We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lumiere

Lumiere
Clarence Parade, Cheltenham GL50 3PA, England
01242 222200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 345 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Price range: $32 - $89
Cuisines: Seafood, Vegetarian, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Lumière is intimate fine dining restaurant set in the heart of beautiful, Regency Cheltenham. Run by Chef Jon Howe and his partner Helen. Lumière offers a short inspirational menu and friendly, informative service. Jon excels in being able to put a new and interesting twist on traditional dishes, the menus change frequently allowing Jon to make the most of the fresh produce available to him.
Shropshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had one of our best restaurant meals ever at Lumiere. Everything was faultless, from the exquisite dishes and superb wines, to the warm and professional service. It is understatedly sophisticated, without pretension, and is all the more enjoyable for that. Fantastic!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumiereCheltenham1, Owner at Lumiere, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes,
Jon, Helen and the team at Lumiére
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    36
    13
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Lumiere - A Culinary de Light”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We eventually got a booking here after many attempts and we had no regrets.
This restaurant is perfect for the special occasion with top class attentive service in a very relaxed athmosphere. All the courses were beautifully presented and were exquisitively tasty and yes they are small portions but were also supplemented with nice tasters inbetween.
The four of us enjoyed every element of the evening and I would highly recommend this excellent restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumiereCheltenham1, Owner at Lumiere, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes,
Jon, Helen and the team at Lumiére
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Still the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have been to this restaurant many times now and I can categorically say it is without doubt the best restaurant in Cheltenham. The food is sublime, the wine list wonderful and the staff are superb, you could not ask for a more attentive and professional service. Having tried many others we always come back here when it is a special occasion because it never disappoints, even with sky high expectations. Well done team Lumiere, and long may you continue to delight the diners of Cheltenham!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumiereCheltenham1, Owner at Lumiere, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes,
Jon, Helen and the team at Lumiére
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We went for a valentine's meal and it was wonderful. You do get your money's worth that's for sure! Variety of the menu is brilliant, and wine were beautiful.

I never eating SO much in quantity in one setting - I wish I knew it was 7 courses in total, then I'd have starved myself for couple of days before hand!

I can't wait to go back again.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumiereCheltenham1, Owner at Lumiere, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes,
Jon, Helen and the team at Lumiére
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcs
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Outstanding in every way.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

A superb place for any celebration and a chance to dress up. I was taken here by my husband for a romantic dinner on my birthday and the restaurant certainly lived up to expectations. I love surprises and throughout the evening little surprises kept popping up; a sorbet to cleanse the palette, a drink, sweeties!!! Décor is beautiful with interesting features and high end table linen etc. The food was exceptional and I liked to be able to see the chefs working at the end of the restaurant. Service was prompt but not intrusive. Number 1 in Cheltenham for me! Thanks you Lumiere! We'll be back for our next celebration- anniversary is in October.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumiereCheltenham1, Owner at Lumiere, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes,
Jon, Helen and the team at Lumiére
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lumiere also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to Lumiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lumiere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.