We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrogant and, well, nasty” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Le Champignon Sauvage

Le Champignon Sauvage
24 - 26 Suffolk Road, Cheltenham GL50 2AQ, England
(01242) 573449
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 325 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Chektenham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Arrogant and, well, nasty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We ate here a few months ago, and it was fine. No more than that. Overpriced, certainly, and not as good as it thinks it is. Strange dead atmosphere, chilling attitude from front of house wife and scared side kick.
Then thought we'd give it another go a few weeks ago. In we went and they said that they wouldn't serve us, because we hadn't booked. The place was at best a quarter full, grim diners eating dutifully in near silence. The phrase used was, "you can't just come in off the street."
The arrogance was quite shocking, no softening of their "principles," nothing along the lines of "I'm sorry, it must seem odd but ..." It was rude, humiliating and totally uncalled for. I mean this IS a business involving some interaction with The Public so basic pleasantness and manners would seem part of the deal.
We will never give this pompous vulgar little set up another thought. Purslane far superior. As are surprisingly maybe, some excellent, unpretentious places in Tewkesbury.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    69
    50
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Possibly the best meal I've ever had in the UK”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Having just days before been to Tom Kerridges's Hand and Flowers, I had expected this to be of a similar standard....How wrong I was! The Hand and Flowers was delicious, but this restaurant is in a class of its own. Both the food and service here were absolutely fantastic. I would highly recommend the taster menu, every single course was delicious. We also opted for the wine pairing which enhanced every dish - a superbly chosen mixture of wines. The attention to detail of the food, combined with the friendly and unpretentious service was really refreshing. Cost for experience, was great value. I would certainly recommend it to friends and family.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and service, Exemplary Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Possibly the best meal i Have ever eaten, been wanting to visit this restaurant for many a year and i was not disappointed everything perfect The service led by Helen was perfect, attentive yet not obtrusive and everything explained very well. the cooking of David Everitt-Matthias is Simply divine the flavours and combinations of everything from the Canapes to the petit fours was outstanding. Yes its expensive but then this is one of the best restaurants in Britain and you get what you pay for and in this case it was the best food ever. Highly recommended for that special occasion

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
294 helpful votes 294 helpful votes
“Faultless and exceptional value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Had a fantastic lunch here and thoroughly enjoyed it from start to finish. From the delicious amuse bouches and choice of breads to the coffee and 10 petit fours at the end it was faultless. Particular highlight was the butter poached lobster and the duck egg custard dessert. At £59 for 3 courses or the option of £32 for the lunchtime menu you cannot go wrong. Cannot wait to return!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Extremely good food. Only down side, lacked atmosphere. Very pleasant restaurant, friendly unobtrusive staff. Would highly recommend

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Champignon Sauvage also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to Le Champignon Sauvage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Champignon Sauvage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.