We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but hold the bill” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Purslane

Purslane
16 Rodney Road | Flat 3, Cheltenham GL50 1JJ, England
+44 1242 321639
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 331 restaurants in Cheltenham
Price range: $10 - $57
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
South West UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very good but hold the bill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Very good starter and main course, well-presented and fairly priced. My only quibble was that the waitress brought us the bill without us asking for it, even though it was only 10 pm and we were in the middle of chatting. That's just so rude - you might as well hand the customers a note, telling them to "P*** off".

Would definitely go again but hope that the staff won't evict me next time!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena F, Manager at Purslane, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Ever so sorry to have evicted you. Certainly not something we would have intended to do and I personally would have found it rude too. Having looked into it we can only assume there was a breakdown in communication as to which table had asked for the bill. We'll keep a tighter check on this and you're welcome to stay as long as you would like in future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    148
    45
    11
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very Good Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

A very good meal - the starter was the only let down, but I think that was more that I choose something that wasn't me, crab and pea - main course of sea bass and pudding of summer fruits where excellent - I shall be coming back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupelmonde, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Elegant fine dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had starters, main course and desert, and we liked them all. Price is very reasonable, except for the wiens maybe. Presentation of the food was original, and the taste was als it should be, wel seasoned and with respect for the product.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena F, Manager at Purslane, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thanks for the feedback. Makes all the hard work and long hours worth it when customers enjoy what you do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good . Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

A fish-heavy menu - but I had lamb sweet-bread to start. Flavours are delicate , but good. - Partcularly the dessert of elderflower ice cream and gooseberry parfait. Short adequate wine-list.
This is not "fine dining" , but very well-cooked and presented food.
Portions of starter could be a little more generous
At £50 per head with wine this is good value

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Food is so fresh, so tasty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My wife and I were both amazed at the quality of the cooking here, the diversity of ingredients and the flavors of the food. On top of that, everything felt so light and yet satisfying. Part of this is the decision to use light flavorful foams here and there instead of heavier sauces. It is understated, though, and works well here with the food.

Their specialty is seafood. There is no doubt about that and you are better off sticking to the seafood on the menu.

This was our first time here but this is one of those places you see yourself wanting to be regulars at. It is not an inexpensive place but it is great value for the quality of the cooking.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purslane also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to Purslane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purslane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.