been maintained in our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Fleece at Cirencester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fleece At Cirencester Hotel Cirencester
Hotel Jarvis Fleece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fleece at Cirencester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.