We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Truly Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cotswold Grange Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cotswold Grange Hotel to your Saves list
Cotswold Grange Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pittville Circus Road, Cheltenham GL52 2QH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Cheltenham
Yeovil
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Truly Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

When visiting Cheltenham please try the Cotswold Grange, it has a great mix of friendly service and nice food - especially the breakfast! The location was great and gave good access to exploring the Cotswolds. Very clean, full of charm and comfortable - we loved it. The staff were always extremely helpful in every respect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly_CGH, Manager at Cotswold Grange Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
I would firstly like to thank you for taking the time in expressing your views following your recent stay with us and I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your visit, here at the Cotswold Grange Hotel in Cheltenham.
As ever, our commitment to our guests and the services we provide remain our highest priority and I am pleased that we did not fall below the standards that Cotswold Grange takes pride in.

Your comments are very much appreciated and I will certainly ensure that they are shared with the team here.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we do hope that you will join us in the bar for a drink on us the next time you visit the Cotswolds.

Best Wishes

Holly Naser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    77
    44
    18
    10
See reviews for
24
106
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The Cotswold Grange was chosen by us primarily because it was in easy walking distance of Cheltenham Racecourse, where we attending the Greenbelt Arts Festival. Whilst the price was reasonable we were clear we were paying for a bit of luxury too.
Wandering into the hotel initially I was a bit underwhelmed, the immediate feeling was the hotel was a bit dated. Over the course of the week that feeling diminished and the true nature of the place was able to shine through.
The hotel is luxury because of it's two outstanding features - the attention to detail in cleaning and the quality of the food.
The bathroom wasn't just cleaned each day, it was cleaned to the highest standard I think I've ever seen with little touches such as the end of the toilet roll being tucked in in a decorative manner. I felt pampered through the little signs of attention to detail I could see.
The breakfasts were filling with a good choice, as well as the buffet items to start with the range of cooked choices varied from the more traditional full English to American pancakes with syrup.
The classical music played during the breakfast period gave a gentle feel to the atmosphere.
The ethos of the hotel was clearly it was an oasis of calm and the early closing of the bar each night reflected this. Coming in at 11:30 you knew you had to be considerate to others, it encouraged good behaviour. Yet it didn't think we should all be in bed early, a blackboard was left out letting us know the times of breakfast the next morning.
So yes, it is a bit old fashioned but that is the beauty of the place which shines out once you get beyond the décor, it gives good old fashioned service and is clearly based upon good, old fashioned ideas of consideration for others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly_CGH, Manager at Cotswold Grange Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
I would firstly like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your glowing review of the Cotswold Grange Hotel in Cheltenham.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your visit here, as you found out from observations following your recent stay with us, we like to make every effort to maintain high standards and quality service which we are known for, and we’re delighted that we have been successful in achieving this during your stay.

I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed all the smaller details we take pride in offering all our guests.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the very near future and please do enjoy a drink on us in our Cotswold bar.

Best Wishes
Holly Naser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had a lovely 2-night break at the Cotswold Grange; it was peaceful and relaxing, the bed in our room on the first floor was enormous and very comfy. Yes the building is an older property, but had character and charm. The hotel was clean and bright and the staff accommodating, helpful and friendly. We ate breakfast and dinner at the hotel - both were excellent. Service was of a high standard in the restaurant and breakfast room & discreet which we liked. Thank you and we hope to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly_CGH, Manager at Cotswold Grange Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
I am very pleased to read your wonderful review of your holiday with us at the Cotswold Grange Hotel in Cheltenham and would like to personally thank you for choosing our hotel above the many options available in Cheltenham – we’re so glad you appreciate the special unique charm of Cotswold Grange.

Thank you for your kind acknowledgement of our warm hospitality and facilities. We make every effort to maintain the high standards of timely and quality service delivery Cotswold Grange is renowned for, and we are delighted that we have been successful in achieving this during your stay.

Once again, thank you for recommending Cotswold Grange on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back with a drink at our Cotswold Bar.

Best Wishes
Holly Naser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Excellent - just the type of accommodation we were looking for. Friendly staff, superb breakfast, comfortable room and great location with good parking. Highly recommended for entrants in the Prescott Hill Climb - safe parking for cherished cars. Several entrants staying at the same time as us. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly_CGH, Manager at Cotswold Grange Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
I would firstly like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your glowing review of the Cotswold Grange Hotel in Cheltenham. We’re in a great location for the Prescott Hill Climb – just a short drive away – and we often have the pleasure of welcoming car enthusiasts.
Thank you for your kind acknowledgement of our warm hospitality and facilities.

We strives to be the best value and friendliest hotel in Cheltenham. It sounds like you noticed this during your stay. We take great pride in our work and we enjoy engaging each and every one of our guests.

Your comments are very much appreciated and I will certainly ensure that they are shared with the team here.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we do hope that you will join us in the bar for a drink on us the next time you visit the Cotswolds.

Best Wishes
Holly Naser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel, which is fairly close to the town centre, is run by very friendly and efficient staff, our room was a bit old fashioned but nice, and our breakfast was really well cooked and there was a good choice. Would definitely go there again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly_CGH, Manager at Cotswold Grange Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us here at the Cotswold Grange Hotel in Cheltenham.

We are so pleased to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us, in particular your acknowledgement of the quality of the hotel's facilities and services extended to you.

Here at the Cotswold Grange we strives to uphold the highest possible standards in everything we do and is reflected in the wonderfully positive feedback we have been fortunate to receive.

Once again, thank you for recommending Cotswold Grange on Trip Advisor, we hope so see you in the near future and please next time you have a drink on us.

Best Wishes
Holly Naser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Top Contributor
399 reviews 399 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

What a pity about this hotel...it has a great location with, excellent car parking. The staff are lovely, the breakfast is just first class with simply no skimping. Nice quality bath towels and comfy beds (albiet a little small), but it is so tired looking and has that neglected feel about it, with old furniture that needs replacing, and old carpets...what a shame...it could be a real gem, if it had more investment.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The Cotswold Grange is a lovely hotel with many original features. The hotel is situated in a quiet area but within walking distance of the town of Cheltenham, about 15-20 minutes. The rooms were clean and comfortable, although the decoration was a little tired in areas it was mainly decorated in keeping with the original period of the house which added to its charm. Breakfast was relaxed and most enjoyable, well cooked and lots of variety, served graciously by a lovely young lady who was always asking if we required more. A very enjoyable few days.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cotswold Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Grange Hotel

Address: Pittville Circus Road, Cheltenham GL52 2QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally positioned between Cheltenham town centre and its famous Racecourse, this distinctive Cotswold stone building offers free parking; free Wi-Fi; and an excellent restaurant. Situated in a quiet tree-lined avenue only a short walk from Cheltenham’s many attractions, the hotel exudes a character and charm that few establishments can match. Cotswold Grange has the generous comfort of a large period house with many enchanting features including high ceilings; beautiful decorative cornicing; the original cantilevered staircase; and a secluded garden with an ornamental fish pond. The unique attractions combine to make Cotswold Grange an ideal base for exploring Cheltenham and the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cotswold Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Grange Cheltenham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotswold Grange Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.