We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the boys” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kashmir Restaurant

Kashmir Restaurant
1 Albion Street, Cheltenham GL52 2LH, England
01242 524288
Improve this listing
Ranked #100 of 345 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Love the boys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Whenever we can we visit, its friendly, Tasty and good for money. I had my husbands birthday there and they catered for 45 people with no trouble. We have been on our own and with the kids. Not the poshest but certainly the best.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    16
    3
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good food for a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

Had ordered chicken tandoori and the taste was good. Take away gets 10% off.. Would try few more dishes. The price is reasonable.

Its close to the town center. There are 3 hotels just at 100 ft waking distance and I feel this hotel has the best taste. The chicken was fresh. The hotel ambience is good. It has its own bar too.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“80 quid curry for 3 people”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Yes it does seem a bit steep doesn't it! Went there after the races with my bro and dad, 3 chicken tika starters, 1 vindeloo, 2 chicken bhuna's, 3 beers. So why such an expensive bill? Was not until the next day that we were all vomiting with food poisoning and gut wrenching pain.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Some folk are obviously making a point with their reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

I am so surprised by the span of scores. I have probably been to Kashmir 50 times over the last 8 years. It is always very good. It is not stylised like some much more expensive Chelt eateries and if that is what you want, don't go to Kashmir - but if you want a chat about the menu and some first rate breads / curries / sides then I can honestly say that the crappy reviews must be from Kashmir's competitors doing a bit of "sledging". Shane now sells Bangla lager, too.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Poor - milder curries are virtually spiceless”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Decor is dated, with cutlery and tablecloths obviously worn.

It seemed the medium to strong curries my friends had were ok, but for milder curries such as korma and masala, there should still be some mild spice coming through but my masala was basically tomato and cream. Meat pieces were too large to absorb any spices either.

The bread and sundries were better, however this did not make up for the overall poor quality.

The prices are low, but for the wrong reason - it seems price is everything here, at the expense of quality. Would not go again.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kashmir Restaurant also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to Kashmir Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kashmir Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.