We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay for a wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Battledown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Battledown to your Saves list
The Battledown
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   125 Hales Road, Cheltenham GL52 6ST, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Rates - Book Direct
Ranked #2 of 67 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Short stay for a wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Fantastic stay for wedding Hosts very helpful and B&B a cut above the rest in all areas. Breakfast very good, many options and high quality ingredients. Would strongly recommend this B&B.
Rooms well equipped, not large, but plenty big enough. Close enough to Town and the hosts are happy to help with any arrangements, taxi's and the like.

Room Tip: All rooms seen were very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
62
185
27
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had a great stay at the Battledown starting with a very warm welcome on our arrival. Our room was very well appointed and clean. The breakfast was superb, homemade muesli, preserves and banana bread, free range eggs. We were assured that nothing would be too much trouble and we will definitely stay there again when we return to Cheltenham.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Once again, spent a very happy night at The Battledown - always our destination of choice in Cheltenham. Simon and Sarah are so friendly and make a point of remembering us from previous visits. The rooms are charming and comfortable, the breakfast great. Sadly, didn't have time to sit in the lovely garden this time - it's being extended now that they have bought a bit more land, so will be even better next time no doubt.

Room Tip: All rooms we have stayed in are fine, but the downstairs rooms away from the road are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Hi Simon and Sarah. Thank you very much for a wonderful stay, and we have already recommended your B & B to other aspiring travellers to your area. Fantastic rooms and breakfast. Very efficient and organized, and especially appreciated the personal touches, including the history of the rooms and their design and creation. We also appreciated your friendly welcome and interest in our day to day sight seeing activities. A big WELL DONE to both of you. Bye the way, I can still remember the amazing home made banana bread and also, the home made preserves on toast. So many special personal touches. Just lovely

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had a lovely time at the Battledown. It is a 5min taxi ride from the station but didn't cost much and Simon and Sarah kindly booked us a cab back when our stay was over so it was very easy (there was also plenty of cabs waiting when we arrived off the train). Simon and Sarah were great hosts. We felt very looked after without feeling like we were intruding and they had lots of suggestions for things to do and places to go. Breakfast was delicious, felt like we were in a cafe in London and Sarah's homemade jam was scrumptious! We were there for the Food and Drink festival (highly recommend) which was an easy 15 min stroll into town and when we came back with lots of foodie goodies we sat out in the back garden with our wine and cheese until the sun went down. Would definitely recommend this place and will come again for the next festival if we can get organised! Our room was small but perfect for just us two.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My daughter and I spent 2 nights at the Battledown recently, where we had a most enjoyable stay. The room was well furnished, spotlessly clean, comfortable and well appointed - as was the bathroom, where there was a wonderful power shower! The breakfast was exceptional - all freshly cooked and piping hot, with a huge choice, and the home-made jams and marmalades were delicious. There were several thoughtful homely touches that make the Battledown special - such as the provision of slippers, hotwater bottles, umbrellas and shopping bags. Sarah and Simon were welcoming hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend it wholeheartedly!

Room Tip: To me, the extra space in the family room - which had one double bed and one single bed - was worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at The Battledown for two nights with my mother in June 2013. We arrived a little early, but from the moment we arrived we were looked after and provided with tea and biscuits whilst our room was prepared. We had a twin room at the rear of the property which although was in the basement was bright and immaculate and tastefully decorated. The gardens at the rear are stunning, with ample seating, and there is a separate access to the property at the rear which is nice rather than having to use the main door. I loved the fact there were slippers and hot water bottles available too, but these weren't needed on our sunny weekend! Breakfast was delicious and the staff were happy to make what I fancied - a bacon sandwich! And I had to be dragged away from the homemade banana bread which was so moreish!
The accommodation was ideal for a short walk into the town centre (with comfy shoes) and to explore the local area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Battledown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Battledown

Address: 125 Hales Road, Cheltenham GL52 6ST, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Battledown 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simon, Sarah and their daughter Isabella welcome you to their home, The Battledown, a Grade II listed French colonial style villa built in 1855. We are conveniently located for all of Cheltenham's events, the Cotswolds and the town centre which is approximately 1 mile away. All of our bedrooms have comfortable beds with 100% Egyptian cotton bed linen and en suite shower rooms stocked with fluffy towels. All bedrooms have a flatscreen TV, DVD player, tea and coffee making facilities (with fresh milk available) and a hairdryer. We provide free WIFI throughout our home and free parking is available in our private car park. Our home has a beautiful walled garden with patios which guests are welcome to use and if you are a keen gardener, please do have a look at our borders, greenhouse and vegetable garden - any advice is welcome!. The Battledown has been accredited 4 stars by the AA, has won their prestigious breakfast award and is the WINNER of the Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence for 2013.Credit cards accepted - Visa, Mastercard, Maestro Switch (NOT American Express or Diners Club) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Battledown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Battledown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.