We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surely a Michelin Star must await!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lumiere

Lumiere
Clarence Parade, Cheltenham GL50 3PA, England
01242 222200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 345 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Price range: $32 - $89
Cuisines: Seafood, Vegetarian, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Lumière is intimate fine dining restaurant set in the heart of beautiful, Regency Cheltenham. Run by Chef Jon Howe and his partner Helen. Lumière offers a short inspirational menu and friendly, informative service. Jon excels in being able to put a new and interesting twist on traditional dishes, the menus change frequently allowing Jon to make the most of the fresh produce available to him.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Surely a Michelin Star must await!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Wow!

A truly seamless and fantastic evening from the moment we stepped through the door. Staff were helpful, attentive and discreet, but at the same time clearly interested in their customers opinions - Bravo!

The food exceeded our expectations, it was not only beautifully presented, but it challenged your thinking and taste buds in achieving some fantastic and unusual combinations. The skill, inspiration and creativity of the Chef (Jon?) and kitchen team really come through in all the dishes.

I am sure that their passion and hard work will soon be deservedly rewarded with some higher accolades!

Thank you for a truly memorable evening.

We live a fair distance away, but we will certainly return and this time we look forward to a journey through the tasting menu and wines.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumiereCheltenham1, Owner at Lumiere, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes,
Jon, Helen and the team at Lumiére
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    36
    13
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Malden, Nederland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food for a special occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I went to Lumiere as a surprise for my partners birthday. We both really LOVE food, so I thought the perfect present. And it was! We were there for lunch and we had the 6 course tasting menu. It was incredible. Every dish was a surprise for us and every dish was sublime. The picture shows that every dish was a piece of art on the plate. The biggest surprise was the 3rd course, a tequila sorbet... Who would expect that, but it was great! Next to the food was the staff really friendly and pleasant. Lumiere is definitely a restaurant to go for special occasions. I'm 100% sure that we will go again to try the 9 course tasting menu!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumiereCheltenham1, Owner at Lumiere, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes,
Jon, Helen and the team at Lumiére
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham england
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“sublime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This was our first visit to Lumiere, we chose it for a celebratory meal for two.. It only took a few minutes sitting in the small, quietly elegant silver grey dining room to feel as if the rest of the world had floated away. We were spoilt with the lightest of amuse bouche to accompany our glasses of champagne, followed by a delicious assortment of home made bread to choose from and a pre meal custardy sweet corn veloute with tiny pieces of crispy panecetta at the bottom. We chose from the dinner menu, everything looked tempting so it was hard to focus. I had a beautifully marbled cotswold chicken terrine with girolles, watercress truffles and crayfish. It was a winning combination, amazingly fresh and beautifully herbed and seasoned. My main course was sea bream and samphire with tiny vegetables. We shared a gorgeous cheeseboard with accompaniments and then a peach melba desert. The wine list was impressive in terms of choice and cost and the wines we selected were superb. Our final coffees came with a variety of sweetmeats. Each course was served on a dish or bowl, of glass or pottery that displayed it to perfection. We loved the slate and wood on which butter, amuse bouches and sweetmeats appeared. This is a sublime restaurant where you feel cherished and served with quiet attention. It deserves at least one michelin star.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumiereCheltenham1, Owner at Lumiere, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes,
Jon, Helen and the team at Lumiére
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wow!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had the taster menu and flight of wine which was amazing. Every mouthful, I just savoured and the flavours were exquisite.

Attentive and friendly staff. Faultless evening

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumiereCheltenham1, Owner at Lumiere, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes,
Jon, Helen and the team at Lumiére
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“World class restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

To celebrate a birthday, a special restaurant was required. We sure did find one, Lumiere, Cheltenham. The staff were incredibly pleasant and welcoming. The menu was difficult to choose from as everything read so deliciously. Once we'd made our choice and we were served our food every course was both visually and tastefully presented as well as being mouth wateringly delicious. Even more exciting was the food that wasn't on the menu but came as a delightful suprise, wonderful in every way.

We've fond memories of previous visits from some time ago and we worried it might not be as good as we remembered. No need, it exceeded all expectatons. Beyond first class, thank you Lumiere!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumiereCheltenham1, Owner at Lumiere, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes,
Jon, Helen and the team at Lumiére
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lumiere also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to Lumiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lumiere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.