We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business meeting - great job” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The George Hotel to your Saves list
The George Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St George's Rd, Cheltenham GL50 3DZ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Cheltenham
Slimbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Business meeting - great job”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I recently booked a sales conference to be held at the hotel. When you are making arrangements for a group and you require the full facilities and expect them to run perfectly then any mistakes are seen as a reflection on you. Fear not. From start to finish everything was top class. The initial contact who did the organizing , perfect with nothing too much bother. The meal in their brassiere which I have to say was equal to any top London establishment. The room reserved for the conference was fantastic.Attention to detail was first rate. All the staff were polite and helpful. Great value for money. Yes we will be back and for any person reading this review , then fear not and just go and you will also have a great time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    136
    31
    5
    2
See reviews for
23
219
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there through work for a second time. Rooms in good cndition and very clean. In my bathroom, found it difficult to actually get in the shower as the bathroom was pretty small. Its an old terrace which I think was knocked into one and it is full of staircases up and down. If you are not so mobile, worth checking access.

Didnt eat there as very close to lots of places walkable.

Parking was limited, either on street if you are lucky or pay and display

Used the cocktail bar briefly , wasnt verly impressed - one bottled beer on sale? I assume lots of cocktails though. Had to set off early so didnt see a breakfast but they did offer a packed one without being asked, which was good

Would go back though

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is a really fabulous hotel. The staff are extremely helpful, nothing is too much trouble for them. The location is great, a couple of minutes to the town centre. Room service is speedy and the food delicious. We stayed in a junior suite, well worth the extra as the room had everything you could need: fridge, safe, hair dryer, iron etc. nothing to fault the staff or hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

.. on a street within a minute of The Promenade. Our top floor room was attractive, modern, well equipped and quiet. No lifts though. Monty's Brassiere, in the same building, was justifiably popular. The only drawback was we came on a race weekend (unwittingly) which made the room expensive, otherwise it would have been a five-star experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

we stayed at The George on Sat 30.11.13 & can highly recommend. We booked a small double which was located at the back of the hotel & was quiet, nicely decorated with everything we required. The staff were friendly & helpful from arrival. We parked in the public car park opposite until a space was available behind the hotel & the lads in the bar kindly looked out for/made a space available. Breakfast was good & again helpful staff. Location is excellent, couple of minutes straight into the Promenade & 5 minutes up to the Voojan Indian restaurant where we had a good evening meal. Lovely hotel & most importantly staff.

Room Tip: small double at the back (200s) was absolutely fine & very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I stayed there with a few friends in early November. The staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. The bedrooms were well equipped with comfortable beds and immaculate bathrooms. Bath-robes were supplied. The small restaurant adjacent to the ground floor had an excellent menu for the money (we had an early evening deal) and the breakfasts were scrummy. Our requests for less of this or more of that were generously met. A most enjoyable stay and I hope I can go there again.

Room Tip: I had a room at the rear on the first floor and although there was little view, it was nice and quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Friendly hotel conveniently situated for the town centre, where the shopping is excellent. Very clean smallish double room. Excellent plentiful breakfast with good service. Evening meal in Monty's Brasserie was tasty and very good quality if a little expensive.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: St George's Rd, Cheltenham GL50 3DZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#2 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Cheltenham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.