We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location, comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cotswold Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Cotswold Grange Hotel to your Saves list
Cotswold Grange Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pittville Circus Road, Cheltenham GL52 2QH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Cheltenham
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ideal location, comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed here for three nights with a group of friends and we had a lovely stay. The hotel is perfectly situated for the racecourse and also the town centre, being just over a mile to each and easy walking. The rooms may not be overly modern and certainly not corporate-looking (not necessarily a bad thing!) but everything was clean, bed comfortable, crisp linen and a hot shower. Breakfast was very good and no complaints about the service, whether at breakfast or at reception. Would be quite happy to stay here again for another trip to Cheltenham.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    71
    42
    18
    9
See reviews for
22
98
10
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
napoli Italia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed at Cotswold Grange for 21nights in Oct 2012.The room was very cosy and comfortable with a big bay window ,a tv,a complimentary tea coffee set.The room was clean and the ensuite looked new.Continental and English breakfast with a good varietyof options was delicious.The proprietors were friendly and so kind that cooked special food for us sometimes.During my stay I can say that it was like being at home,because you breathe this atmosphere.Thank you Dhruty and Nirov.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Two friends and I booked this hotel after hours of scouring the internet based on (a) its website (b) price range and (c) location.

Sad to say, the hotel exterior is the only thing not lied about on the website (although it doesn't have any grounds). Old carpet on the stairs, old smells (felt like an old people's home) and cool reception. We were shafted to Room 11 - third floor, which looked like it had last been decorated in the 1950's. Felt dirty, dusty (I have dust allergies so immediately started coughing), and was definitely not suitable for one adult let alone three. the "double" bed was tiny, and the two other "beds" (for children) were stuffed away in the tiniest alcove (smaller than a standard closet) - great if you like sleeping in a coffin.

Bathroom was a shambles - dirty, frayed shower curtain, browning showerhead which, when placed in a green tiled bathroom, made this feel like a place only Shrek would be happy in.

As we'd arrived so late (after 10pm) and for the Cheltenham festival, most other hotels were booked. I ended up sleeping on a mattress on the floor (refused to use the duvets as they were open-ended (apparently it'll be too much to ask for buttons on the covers) and looked dirty, whilst my two friends tried to sleep on the bed without falling off.

Breakfast was a joke - one slice of a giant mushroom does not a "mushroom portion" make! Having not slept, not eaten properly and feeling as if our trip had been ruined, we checked out of the hotel immediately (so instead of two nights, stayed the one). The owner was unbelievably ungracious (not a word of apology) and even told us that it was not her job to make us happy! Desperate to be paid for a second night, she then "offered" us the option of going to live with the previous owners across the road for a night - something she said they did all the time!

This is ILLEGAL! I will be writing a letter of complaint to the AA Qualities Board about our experiences and to find out how and why it received 4 stars Guest Accommodation award. (Only logical answer is based on the rumours that the first floor rooms are great).

Would never recommended this place to anyone - unless I sincerely hated them (and even then I'd feel so guilty I wouldn't be able to do it).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nirav_Proprietor, Manager at Cotswold Grange Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
This review really has no place in a forum for healthy feedback and debate – the tone is vindictive and the comments made are defamatory – it is unfortunate that Tripadvisor accepts such comments to be posted.

We will however respond with our side of the story.

The reviewer telephoned us to ask about the possibility of using a family room for three adults. We do not market triple rooms (there is no listing for this room type in any of our marketing) – however in certain circumstances (i.e. people travelling on a tighter budget) we do allow three adults to use a family room as long as they understand the limitations. We clearly explained that the room contains one double bed and two smaller single beds more suited to children. The reviewer was happy to go ahead with the booking after we had explained this to them.

After arrival the reviewer informed us that the family room booked was not actually suitable for them and that they would like another room. We were full on the weekend and could not offer any alternative at the Hotel – however the next morning we did try and help them by seeking out alternative accommodation. A large room in a guesthouse opposite the Hotel was found and offered but declined (without looking) by the reviewer.

Language used by the reviewer such as ‘felt dirty’ or ‘looked dirty’ expose the comments made about poor cleanliness as lacking any credibility. We take great pride in the cleanliness of our Hotel and have many positive guest comments regarding this aspect.

