We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical pub grub but with friendly and helpful staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BeefEater

BeefEater
Tewkesbury Road, Cheltenham GL51 9SL, England
01242 233 847
Improve this listing
Ranked #245 of 331 restaurants in Cheltenham
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
South Wales, UK
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Typical pub grub but with friendly and helpful staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The 2 evening meals we had in the restaurant we acceptable. Quite greasy but edible. The house red wine was not available . The restaurant itself was clean and tidy and the staff exceptionally helpful. As this is a restaurant attached to Premier Inn its standards needed to be good, and they were satisfactory to go with the Premier Inn.
Breakfasts were plentiful help yourself to toast etc. and main full English was ordered and served by friendly waitresses. £8.99 was a little on the high side but........

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

40% Recommend
    4
    7
    6
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Breakfast - very good indeed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We found ourselve breakfasting here not through choice (car broken down; RAC put us up in the adjacent Premier Inn; breakfast here was included).

Our most recent experience of an overnight stay breakfast was a very disappointing experience in Devizes earlier this year when we were charged ~£13 for something that was barely acceptable.

This breakfast at Beefeater was in complete contrast. Firstly, the cost - £8.25 if we had been paying. This bought us a free, unlimited choice of almost everything you could choose from for an english breakfast. 8 or 9 different cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts, croissants, muffins, bread to make you own fresh toast, ....... For the 'Full English' fry-up it was 'what' from a long list as well as 'how many'. The waitress didn't even bat an eyelid when I replied '4 rashers' to the bacon query.

This was excellent value, with freshly cooked ingredients. A very pleasant, and somewhet unexpected surprise.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“food good, service good eventually”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

arrived early for our reservation and was asked to sit in the bar, this was acceptable except for the drunk staggering around falling over chairs. after being shown to our table we ordered food straight away, 45 minutes later, 2 steaks and a smothered chicken arrived (they did seam busy but it was to be expected on a saturday night) our main waitress, Robyn, was very good, it summary food good, service good wait unacceptable, guest behavior in the bar should have been dealt with.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Sound food and Good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Breakfast (out of Premier Inn) very good choice - porridge proerl made and nuts, fruit, seeds on hand.
We had one supper which was very sound value.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Good food; awful service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Came here on the first night of a stay in the hotel next door. Waited five minutes to be greeted despite several staff noticing us and making eye contact. Once seated, our waitress was unusually familiar, as if we were old friends. When she took a food order mid-way through the meal however she dashed off so quickly we didn't have a chance to ask for drinks to be refilled: an odd combination. The food was good and on the set menu reasonably priced, but based in the service, I'll not be back here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BeefEater also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Prestbury, Cheltenham
Woodmancote, Cheltenham
 

Been to BeefEater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BeefEater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.