We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed and Elegant Dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie at Ellenborough Park

Brasserie at Ellenborough Park
Southam Road, Cheltenham, England
01242545454
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 331 restaurants in Cheltenham
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Lunch or dinner is served in The Brasserie, a casual and informal venue decorated in a sporting theme featuring the famous Cresta Run.A wide selection of individually priced brasserie style dishes, from a simple sandwich to a full meal. An excellent choice of wholesome, well-cooked food which is served from 12 noon until 10pm every day. Situated on the ground floor of the main house adjacent to the reception hall. A flexible dining option in a comfortable and welcoming environment.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Relaxed and Elegant Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We were greeted and presented with our pre dinner drinks, the waitress and all the other staff were attentive and full of advice !!
Our food was delicious, seafood to start followed by lamb and steak all cooked to perfection!!
Well worth a visit and will be sure to go back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    22
    10
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Worcs
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely food in an informal setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We spent out honeymoon at this hotel and decided to return for our anniversary. The restaurant is informal, in comparison with The Beaufort Dining Room, but still very pleasant with comfortable seating and efficient, courteous, staff. The menu has an interesting mix of dishes that are reasonably priced. I am not a vegetarian but if there is something that looks interesting I will give it a try. On this occassion I chose "Beetroot and Rosemary Risotto topped with Rocket and Parmesan" and was very pleased with this as my main course. Someone must have been paying attention to our converstation because they delivered something extra with our coffee.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“excellent service, fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This was a very enjoyable evening indeed. I started with a Cosmopolitan, which was mixed and presented perfectly, my partner had a South African sparkling wine (Beck's), not often to be had, that was just a tad too warm. That was the only very minor negative point. The food was absolutely excellent, the service perfect and much more attentive than you usually experience even in three star restaurants without ever being intrusive. Very recommendable! Thank you.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely afternoon tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Delightful treat. There was a wide choice of teas, with an offer to bring an alternative if we didn't like our first choice (encouraging us to experiment). Fresh sandwiches and lovely light scones - 4 varieties to choose from, served with a mountain of clotted cream and delicious jam. Two types of cake and a lemon mousse. I had to give up before the cake, the scones defeated me! Those in our party who managed them said they were delicious. Lovely surroundings in the Great Hall with a roaring log fire. Friendly service. Silver, linen napkins and fine china made it feel like a special treat. Tea was £20pp and a glass of champagne can be added for about £10pp.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“A fairly small but nice dining area - good food, Fantastic Service, slightly limited choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The Brasserie is the less formal of the two restaurants, but the staff make no exceptions and were exemplary in their service and attitude. The Maître d' making sure everything was perfect.

it was our 25th Wedding anniversary and they really were superbly accommodating, especially as one of our guests has a sight issue with some foods.

The Menu choice was a little limited, but saying that had a reasonable choice of Fish, Seafood, Meat and Vegetarian dishes. The wine list was perfectly acceptable and reasonable priced wines could be purchased.

I'd would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for that special occasion. That being said, we also plan to try a lunch some point soon!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie at Ellenborough Park also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to Brasserie at Ellenborough Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie at Ellenborough Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.