We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break at Montpellier Chapter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Montpellier Chapter Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Montpellier Chapter Hotel to your Saves list
The Montpellier Chapter Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bayshill Road | Montpellier, Cheltenham GL50 3AS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Cheltenham
Herts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Weekend break at Montpellier Chapter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Mid-sized trendy hotel in Montpellier district - beautiful period stone building in keeping with the local architecture. Great cocktails, excellent food in the restaurant, nice bar/lounge area, young but professional staff, good location with plenty of other bars/restaurants and hotels a short walk away. Popular with locals for drinks and brunch/lunch/dinner too which is a very good sign.

Only downside was that the staff at the spa didn't answer the phone and weren't present whenever i visited them to book an appointment over the weekend, so never got to take advantage of the spa facility.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    148
    74
    33
    15
See reviews for
41
235
12
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

If only all weekend retreats could be like this , at first you are in awe of the beautiful façade , inside it has been renovated in a contemporary style , then our room really had the wow factor complete with bath beside bed . All I had been hoping for . Even a nespresso machine .
Breakfast could have been a little more creative ,not a lot of choice on the non cooked buffet .
Service really friendly at front of house . Not your typical reception area , just a laptop perched on a table that resembled a piece of modern art . Very tasteful !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel was the much loved Kandinsky Hotel. It went through what seemed several years of renovation before opening as the Montpellier Chapter. If you don't know Cheltenham, this is a perfectly located hotel in a town which has something for everyone. My room was very well appointed, if slightly cramped, lovely Ren shampoos, fresh milk for tea making (hooray), perfect towels and bed linen, great breakfast, great bar and areas for relaxing, incredibly helpful staff. Yes, it is expensive but you're worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

only spent 1 night in the Chapter but enjoyed it. We had a standard room with breakfast. We were on second floor. It is a small room but for short stay great, The bed is extremely comfy in fact its very much like the ones you get in USA. Bathroom lovely, bril shower. All mod cons. I believe it has been refurbished, well they have done a good job. Lovely bar come library area and outside terrace to relax. We had breakfast, what ever you wanted they did, smoked salmon, omelettes. Great service. We also booked in for Sunday lunch £17.95 for 3 courses it was fantastic, I had the sole. This hotel does not have the normal reception , when you walk in you are greeted by someone who takes your name looks on his laptop, gives you your room card and away you go. Staff are excellent. Free parking. Would recommend a short stay in the standard room but if I was there for more than 2 days I would book a bigger room. Thoroughly loved it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is a fabulous little find tucked away in a picturesque corner of Cheltenham. From the outside you have a beautiful and imposing facade which looks very traditional, but on the inside everything is very informal and relaxed. The decor is cool, modern and clean (verging on Nordic) with lots of unobtrusive lounge music helping to set the mood. The rooms are a good size, the decor is pleasing on the eye and plenty of mod cons (each room comes with an i-pod and a selection of music to chillax to while you're soaking in the rather lovely bath). The hotel spa was nice without being exceptional. The spa staff were friendly and the treatments were good but the decor and environs didn't stand out. Where this hotel does excel is in the kitchen. I have eaten in the restaurant three times now and each time the food was delicious - especially if you sample the locally sourced beef. Good wine list too. I also really like the staff - the service throughout the hotel is always professional and attentive without ever being too in-your-face. I liked it so much, I went back. I'd highly recommend this place for a relaxing weekend.

Room Tip: Look out for special deals on their website - they seem to do a lot of special offers with half-pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here twice now... Once on business and once on pleasure. I went back as I desperately want this place to live up to its potential as it has a lovely feel to it but it never seems to live up to the price tag.
The rooms are lovely and the property itself is a beautiful Georgian building but the service always seems a little erratic and the restaurant is hugely disappointing . To me nothing sums up this place more than the bacon sandwich they offer ... Hugely over priced and trying to be fancy by cutting the crusts off ?! ... Sometimes you can try too hard. Equally the spa was also average at best and the meeting room staff didn't seem to be used to dealing with agendas... Refreshments were late for every single break over a two day event. The worrying thing for me was that having raised some concerns on both visits ( and even writing to the manager after the first visit ) , staff just don't seem adept at dealing with anything that goes wrong
The library room bar is a beautiful space and a lovely part of the hotel to chill before dinner
It's a lovely place and a nice location but personally I would recommend you eat somewhere else

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Nothing was too much trouble at this hotel. As we arrived and walked though the restaurant a waiter immediately noticed we were carrying a champagne box and followed us to our room with an ice bucket without even asking. We stayed in a feature room which was really modern and stylishly decorated, loved the iPod preloaded with cool tunes and the rainfall shower was so powerful I could've drowned. We did not try any of the hotel amenities so cannot comment on them. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to go away for a special weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Montpellier Chapter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montpellier Chapter Hotel

Address: Bayshill Road | Montpellier, Cheltenham GL50 3AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Montpellier Chapter Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This brand-new, luxury hotel offers chic and stylish rooms featuring iPods and Nespresso coffee machines within Cheltenham’s fashionable Montpellier district.With artistic touches and contemporary design, all rooms at The Montpellier Chapter offer luxurious Egyptian cotton bed linen and complimentary minibars. Free Wi-Fi is available to all guests, while some rooms provide modern, open-plan bathrooms, computers, or an iPod Touch, which can connect directly to the TV.The Montpellier Chapter features a restaurant with open kitchen and open hearth oven. Guests can enjoy fine dining within, or venture into the garden room, terrace, or landscaped courtyard.Cheltenham town centre and Cheltenham Spa Rail Station are just 15 minutes’ walk from The Montpellier Chapter. Cheltenham’s famous racecourse is a 10-minute drive away, while Cheltenham’s spa history can be found at the 19th-century Pittville Pump Room and gardens, less than 10 minutes’ drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Montpellier Chapter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alias Hotel Cheltenham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Montpellier Chapter Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.