We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good start to the day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Suffolk Kitchen

The Suffolk Kitchen
8 Suffolk Parade, Cheltenham GL50 2AB, England (Formerly Suffolk Kitchen)
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Suffolk Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #107 of 344 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good start to the day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014 NEW

Met friends at the Suffolk Kitchen for Sunday brunch, all very relaxing and good start to the day. Cheerful staff , good food, perfect.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    64
    25
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
TWells
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“3rd visit in a month!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014 NEW

Really good Sunday lunch with friends. Roast was great and plentiful, good value too. They also don't rip you off by charging extra for veg, intact, they happily gave us some more red cabbage without fuss or charge. Really like this place.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mixed bag, some good - some bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

Service
5 of us went on a Saturday evening for my birthday. It was quite busy however there appeared plenty of staff. They were very pleasant, very young and inexperienced, therefore long lapses in service. One removed a plate going across my son's girlfriend, dropping a dirty knife on the arm of her brand new dress. No real anxiety from young waitress, even when the guest rushed of to restroom to splash water on arm. As it was my birthday, my son and girlfriend insisted on not complaining.
I ordered an Irish coffee and was brought a coffee with sugar on the side as they had forgotten to put any in! Was that ok? Again unusually for me, I just grinned and said ok to keep kids
happy.
Food
costs about £20 to £30 per head for two courses. The fish starters were excellent, the main courses of Pork Belly, Lamb Rump and Salmon fillet were wonderful however the potatoes on all meals were odd tasting. The worst was with the Pork Belly, it was lumpy and tasted foul. All five had a try and agreed awful, but again no complaint!! What was surprising that no mention was made by the waitress when collecting plates that 4 of 5 had all their potato left.
wine was good at about £25 a bottle for a nice Malbec and a Voigner
Summary
Service mediocre but very friendly, reasonable price if get right meal choice (Salmon). Would not recommend for evening but supposed to be good at lunch?

  • Visited December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Brunch disaster”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

If your chef can't cook scrambled eggs, and you waiting staff can't smile....train them, if they still can't, fire them. I asked for soft creamy scrambled eggs with the brunch, they came like rubber. I politely asked if they could be redone, they came out seeping liquid all over the rest of the brunch. No point in asking a 3rd time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely food, attentive service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Nice touches, like homemade bread. Very friendly and attentive. I've eaten there twice and enjoyed my meal both times.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Suffolk Kitchen also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Suffolk Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Suffolk Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.