Our bed linen / duvets are supplied and laundered by a very good local company who also supply some top-end hotels in Cheltenham. Duvet covers come without buttons for durability as they need to be for hotel environments – the end of the duvet is just folded back so the duvet is not presented as ‘open-ended’ – we don’t really understand the reasoning of the reviewer that they ‘refused to use the duvets as they were open-ended’

The comment made by the reviewer regarding ‘mushroom portion’ is imbecilic – if they really wanted another ‘giant’ mushroom all they needed to do was ask.

The comment about being ‘desperate to be paid for a second night’ is also somewhat absurd since we’d offered an option to stay in another independent establishment and furthermore we didn’t charge for the cancelled second night even though we were perfectly entitled to do so.

The reviewer then makes a comment about not receiving an apology – what exactly was the apology meant to be for? – What exactly had we done wrong? – After all the reviewer choose to take up the family room after we had communicated the limitations – we certainly didn’t have to sell the room to them as we could have easily sold the room to any number of interested parties that weekend due to high demand.

We have been quality assured by the AA for many years and have an excellent merit score (the degree with which we comply) – we’re sure the AA will be happy to educate the reviewer when they get in touch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here for one night on a dinner, bed and breakfast deal.
Welcome was warm and friendly at reception as was the welcome into the restaurant. It s clear that Nirav and Dhruti along with all of their staff work hard to make everyone feel at home.
The building is typical of lots of 19th century buildings in Cheltenham, with high ceilings, large windows and ornate interior decoration.
Our meal in the restaurant was perfect, with a level of service and attention that is rare these days. The food was exactly to our liking, with some small dietary modifications cheerfully accommodated. We stayed at our table until quite late, but were not harassed or hurried to leave.
Breakfast next morning was equally good with a self service cold buffet along with a cook to order hot selection. Again, we stayed late and were allowed to take our time.
One of the nicest weekends that we have had for some time.

Room Tip: Go for the first floor, especially if you have lots of heavy luggage. The property was built in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nirav_Proprietor, Owner at Cotswold Grange Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thanks for your comments and support. We want all of our guests to feel relaxed and unhurried when they are at Cotswold Grange - this is the ambience we strive for coupled with high standards of customer service – it is great to hear that this is exactly what you experienced during your stay.

Glad you enjoyed your meals as well – we source good quality ingredients and have a terrific chef who creates flavoursome dishes with subtle seasoning.

We do hope we can welcome you again to Cotswold Grange for a relaxing short break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

,booked on an internet site good price after trying many others which were all booked up,having said that it was a saturday niight stay and only booked on the thursday. on arrival i have got to admit it did not look like the pictures on the internet. The lady that met us said the room was not ready which was fair enough it was only 11am so we parked the car, my son, who works in Cheltenham came to meet us and we spent the day in the town. Arrived back at 6, I was't looking forward to it, as I have said on 1st appearances did't know what to expect inside. We were allocated a room on the 2nd floor overlooking the entrance. The bathroom was new, lovely fittings and great walk in shower unit (no bath). The bed was huge, I would say a very large queen, lovely white bedding no head-board and only 1 bed-side table. Large flat screen tv. The room was't big but quite enough for the stay we wanted. This room is one that obviously has been redone. Breakfast was very good the usual fresh fruit, cereals and full english, I would say there were approx 15 tables and they were all full. Overall I would stay there again if the price was right its clean and the bed was very comfortable, thats all we needed for our 1 night stay.

