We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to take the grandchildren” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gloucestershire Warwickshire Railway

Gloucestershire Warwickshire Railway
The GWR Cheltenham Race Course Railway Station | Cheltenham Racecourse, Cheltenham GL50 4SH, England
+44 1242 621405
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 76 things to do in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Gloucestershire Warwickshire Railway is a 12 mile steam and diesel heritage railway in the beautiful English Cotswolds. Visit the GWR stations at Toddington (postcode GL54 5DT), Winchcombe (GL54 5LD), or Cheltenham Race Course (GL50 4SH). Free Parking, and there is so much to do in addition to riding on the heritage trains. There’s the Flag & Whistle Restaurant at Toddington Station, 1950s themed Coffee Pot cafe at Winchcombe Station, well-stocked shops, a self-guided heritage trail at Toddington, children’s play area, new Discovery Coach and lots more. Special Events: coming up on May 16th and 17th it’s the Steam and Real Ale Weekend at Winchcombe and Toddington. Raise a glass to real ale brewers from all over the country. On May 23rd to 25th it’s the Cotswolds Festival of Steam Gala with the theme this year of 'Speed to the West'. On June 14th we have our first Classic Vehicle day of the year, and then on June 20th and 21st especially for the children it’s time for a Day Out With Thomas.
Cheltenham
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 attraction reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great to take the grandchildren”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Took the grandchildren on a return trip to Winchcombe and we all had a great time, with refreshments available on the train. On a clear day, the views from the train are lovely.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    94
    6
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Lovely time with children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We visited the railway with our children aged 5, 8 and 9 and had a lovely time even with cloudy, rainy weather. The railway is beautifully kept with a great nostalgic feel to it. There are some nice touches like the old suitcase used as a flower pot. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the driver of the diesel even let the children ride in the cab with him and toot the horn - how proud they were about that!
Highly recommended for a slow, gentle day out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaenavon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
39 attraction reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Friendly heritage railway.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

What's not to like. Steaming through lovely English countryside with a friendly staff pointing out places of interest. Great for young and old alike.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frampton Cotterell, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Elegant Excursion Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Lovely trip on a beautiful steam railway through lovely country side. The meal was very well cooked and presented, all the staff were most convivial. Parking was a bit restricted at Winchcombe but all in all a very nice afternoon.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
56 attraction reviews
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Great railway and fantastic bacon butties!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

After arriving mid-morning at the Gloucestershire Warwickshire Railway’s Toddington station I enjoyed, at the Flag & Whistle Tea Rooms, a lovely mug of tea and the best bacon butty I had had in years. From Toddington I got the train to Cheltenham racecourse (and back). In the afternoon I visited Winchcombe station which I found to be very picturesque. The excursion to Laverton and back I think I could have missed out on.

The £15 day rover ticket is reasonable value. But do allow time to visit the towns of Winchcombe and Cheltenham as part of your day out.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gloucestershire Warwickshire Railway also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Winchcombe, Cotswolds
 

Been to Gloucestershire Warwickshire Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gloucestershire Warwickshire Railway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.