We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic first visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monty's Brasserie

Monty's Brasserie
41 St Georges Road | The George Hotel, Cheltenham GL50 3DZ, England
+44 (0)1242 227678
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 362 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $19 - $62
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic first visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

5 of us went here to celebrate a birthday on a Saturday night and we had a fantastic time from start to finish. The staff were helpful, friendly and always on hand; the restaurant was busy so there was a good atmosphere and the food was incredible.

Between us we had 4 different starters and everyone was very happy: the shellfish sharing platter, the duck pancakes, mackerel BLT and the scallops.

The main courses looked beautiful and tasted even better. We had the lamb, the seabass, the monkfish and the pork. It was so good we didn't want it to end.

For dessert we had the sharing dessert platter and so we tried the panacotta, the chocolate ice cream, the pecan and honey tart, the chocolate fondant and the creme brulee; all of which was delicious, especially the chocolate fondant.

We then went downstairs to the cocktail bar to continue with the evening.

I was really impressed and would go again without hesitation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    101
    30
    20
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“"You cannot be serious"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

"You cannot be serious"

We went for Sunday lunch. Immediately on entry the restaurant felt like it needed a good clean and had a rather musty smell. The chairs needed replacing as all the stuffing had been squashed so they sagged in the middle.

The service was good, responsive and friendly but the food was a disappointment. The roast beef was tepid if not stone cold and tasteless.

Then came the "you cannot be serious moment" - our ice cream desserts consisted of three scoops that were not much more than teaspoon size garnished with over sweet sugar granules. In all about a single dessert spoon of ice cream for £5.

Extremely overpriced and under managed

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mj_shaw, Owner at Monty's Brasserie, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your visit to Monty’s for Sunday lunch. I was pleased to note that you found the service was good but was very surprised that you were disappointed with the food, especially the beef.

All the beef that we serve in Monty’s is an Aberdeen Angus and Gloucestershire cross, bred by a very reputable local supplier, one that we have been using for many years. The steaks we offer on the menu are also from the same breed and it is often said ‘they are the best in town’. I am sorry that you felt the beef was not hot enough and I have passed this comment on to the kitchen as well.

Our Sunday lunch is very popular and it is rare that we receive negative comments, obviously on this occasion we did not exceed or meet your expectations, for which I am very sorry.

With regards to the ice cream, I am sorry that you found the portion to be small and expensive - our ice creams are all home-made by our chefs. We do use the best local ingredients as well – the double cream is from a dairy in Tewkesbury where only milk from cows within a 30 mile radius are used; we use free range eggs, high quality chocolate and fresh fruit. The ice cream sits on the sugar granules to stop it slipping and the plate is ‘painted’ with fresh fruit puree and on this occasion it was mango.

I was disappointed to read your comments regarding the look and feel of the restaurant. It is cleaned every morning but I will certainly pass on your comments to the staff concerned. Monty’s celebrated its 10 year anniversary this week, something we are very proud of. Following your comments we checked the chairs and have removed a couple of uncomfortable ones, something we wouldn’t have known without your feedback.

If you are planning a return visit please contact me directly and I will make sure you have a memorable meal for all the right reasons.

Jeremy Shaw
Owner/Manager
The George Hotel & Monty's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Our favourite restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We have been going to Monty's now for a few years and we have never been disappointed. My husband has had the best steaks ever and won't have steak anywhere else!! The food is awesome, drink choice great and the staff very friendly and efficient. Plus, they do my favourite pudding of all time, Chocolate fondant :-D !!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Always terrific!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have never had a disappointing meal at Monty's, it has a lovely atmosphere, the service is excellent and the food is delicious. Recently went to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary and it was perfect as usual. The cocktails are definitely worth sampling too!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Exceptional in every way.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

As the brasserie only seats 40 people the atmosphere is convivial whilst the décor very contemporary. The food was exceptional with each course exceeding all expectations, a special mention has to be made for the scallop starter which was nothing short of genius.

The puddings would give Greg Wallace from Masterchef a coronary as he wouldn't know when to stop as they were all just mouth wateringly good.

The service never intruded on our celebrations and we just felt so relaxed and spoilt it was magical.

There's no wonder this brasserie has the reputation it does as it is well deserved and we can not wait to return.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monty's Brasserie also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to Monty's Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monty's Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.