We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent independent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The George Hotel to your Saves list
The George Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St George's Road, Cheltenham GL50 3DZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent independent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed here one night with my partner whilst making a quick trip back home to visit family and friends. The service was faultlessly efficient and friendly, and our room (233) was very well-appointed. The bed was very comfy indeed and we appreciated the large bathroom with a beautiful freestanding bath and separate walk-in shower. After a very long working week in London we also very much appreciated the late check-out that was granted with no fuss and a big smile. Breakfast in Monty's was well worth getting up for; both the food and service excellent again. You can't really beat the the location either - a stone's throw from the town centre and the bars and eateries of Montpellier. I have eaten in Monty's before and it was our only regret we didn't have the time to do so on this occasion. Now the hotel have emailed me a voucher for a free room upgrade and a complimentary bottle of prosecco on booking with Monty's I have no hesitation in stating we will be back! Highly recommended, thanks to everyone at The George for a very pleasant overnight stay.

Room Tip: Room 233 is front-facing over the street and has nice views, as well as a large and very well-appoin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mj_shaw, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
I was delighted to read your kind and positive review and thank you for taking the time to post it.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future when you can make use of your voucher and complimentary bottle of Prosecco with dinner in Monty's Brasserie.

Kind regards
Jeremy Shaw
Owner
The George Hotel & Monty's Brasserie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    146
    34
    7
    2
See reviews for
23
227
11
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
essex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

I was really hoping for better considering we paid £125 for a junior suite, the room was just not clean enough and the 2 clean bit crumpled bathrobes in the bathroom just didn't give any feeling of luxury, that said the bathroom was the saving grace as it was big and well designed, but we didn't sleep in the bathroom!! I suggest the cleaning staff change the pillow protectors as they are due a wash.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mj_shaw, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, all your comments have been noted.
I was pleased that you liked the bathrooms but I was disappointed to read about some of the other issues that you mention. As with the majority of hotels, all our bed linen and bathrobes are hired and laundered by a local laundry company. Unfortunately, it seems on this occasion they didn’t return the best quality bathrobes that we normally have. Following your comments we will certainly be highlighting this issue with them.
Kind regards
Jeremy Shaw
Owner
The George Hotel & Monty's Brasserie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This hotel was chosen predominantly because of its central location which served its purpose in terms of going out to a nice restaurant etc. Service at the hotel was good, check in smooth, courteous staff bringing ice bucket up to room etc. The only disappointment was the size of the room - despite being in a deluxe room the room was much smaller than either of us had anticipated. This said it was still good quality as you would expect for the amount of money you are parting with to stay here. Sloping bathroom floor provided much entertainment and a bit of confusion that there wasn't actually a bag stand which seems standard even in Travelodge's these days.
Breakfast was good, although it was a busy Sunday morning so we had a bit of a wait to be seated and a bit of a wait for the food. Although, this is to be expected as every breakfast was cooked to order.
A lovely hotel in terms of style and location. However, would I stay here again? Probably not. I would choose to stay at the Thistle which is much cheaper, just as good quality and has bigger rooms. Yes you will end up paying for a taxi if you want to go to the centre of town (or bus) but you will feel less claustrophobic and overall still spend less money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mj_shaw, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, all your comments have been noted. As you mention the hotel enjoys a very enviable town centre location as we are only a two minute walk away from a great choice of shops, bars and restaurants, perfect for a weekend away. Once you have checked into the hotel you really don’t need to use the car or a taxi. Free parking is available for the duration of your stay. We also have Monty’s Brasserie and Cocktail Bar, one of Cheltenham’s most popular restaurants, which is another great reason to stay at the George. We like to take pride in the fact that we are the only remaining independent hotel in Cheltenham and we do feel we are able to offer a different experience to some of the chain hotels in and out of town.
I do hope you will stay again.
Kind regards
Jeremy Shaw
Owner
The George Hotel & Monty's Brasserie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Chose this hotel because of its location, it is very central in the town. Small double rooms are very small but adequate. Coat hangers in the wardrobe would not hold any weight, so hanging clothes up was tricky! The whole place could do with a little updating, it is looking tired but is generally OK for the price. Food was OK, breakfast was included and there was lots of choice. Staff were very friendly and helpful. A few nice touches like good toiletries in the bathroom, bathrobes, bottles of water in the bedroom, nice loos downstairs. The place was clean but the corridors upstairs smelt a bit musty, they need new carpets really. The hotel was quiet but we were in a room at the back which looks out on a service road, so cannot comment on rooms at the front which will overlook the main road. Also free parking.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mj_shaw, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I was pleased to note that you were happy with most of your stay but I was sorry that you were disappointed with certain aspects.

