We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Cooking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Champignon Sauvage

Le Champignon Sauvage
24 - 26 Suffolk Road, Cheltenham GL50 2AQ, England
(01242) 573449
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 362 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Perfect Cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

We tried the set lunch on a Friday in November and were surprised to see how quiet it was - the quality of the food served to us demands a wider audience - it was faultless. They also had the best wine list we have seen in a long time - also offering superb value. Many wines under £30, unusual at a restaurant of this level. Great place - go there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    68
    50
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing value for such splendid cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The tasting menu (£85) and accompanying wine flight (£25) represent such remarkable value for such a culinary tour de force that one could be forgiven for thinking that there must be areas where the restaurant falls down. This is not the case: from the warm welcome to the unstuffy restaurant atmosphere everything here is a delight!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Formidable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

How many restaurants have you been where you can be sure the head chef will be at the stove wether it is lunch,dinner,wednesday or saturday?not many and this is one the many reasons why I Iove Le Champignon Sauvage.
My mother was visiting from France last month so i thought I would treat her to lunch,we were greated at the door and felt very welcome and at ease,unlike most Michelin starred restaurant I have been(a fair few)the restaurant is classy and very comfortable but not over the top,the waiting staff were attentive but not pushy or intrusive.
As for the foods,the restaurant smelled of freshly baked bread and it was!!beeing French this is a very important part of the meal and it definitly kept my mum happy.I had the "corned beef" starter and It was one of the best dish I have had in a long time,to follow with Venison with quinoa and wild garlic,strong,really good flavour combinasion.We didn"t have time to have deserts but the coffee came with an amzing selection of petit fours including nougat,dark chocolate truffle,brownie,white chocolate marzipan,mini rhum baba,pate de fruit.

We really enjoyed our lunch and can"t wait to come again,highly recommended!!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Does it again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We continue to be astonished at the excellent value of CS at lunchtime. Superbly imaginative food, with lots of delicious extras, beautifully presented in the newly designed dining room, and perfect service. it's a total delight, even when the bill arrives!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Exceptional food with a personal touch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

When so many Michelin starred restaurants feel starched and corporate, it's a delight to visit a restaurant of the calibre of Le Champignon Sauvage and feel you're walking into a family-run establishment where the owners are hands-on, dedicated and passionate. The entire experience, even making the booking (when i spoke to the chef directly, asked if they offered a tasting menu and he offered to make it specially for us if we could arrive at 12.30) was the definition of perfect service. Nothing was too much trouble and our every request was catered for in a relaxed and efficient manner.

The food was a revelation, the portions generous and the flavour combinations inspired. I congratulate the chef for making tiny witchhill potatoes and buffalo milk curd the focus of an immensely satisfying dish and, while the Scallops with Sesame Caramel was also superb, the pigeon breast with black pudding puree was probably the standout - and one of the best dishes I've ever eaten!

This place also has one of the finest, most sensibly priced wine lists that I have ever found, with many mature vintages of some very desirable wines, yet at a fraction of the price you'd find them in other great restaurants. Cheltenham is incredibly lucky to have this restaurant ... I just wish it was on my doorstep.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Champignon Sauvage also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to Le Champignon Sauvage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Champignon Sauvage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.