We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ok cheap stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Central Hotel Cheltenham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Central Hotel Cheltenham to your Saves list
Central Hotel Cheltenham
7-9 Portland Street, Cheltenham GL52 2NZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Cheltenham
Newton Abbot
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An ok cheap stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We were very worried after booking and then reading reviews on this site, but thankfully it wasn't as bad as we expected. There are problems around the edges, for sure, we have a fair size list of faults (broken sofa in room (but didn't expect one anyhow!), small light broken, broken toilet roll holder) and the parking is a big issue (although we got parked 3 out of 4 nights). Location is excellent and generally made a suitable, if unspectacular, base for a 4 day trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    32
    27
    23
    64
See reviews for
28
43
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Strictly advise anyone staying for the racing when prices are inflated to stay far far away.
The 'luxury apartment' was inhabitable. On the top floor of a building that has the narrowest of stairs, and ridiculously steep. Weren't informed of this, so having to carry luggage with a bad knee at midnight after travelling was horrendous. No lights left on so we could see what was going on.
The room was freezing when we arrived, there was rubbish left on the floor, a broken window, dirty 'kitchen' (a hob inside a cupboard) and worse still the duvet was very old and the bathroom stank. We payed a high price to stay for 4 nights and we were disgusted.
As it was so late we had no choice to stay the night. I went to the reception to ask for our money back and did they deem the room to be satisfactory. They weren't in the least bit interested, and you could tell this happens to them on a regular basis.
I could go on, but there wouldn't be enough space to tell you.

Do not stay here, it is vile, awful management, and they rob you of your well earned money. False advertising too, they are not luxurious apartments!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Convenient location, comfy bed, good facilities, we found the staff friendly.

Location is a bit noisy but you'd expect that of a city centre hotel.

Parking is free but get there early and be prepared for a long detour to get to it if you pull up outside the front of the hotel. You're best to park on the main road just past chicken inn.

Overall good

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last night and found the hotel welcoming and modern, only grumble was as we were on the top floor the room did get very hot during the night, other than that a lovely place and great value for money and great location we will be back!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

This was a great little hotel for the price. The room was large and comfortable and the staff were very helpful.

It certainly isn't luxurious; however, for somewhere to use as a base, it fit the bill perfectly. Very good value indeed.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Spent one night at hotel,third time I've used it and although it's not the Ritz,it's a good central place to stay,we stayed one night after a day at races and staff on desk helpful and welcoming,we plan to go back next year and no hesitation to book again,yes I would recommend the hotel as a place to stay,see you next year!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

We booked at central hotel to stay at there Warwick Place Appartments. We knew we would enjoy our weekend stay here as we stayed in October too. We stayed in number 5 both times & this is very spacious. 2 bedrooms, one on suite, one separate bathroom, kitchen fully equipped for cooking, washing, fridge etc... A few tea bags, milk, sugar & coffee too. Tv & comfy sitting area. Local to shopping centre, food places & bars. You do have to pay £10 for parking so that's a bit annoying considering what you pay to stay but you have off street parking & have gates that you have to use a code to get in so its well protected. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Central Hotel Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel Cheltenham

Address: 7-9 Portland Street, Cheltenham GL52 2NZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheltenham's most centrally located hotel. If you are relocating for work or traveling on a budget, our rooms provide an inexpensive stay without sacrificing quality or comfort. Trading as a self catering hotel. Excellently placed for high street shops, restaurants and nightlife, as well as being within walking distance of the bus and train stations. So if you are looking for a hotel in Cheltenham and don't want to pay expensive prices, give us a try. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Central Hotel Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheltenham Central Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Hotel Cheltenham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.