I will certainly have a look at the coat hangers that are being used.

I would agree with you that the wallpaper in the stairs and corridors, whilst it is in good condition, it is a traditional Regency style paper and we are looking at ways of making the corridors more contemporary. The corridor and stair carpets were replaced about 2 years ago.

I really do appreciate receiving any feedback, without which we would not have the opportunity to improve things.

I look forward to hopefully having the opportunity to welcoming you back sometime in the near future.

Jeremy Shaw
Owner
George Hotel & Monty's Brasserie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashleworth, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I have just returned from a surprise weekend away in The Junior Suite 21st+22nd Feb 14 as a gift from my Husband.
What a FAB Hotel........The room was amazing, amazing bed (huge, i felt like i was sleeping alone) amazing bathroom (super huge bath) and all the amazing things thought of, like iron and board, robes, bottled cold water etc.
Monty's for Cocktails and Dinner, one of the best meals we have ever eaten, so tasty (even for my very fussy veggie husband)
Breakfast again, very indulgent..............everything you will ever want (i recommend the smoked salmon and scrambed egg).....ooooh and the Granola with Greek Yoghurt
We also made use of the complimentry fitness club.
One small tip- The Housekeeper needs to learn to smile!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mj_shaw, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for posting such a kind and positive review.

I was delighted to see that you had such a great stay and you used all the amenities. I was also pleased to note that you enjoyed your meal and cocktails in Monty’s – it is always great to hear.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Jeremy Shaw
The George Hotel & Monty's Brasserie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

the hotel is in an ideal location for most of what cheltenham has to offer. very welcoming and helpful on reception. the room i booked was a small double, plenty big enough for 2 people on an overnight stay. the hotel was impeccably clean and well presented. breakfast is eaten in montys which is accessed by an internal door from the hotel, didn't eat at monty's at night, so cannot comment, breakfast was piping hot with lots of choices to choice from, very nice.
i asked for a low floor on booking and was given 114 which was on the 1st floor accessed by approx 15 steps which was fine for me, i did notice if you used a wheelchair, on arrival you could ring for assistance and a ramp would be placed for access into the hotel, very hand, also disabled spaces right outside the entrance , again very handy. overall i could not find a fault with this hotel, and would recommend it .

Room Tip: 114 first floor and to the rear, very quiet no road noise, good quality blinds curtains for a longer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mj_shaw, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review. I was so pleased to learn that you had a great stay and especially enjoyed breakfast. Next time you must try Monty’s for lunch or dinner.

Wheelchair access is available via portable ramps to both Monty’s and to the Hotel if required.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Jeremy Shaw
The George Hotel & Monty's Brasserie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I would like to thank all the staff at The George for enabling me and my friends to have a fantastic and memorable weekend.
The superb position means that all amenities are in easy reach.
Our room was spacious and the bathroom was state of the art.
I will definitely visit again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mj_shaw, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review.

Your very kind comments have all been noted and passed onto everyone concerned.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
See you again soon I hope.

Kind regards
Jeremy Shaw
The George Hotel & Monty's Brasserie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: St George's Road, Cheltenham GL50 3DZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
#2 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#2 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Cheltenham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.