We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only curry house we ever go to!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kashmir Restaurant

Kashmir Restaurant
1 Albion Street, Cheltenham GL52 2LH, England
01242 524288
Improve this listing
Ranked #120 of 325 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The only curry house we ever go to!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

There are very many curry houses in Cheltenham, but we always return to Kashmir because the food is tasty and good value, the staff are friendly and the service is excellent.

We have got to know the staff quite well now; we always have a chat if they have time to stop between serving customers.

I'm not very adventurous when it comes to spicy food, but they have recommended several dishes for me to try and I've always enjoyed everything that has been served. They also have a good drinks menu.

Why go anywhere else?!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    17
    4
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent curry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Visited this restaurant after being at the race track throughout the day. Excellent service and value for money, a very good curry

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So disappointing.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We live very close to the restaurant and the food was delivered cold. My partner's food was acceptable, but mine was totally inedible. The sauce was watery and had no flavour, with most of it appearing to be oil. Definitely the worst curry I've ever had, it was really disappointing as we thought we'd treat ourselves after moving to the area.
I'd have returned the food and complained if my partner hadn't wolfed his down before I had a chance!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We are regulars here for a very good reason - the food, service and atmosphere on every visit has been perfect in every way. Our most recent visit was late at night; we phoned ahead and the staff (who travel back to Birmingham each day) kindly agreed to remain open for our table of six. The service, even though it was late and they should have been closed, was unbeatable! We did not feel hurried at all, enjoying some banter with the waiters.

The food was its usual high standard, including the creamy butter chicken dish! Delicious naan's and some very large cobra beers made for a fantastic evening.

The bill arrives with some delicious dark chocolates and even that was a pleasant surprise - less than £20 a head for beer, poppadoms, a starter, a main, rice and naan bread!

Lovely staff, lovely food, what's not to love about the Kashmir?

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tasty and Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Really tasty top quality food, the friendly and helpfull staff travel all the way from Birmingham to cook quality Brum curry in Cheltenham so we don't have to travel! Other Indian restaurants come and go but this one has been running for over 20 years.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kashmir Restaurant also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to Kashmir Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kashmir Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.