Room Tip: if the price is right, its good value clean and comfortable bed but not a 4*
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nirav_Proprietor, Owner at Cotswold Grange Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
An advantage we offer is that our guests may arrive prior to normal check-in time (after 2:00pm) park up and take a stroll in to Town (half a mile to High St) all hassle free. Not sure exactly why you felt the way you did initially after arriving and seeing the public areas on the ground floor (for which we have received many great comments about the high standard of refurbishment) - glad in any case that you were satisfied with your room and your stay overall – we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Our experience seems to follow most of the other reviews here. Nice location, reasonably central - 10 mins walk into centre.
On arrival in the early afternoon, very surprised to have the evening's menus opened for us before we had even said who we were! We had booked a room through one of the internet hotel sites, so did not expect to be allocated a luxurious room. In the event, we got one on the second floor (no lift, quite steep stairs up). The room itself was clean and tidy, but as others have said, the decor is very 70s (avocado bathroom suites are SOOOOO yesterday) and, as throughout the hotel, there is a curious mix between carpets and bare floorboards. The mattress was not the firmest we have experienced, and whereas most hotels these days have king size beds or larger, this was a standard double - not much room to move if you are both tall ! There is free Wifi in the bedrooms.
The hotel is also located within easy decibel range of the town football club, whose chanting (it being a match day) was an unusual intrusion till after 9pm. Otherwise, the rest of the night was peaceful.
Cannot comment of the evening meal, as we ate out (but lookng at the menu and wine list, it seemed pretty pricey for 2* establishment). Breakfast was perfectly adequate, with the hot meal cooked to order which is always a nice experence. The waitress was attentive and polite.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nirav_Proprietor, Owner at Cotswold Grange Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Glad you liked our location and the convenience it offers for the Town Centre. You must have checked-in quite early as we normally already have the menus on display at reception – welcoming guests first is normally how we do things – sorry if we didn’t do this on your arrival.
We do have a range of rooms at Cotswold Grange and as you would have seen we are progressing through a refurbishment program. We would suggest you always contact the Hotel directly when booking and express any preferences you may have for room type – we’ll do our best then to allocate the preferred room – furthermore we can sometimes offer better rates than the internet hotel sites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Some clever photography is used on the Cotswold Grange website. The 1st surprise was that from the exterior shots, we got the impression it was set in it's own large grounds, it isn't. The rooms downstairs are nicely decorated, don't understand the orange above the picture rail in the dining room, but that's probably personal taste. Our hearts sank a little when we saw the stair carpet and awful dark wood, but it was nothing compared with the shock and disappointment when we saw our rooms. The web site pictures showed stylish beds with cushions, throws and tasteful carpets. We got dralon headboards, woodchip wallpaper and dated furniture. The family rooms were partitioned in the most bizarre way, a tiny gap in the wall where beds have been squeezed in for children. The bathroom was also through the gap, the door didn't shut and the sink was very badly cracked.
We ate in the restaurant which was ok, but we thought overpriced. £3.50 for a side order of chips. £6 for pudding.
Breakfast was good for the buffet part, but when ordering poached eggs and hash browns for the cooked part, to be given 1 egg and 1 hash brown was a bit stingy!
The best part of the stay was the receptionist/waitress/barmaid. She was charming and helpful.
I have never written a review of a hotel before, but felt I had to let people know about our experience as weeks after staying there we are still feeling sick about the amount of money we paid for a stay that wasn't as lovely as we had been led to believe.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one of the room pictured on the web site, not one of the other joke rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nirav_Proprietor, Owner at Cotswold Grange Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Sorry the decor had such a strong emotional impact on you (your review is somewhat melodramatic) and wasn’t to your personal taste. The family room that you occupied is in fact exactly as shown on the website – in a more traditional style than some of our more recently refurbished double rooms. The set-up in the family room with the bunk bed area for children – in our experience – is in fact quite popular (who gets the top bunk is always hotly contested!) – sorry it wasn’t to your liking.

Cotswold Grange is set well back from the road and well screened by attractive mature Yew trees and Horse Chestnut trees – this is what is shown in the exterior image of the Hotel – so we’re a little perplexed by your assertion that we are using ‘clever’ photography. Considering our location – within half a mile of the Town centre our grounds are relatively big with ample car parking and a pleasant secluded garden at the rear – sorry that this didn’t however meet your expectations.

Our breakfast consists of a self-service buffet (cereals; fruits; juices) which is followed (if desired) by a full cooked-to-order breakfast where the guest specifies exactly what they wish – and if you had wanted more than one of a certain item our chef would have happily prepared this for you.

We know the Cheltenham market very well and our family rooms priced at between £99 and £120 per room per night B&B do actually represent relatively good value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cotswold Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Grange Hotel

Address: Pittville Circus Road, Cheltenham GL52 2QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally positioned between Cheltenham town centre and its famous Racecourse, this distinctive Cotswold stone building offers free parking; free Wi-Fi; and an excellent restaurant. Situated in a quiet tree-lined avenue only a short walk from Cheltenham’s many attractions, the hotel exudes a character and charm that few establishments can match. Cotswold Grange has the generous comfort of a large period house with many enchanting features including high ceilings; beautiful decorative cornicing; the original cantilevered staircase; and a secluded garden with an ornamental fish pond. The unique attractions combine to make Cotswold Grange an ideal base for exploring Cheltenham and the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cotswold Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Grange Cheltenham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotswold Grange Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.